We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Aminjirah Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Aminjirah Resort
Ranked #11 of 49 Hotels in Koh Tao
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Beautiful!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2014

The photos on their website are representative of the resort which is amazing and worth every penny. It's quiet but only 10 minutes in a taxi from the town if you want a more lively night out. The service is 5 star and I was extremely well looked after when I was ill while staying there.
The pool is stunning and there is nothing at all I would criticise or warn travellers about, just perfection and I can't recommend it enough

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SAN1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,183 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    705
    261
    119
    57
    41
See reviews for
112
722
49
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (239)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2014 via mobile

Aminjirah is a beautiful resort in a great spot, with breathtaking views. The views from the balconies and gorgeous infinity pool are stunning, and the resort and accommodation is first class. San, the manager, was incredibly helpful and is a credit to the resort, as are the rest of their attentive staff. We are so happy we booked here - perfect spot. Highly recommended.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2014

Thank you for the reminder!

Getting to Koh Tao from Australia was quite a long trip but well worth it: beautiful island, great diving and water sports and fantastic resort we had selected. Got picked up at the harbour by smiling staff and the manager and taken straight to the resort for refreshments and a kind introduction to the facilities, before being taken to our suite. Great start.

What is there to say about this resort?:

Positives:

- Accommodation: very spacious and lovingly decorated. Awesome views.
- Food: tasty and reasonably priced considering the views and atmosphere
- Facilities: two pools, free shuttle to town twice daily (and return)
- Staff: very helpful and friendly.

Negatives:

- Location: you need a scooter or make use of the shuttle or taxis
- Staff: English can be a problem, but smiles overcome all
- Water: ran out during a shower once, but not a big deal

If we ever have a chance to get back to Koh Tao we will stay there in a heartbeat again.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Michael R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2014

It is a beautiful resort with sweeping ocean views (not all rooms have views). Sunsets from the pool can be particularly impressive. It is a relatively small resort which makes the experience relaxing. The rooms are all relatively new and are clean and well maintained.

There are diverse room choices available and they were all impressive. The new rooms above the pool area are the pic for ocean views.

The manager and staff were really helpful and friendly, the pick up and drop off at the pier were particularly appreciated.

The food at the hotel is great. We only had dinner there one night, however, the staff recommendation of the panang curry was a great choice. Also, breakfast being included was a nice addition.

The hotel is about 20 mins uphill walk from town. Therefore consider transport arrangements if you plan to be going diving or to the bars and restaurants in town. Walking is doable but a bike is a better option, given that taxis at night can be a little expensive.

As with everywhere on the island - have some insect repellent available for dusk.

Travelled as a couple and really enjoyed out time here.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank james m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aminjirah, Owner at Aminjirah Resort, responded to this review, 7 January 2014
Dear James,

We were pleased to accommodate you and glad you enjoyed your stay! Don't forget to post some pictures on instagram or our facebook page.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
melbourne
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2014 via mobile

My boyfriend and I stayed here with another couple over Christmas and had an amazing time thanks to the wonderful staff and beautiful surroundings at Aminjirah resort. We stayed in sunset dream which is next to the pool and has a fabulous view of the ocean and sunset. The room was very big as was the bathroom. I loved the way the resort was landscaped with lush tropical planting. All the villas had privacy and were cleaned daily. The hotel is a short scooter trip into 'town' or 300baht taxi at night for 4 people.
My favorite things included: the infinity pool, the service with a smile, (nothing is too much, we had our fish we caught that day on a trip organized by the hotel cooked at the hotel for us) the Christmas dinner with the fresh bbq'd seafood, the sunsets, the free water provided to the room, the full strength hairdryer also provided, the huge comfy bed. Some suggested improvements include better lighting in our bathroom, a power point next to a mirror for the hairdryer and some side tables for the loungers by the main pool. Thank you for a wonderful trip I would definitely stay again.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank MelbourneFoxy66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aminjirah, Owner at Aminjirah Resort, responded to this review, 7 January 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind words and feedback. It was a pleasure to have you and hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2013 via mobile

We stayed in this hotel during our Christmas break. Aminjirah is truly stunning.

Staff are brilliant, very helpful and always accommodating. San the main man is just wonderful and always aims to please.

The pool area and restaurant are what really makes this hotel, quiet, relaxing and lovely clean pool. Our first room we stayed in had breathtaking views and was one of the best I'd stayed in (the newest part of the resort)

The reason I didn't give this 5* there were a few issues with leaky sinks, not particularly great view from the larger family room. But having said that a quick resolve with the owner and we were extremely happy. We will definitely book again but with knowledge of the difference in views, I would be selective of which room to choose.

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
Thank LauraMcDermid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aminjirah, Owner at Aminjirah Resort, responded to this review, 3 January 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind words. I do apologize for the leaking sink and was pleased that we could resolve it quickly to your satisfaction.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2013 via mobile

Aminjirah Resort is an aesthetically pleasing place, no doubt about it. The views over the ocean and the sunsets are truly stunning. However, our stay over Christmas did not live up to expectation. The advertised 'Christmas' dinner was in fact a seafood barbecue (lovely but not what is advertised and thus, a little disappointing). The space outside our room was used as a linen dumping ground by the staff. Building noise at 6.30am outside our door over Christmas Eve/Day. The bathroom continuously leaked etc.

I am travelling in the worst hostels around the world and Aminjirah is obviously a lot nicer. HOWEVER, for over £250 a night the resort is sadly overpriced.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Lewis L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aminjirah, Owner at Aminjirah Resort, responded to this review, 30 December 2013
Dear Sirs,

Thank you for your mostly kind words. We have taken all your comments aboard as also discussed during your stay and as per the compensation we agreed upon and as given in credit at the resort.

The room rate is based on a 3 bedroom suite and also based on it being peak season where prices are quite a bit higher than during normal season. Having said that, this room type has already been lowered in price and we hope your onsite compensation made it more worthwhile.

We do apologize for the area outside being used temporarily by our maids to collect dirty towels and linen for laundry. Another area has now been designated for this use and the area will from now on only be for guest usage.

We acknowledge that the Christmas dinner was not a typical European dinner. This was our first "attempt" at a Christmas dinner and agree it was probably a bit too "Asian". We learned a lot and will be improving this for next year.

Still as per your emails received after your stay, overall we are pleased you enjoyed yourself.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Koh Tao hotels
3.0 mi away
Haadtien Beach Resort
Haadtien Beach Resort
#16 of 49 in Koh Tao
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,407 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Tarna Align Resort
The Tarna Align Resort
#13 of 49 in Koh Tao
4.0 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
1.9 mi away
Sensi Paradise
Sensi Paradise
#7 of 49 in Koh Tao
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Monkey Flower Villas
Monkey Flower Villas
#2 of 49 in Koh Tao
5.0 of 5 bubbles 322 reviews
0.8 mi away
Thalassa Hotel
Thalassa Hotel
#8 of 49 in Koh Tao
4.5 of 5 bubbles 468 reviews
3.1 mi away
Jamahkiri Resort & Spa
Jamahkiri Resort & Spa
#4 of 49 in Koh Tao
4.5 of 5 bubbles 825 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aminjirah Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aminjirah Resort

Property: Aminjirah Resort
Address: 16/4 Moo 2 Sairee Beach, Koh Tao 82480, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Koh Tao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 49 Hotels in Koh Tao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Aminjirah Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Aminjirah is nestled on a dramatic cliff side, overlooking Sairee Beach and Koh Nang Yuan. The Aminjirah features just 22 rooms and one pool villa + 2 two amazing sea view pools including a 16 metre dramatic sunset infinity edge pool. We also offer free pier transfers and 4 daily shuttle transfers to Sairee beach. Access to beautiful small beach with clear water and fun pier to jump from available via little bit steep stairs through next door resort - you just need to purchase a little from their bar or restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U., Booking.com, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Aminjirah Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amanjirah Hotel Koh Tao

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing