We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely family run resort”
Review of Aminjirah Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Aminjirah Resort
Ranked #9 of 49 Hotels in Koh Tao
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 January 2014

We stayed in a lovely Royal Ocean view suite for five days for our honeymoon in December.
It was a huge room with an amazing view and enormous terrace that had a table and two chairs on it.
All the staff were very friendly especially San who welcomed us warmly and was really helpful in making any arrangements we wanted and getting us a taxi into town whenever we required it as we didn't ride mopeds.
We could walk into town in the daytime but at night it was a little tricky as the part of the road near the hotel didnt have any street lights.
Very cheap to get to town though and only took 5 minutes in the car.
The breakfast available wasn't bad but we found the menu a little limited so prefered to make our way into town for dinner in the evening.

The poolside area was lovely with an infinity pool over looking the spectacular views of the bay.
Would definitely recommend staying there and will be back again

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank alibaba2979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,250)
There are newer reviews for Aminjirah Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

708 - 714 of 1,250 reviews

Reviewed 12 January 2014

Had a lovely 8 night stay here over New Years Eve. Our first room was the Fern Comfort which was fine but perhaps not as luxurious as the more expensive rooms. We moved to one of the larger rooms for our last 3 nights which had a spectacular view and super comfortable bed. The staff were always friendly, pick-up/drop-off from the main pier worked well. Good location if you have a motorbike/scooter, only a 5 minute cruise into town.
We had the amazing infinity pool pretty much to ourselves for the first few days, but for the last few it was hard to get a lounge. Depends on the crowd I guess.

Room Tip: It's worth the extra money for one of the superior rooms, the Fern Comfort was a little small an...
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank William W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2014

This was my favorite room of all our hotel stays. We did one night in Koh Tao after New Years Eve. The rooms were spacious, clean and renovated. Ours was off the pool with a breathtaking view of the ocean. The pool also overlooks the ocean and there are plenty of chairs for laying out.

The only cons of the hotel is the power went out a few times during our stay, the breakfast was meh and incidentals had to paid with cash only (which was kind of weird).

San, the manager, was incredibly helpful though as it related to any issues we had.

Overall, I'd definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AliB31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aminjirah, Owner at Aminjirah Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2014

Dear Guest

We delighted you had a nice stay. Apologize about the power cuts. Actually our system will automatically switch to an alternate source if the local power is not enough, which can cut the power for a minute or two.

Sorry that you found the breakfast meh, we do think it is nice little buffet with egg station and all. Hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2014

The photos on their website are representative of the resort which is amazing and worth every penny. It's quiet but only 10 minutes in a taxi from the town if you want a more lively night out. The service is 5 star and I was extremely well looked after when I was ill while staying there.
The pool is stunning and there is nothing at all I would criticise or warn travellers about, just perfection and I can't recommend it enough

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SAN1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
5
Reviewed 10 January 2014 via mobile

Aminjirah is a beautiful resort in a great spot, with breathtaking views. The views from the balconies and gorgeous infinity pool are stunning, and the resort and accommodation is first class. San, the manager, was incredibly helpful and is a credit to the resort, as are the rest of their attentive staff. We are so happy we booked here - perfect spot. Highly recommended.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2014

Thank you for the reminder!

Getting to Koh Tao from Australia was quite a long trip but well worth it: beautiful island, great diving and water sports and fantastic resort we had selected. Got picked up at the harbour by smiling staff and the manager and taken straight to the resort for refreshments and a kind introduction to the facilities, before being taken to our suite. Great start.

What is there to say about this resort?:

Positives:

- Accommodation: very spacious and lovingly decorated. Awesome views.
- Food: tasty and reasonably priced considering the views and atmosphere
- Facilities: two pools, free shuttle to town twice daily (and return)
- Staff: very helpful and friendly.

Negatives:

- Location: you need a scooter or make use of the shuttle or taxis
- Staff: English can be a problem, but smiles overcome all
- Water: ran out during a shower once, but not a big deal

If we ever have a chance to get back to Koh Tao we will stay there in a heartbeat again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Michael R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2014

It is a beautiful resort with sweeping ocean views (not all rooms have views). Sunsets from the pool can be particularly impressive. It is a relatively small resort which makes the experience relaxing. The rooms are all relatively new and are clean and well maintained.

There are diverse room choices available and they were all impressive. The new rooms above the pool area are the pic for ocean views.

The manager and staff were really helpful and friendly, the pick up and drop off at the pier were particularly appreciated.

The food at the hotel is great. We only had dinner there one night, however, the staff recommendation of the panang curry was a great choice. Also, breakfast being included was a nice addition.

The hotel is about 20 mins uphill walk from town. Therefore consider transport arrangements if you plan to be going diving or to the bars and restaurants in town. Walking is doable but a bike is a better option, given that taxis at night can be a little expensive.

As with everywhere on the island - have some insect repellent available for dusk.

Travelled as a couple and really enjoyed out time here.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank james m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aminjirah, Owner at Aminjirah Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2014

Dear James,

We were pleased to accommodate you and glad you enjoyed your stay! Don't forget to post some pictures on instagram or our facebook page.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Koh Tao hotels
3.0 mi away
Haadtien Beach Resort
Haadtien Beach Resort
#15 of 49 in Koh Tao
1,512 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Tarna Align Resort
The Tarna Align Resort
#12 of 49 in Koh Tao
252 reviews
0.8 mi away
Thalassa Hotel
Thalassa Hotel
#7 of 49 in Koh Tao
526 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Koh Tao Simple Life Resort
3.1 mi away
Jamahkiri Resort & Spa
Jamahkiri Resort & Spa
#5 of 49 in Koh Tao
909 reviews
1.9 mi away
Charm Churee Villa
Charm Churee Villa
#19 of 49 in Koh Tao
962 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aminjirah Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aminjirah Resort

Address: 16/4 Moo 2 Sairee Beach, Koh Tao 82480, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Koh Tao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 49 Hotels in Koh Tao
Price Range: £30 - £104 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Aminjirah Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Aminjirah is nestled on a dramatic cliff side, overlooking Sairee Beach and Koh Nang Yuan. The Aminjirah features just 22 rooms and one pool villa + 2 two amazing sea view pools including a 16 metre dramatic sunset infinity edge pool. We also offer free pier transfers and 4 daily shuttle transfers to Sairee beach. Access to beautiful small beach with clear water and fun pier to jump from available via little bit steep stairs through next door resort - you just need to purchase a little from their bar or restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Aminjirah Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amanjirah Hotel Koh Tao

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing