We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Koh Tao Holiday”
Review of Aminjirah Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Aminjirah Resort
Ranked #9 of 49 Hotels in Koh Tao
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney
Level Contributor
42 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Koh Tao Holiday”
Reviewed 16 January 2014

We came to Koh Tao for our daughter's wedding and we all stayed at the Aminjirah Resort.

The resort has been recently added to mainly the new pool area and associated rooms near the pool. If you are looking for upmarket style of accommodation then do not go here BUT if you are looking for a quality experience way and above the price range you pay then it is a must .

The problem with Koh Tao is it is extremely hilly and walking to the local shop area for bars and restaurants and the beach is very difficult unless you hire a motor bike.

So we spent quite a bit of our time at the resort I found the place very relaxing. There is a bar beside the pool and that is where you take your breakfast and meals. I found the food excellent both Thai and western style. The biggest feature of the resort is the view you are perched on the side of the hill and before you is a 360 degree vista of the ocean.

The staff are very helpful but be patient english or other languages are not usually spoken but there are enough people around that you meaning can be understood. Saying that the service was excellent and the staff is very attentive.

I would recommend the resort I found it very friendly and personable.

Room Tip: Best room was Number 12 right beside the pool and facilities.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aussie-traveller89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,200 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    714
    265
    120
    60
    41
See reviews for
112
736
51
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (244)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2014

We couldn't be happier with the Aminjirah Resort. It's up the hill from the clutter of the Sairee Beach town, but just a short walk/motorbike ride away, so it's still convenient. There's a motorbike rental place right next door to the resort as well - had no problems with them and only THB200 for a day rental.

The views from the pool/restaurant are unbelievable (just take a look at the pictures), and the entire staff is wonderful. Genuinely friendly, good, helpful people. They helped make our stay special.

The room was really clean and cozy. Bathroom was one of the nicest throughout our three months in Asia.

Also - the free breakfast is epic. Wide selection of good food.

Can't say enough. Totally recommended.

Room Tip: We stayed in one of the cheapest rooms, and for the money, it's a GREAT deal. Totally worth it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Garrett D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2014 via mobile

We booked for 4 nights and it just wasn't long enough, then when we wanted to extend they were full so I highly recommend booking in advance. Normally I like to be close to the sea but this was an all around amazing hotel with the best infinity pool and perfect cocktails for sunset. I have just booked to go back which is why I thought of writing this review now. There is a bit of a walk into town but it's nice and not too far, I actually enjoyed staying outside the town and taking the little journey into town. Can't wait to go back. Koh Tao is by far the best place to enjoy yourself in Thailand.

Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Andrudk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 15 January 2014

The hotel was such a nice surprise - since it was very affordable. We stayed in the room that was one step above budget, and it was really big with a huge bathroom with our own porch and practically private pool since it was located in connection to the smaller pool where there were almost no people.

San, the manager was really nice and helpful and we felt so welcome to Aminjirah. They offered rides to and from the hotel, which was good since it was located up on a hill.

The main pool by the restaurant was fantastic, talk about infinity pool!

The service men by the restaurant were not too good in english, which would be our only "negative" about the hotel, even though it might hardly be worth mentioning.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SaraAhlberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1 review
Reviewed 15 January 2014

With island hopping and new year at Koh Phangan our stop at Koh Tao could not have come at a better time. The welcome we received at Aminjirah was second to none and San, the manager made us feel that nothing would be too much trouble. We had a beautiful, spacious and well equipped room with the best view of our whole stay in Thailand. The food was beautiful, the choice of drinks fantastic and every staff member, always more than pleasant. Take note of the offer of free transport into and out of town once a day, or the discounted rate that their driver offers as it's pricey otherwise. Having said that, we only left once as the resort was all that we really wanted. We recommend without hesitation and return in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank 2of6howells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linkoping, Sweden
1 review
Reviewed 13 January 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights including New years eve. We stayed in a room named "Starlight Fantasea" room nr. 17, we had a breathtaking view over the ocean and Koh Nang Yuan, the room had view in 3 different directions. The staff was really helpful during our whole stay, they helped us booking ferry tickets, transfer to the ferry. The pool-area is amazing! Infinity-pool with one of the best views i've experienced. The hotel is on the top of koh tao, near chaweng beach. Only 5 minutes to town by bicycle/taxi or 15 minutes walk. The restaurant had really great food! We ate gala buffet on New years eve, and it was really good!

Many thanks to San the hotel manager!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Filip U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 13 January 2014

We stayed in a lovely Royal Ocean view suite for five days for our honeymoon in December.
It was a huge room with an amazing view and enormous terrace that had a table and two chairs on it.
All the staff were very friendly especially San who welcomed us warmly and was really helpful in making any arrangements we wanted and getting us a taxi into town whenever we required it as we didn't ride mopeds.
We could walk into town in the daytime but at night it was a little tricky as the part of the road near the hotel didnt have any street lights.
Very cheap to get to town though and only took 5 minutes in the car.
The breakfast available wasn't bad but we found the menu a little limited so prefered to make our way into town for dinner in the evening.

The poolside area was lovely with an infinity pool over looking the spectacular views of the bay.
Would definitely recommend staying there and will be back again

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank alibaba2979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Koh Tao hotels
3.0 mi away
Haadtien Beach Resort
Haadtien Beach Resort
#17 of 49 in Koh Tao
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,422 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Tarna Align Resort
The Tarna Align Resort
#13 of 49 in Koh Tao
4.5 of 5 bubbles 215 reviews
1.9 mi away
Sensi Paradise
Sensi Paradise
#8 of 49 in Koh Tao
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Monkey Flower Villas
Monkey Flower Villas
#2 of 49 in Koh Tao
5.0 of 5 bubbles 326 reviews
0.8 mi away
Thalassa Hotel
Thalassa Hotel
#7 of 49 in Koh Tao
4.5 of 5 bubbles 478 reviews
3.1 mi away
Jamahkiri Resort & Spa
Jamahkiri Resort & Spa
#4 of 49 in Koh Tao
4.5 of 5 bubbles 838 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aminjirah Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aminjirah Resort

Property: Aminjirah Resort
Address: 16/4 Moo 2 Sairee Beach, Koh Tao 82480, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Koh Tao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 49 Hotels in Koh Tao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Aminjirah Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Aminjirah is nestled on a dramatic cliff side, overlooking Sairee Beach and Koh Nang Yuan. The Aminjirah features just 22 rooms and one pool villa + 2 two amazing sea view pools including a 16 metre dramatic sunset infinity edge pool. We also offer free pier transfers and 4 daily shuttle transfers to Sairee beach. Access to beautiful small beach with clear water and fun pier to jump from available via little bit steep stairs through next door resort - you just need to purchase a little from their bar or restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Aminjirah Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amanjirah Hotel Koh Tao

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing