We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing view”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Aminjirah Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Aminjirah Resort
Ranked #10 of 49 Hotels in Koh Tao
Certificate of Excellence
Haifa, Israel
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Amazing view”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2014

We stayed there for our honeymoon trip at January.
There was a free shuttle car waiting for us at the pier (5-10 minutes drive).
The resort is located on the mountain and so has great sea view. This is also a bit of an issue because it is outside the main area of koh tao which is about 5-10 minutes drive from there (impossible to walk at night). There is almost nothing in the near area, that makes the hotel almost isolated.

The entire resort is very nice and looks beautiful at night when all the lighting is on.
The room was nice and big, we actually got a huge room. The breakfast was good, not a lot of options but more than enough.

The hotel has a nice but small pool, with the best view you can imagine.
There is no beach access, and the nearest beach is about 5 minutes drive.
We had some electricity issues several times during our stay, the power was off for few seconds/minutes and then came back on, i am not sure if this is a specific problem to the hotel or is it a general problem in the island.
Wifi was ok, signal was a bit weak.

There is a free shuttle to the center twice a day, so that was useful.
The room has a small safe. We had a feeling that the room is not very safe because the door lock is very basic and can be opened easily. we had some concern leaving our stuff in the room.

When we used a taxi they charged between 200-400 BHT per one direction (400 during the evening for 5 minutes drive...) .

We enjoyed our stay and we recommend it. You need to consider the location and if this is not a big issue for you, you will love it. Enjoy :)

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yehuda I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aminjirah, Owner at Aminjirah Resort, responded to this review, 22 January 2014
Dear Sirs

Thank you for your many kind words and comments. We are always looking to improve our services and resort. For that reason we have actually installed security cameras in key areas of the property. Some of the rooms already have extra security locks and we are in the process of ensuring them in all rooms.

The location is in my opinion our key selling point. It is such a small island and even though we are "far" away we are still so close. Most of our guests book because of our view and it being so nice and quiet, so it is sometimes hard to understand that the location is mentioned as a drawback and something one has to live with.

To Clarify:

* We are not on the beach
* We are about 15 minutes by foot from Sairee Village
* We have a partner motorbike rental shop right next to us that offer very fair terms and NEVER cheat anyone
* We have two free shuttles daily to Sairee Village
* Taxis are available at fair prices also

We hope that clears up our location (and this is also VERY clearly described on our website) and advise you NOT to book if you want to stay right on the noisy beach or on town.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,181 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    704
    260
    119
    57
    41
See reviews for
112
720
49
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (239)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2014

We stayed here for six nights as part of a three week tour of Thailand in Jan/Feb 2013. The resort was stunning, you could easily spend every day at the pool with the views and wonderful food (which we did for a few days!). The resort has a very laid back feel and the owner/amazing guy at reception couldn't do enough for us - he was absolutely lovely! Our room was huge, beautiful and clean with everything you need. It is a little way out of Sairee Village and I wouldn't recommend walking but you can easily get a tuk tuk ride in from a shop across the road from the resort. One thing we didn't really like was how commercialised the island seemed (from being over on the West side of Thailand were it's much less developed.) For example, to get a ride back to the resort from the village some tuk tuks would say you had to pay a higher rate for less passengers. If you timed it right though you could get a lift back from the hotel staff. If you're looking to dive then you will be spoilt for choice in dive companies (we used Sairee Cottage and they were great). The village was great for a lively night out if you wander along the little strip from Sairee Village to Mae Head, we had a great night of cocktails and fire eating one evening, and a sore head the next day. The beach at Sairee isn't great for sunbathing but when the pool at the resort is so wonderful you're really in no hardship at all! The staff really make this place even more special, on the day we left we had to leave at 5am for the boat and the owner even made us takeaway sandwiches in place of breakfast - we can't thank him enough for being so lovely! All in all I think this is the perfect place to stay in Koh Tao on this side of the island - far enough from the hustle and bustle to completely relax, but close enough to get involved when you want to!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EssieLou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
42 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2014

We came to Koh Tao for our daughter's wedding and we all stayed at the Aminjirah Resort.

The resort has been recently added to mainly the new pool area and associated rooms near the pool. If you are looking for upmarket style of accommodation then do not go here BUT if you are looking for a quality experience way and above the price range you pay then it is a must .

The problem with Koh Tao is it is extremely hilly and walking to the local shop area for bars and restaurants and the beach is very difficult unless you hire a motor bike.

So we spent quite a bit of our time at the resort I found the place very relaxing. There is a bar beside the pool and that is where you take your breakfast and meals. I found the food excellent both Thai and western style. The biggest feature of the resort is the view you are perched on the side of the hill and before you is a 360 degree vista of the ocean.

The staff are very helpful but be patient english or other languages are not usually spoken but there are enough people around that you meaning can be understood. Saying that the service was excellent and the staff is very attentive.

I would recommend the resort I found it very friendly and personable.

Room Tip: Best room was Number 12 right beside the pool and facilities.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aussie-traveller89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2014

We couldn't be happier with the Aminjirah Resort. It's up the hill from the clutter of the Sairee Beach town, but just a short walk/motorbike ride away, so it's still convenient. There's a motorbike rental place right next door to the resort as well - had no problems with them and only THB200 for a day rental.

The views from the pool/restaurant are unbelievable (just take a look at the pictures), and the entire staff is wonderful. Genuinely friendly, good, helpful people. They helped make our stay special.

The room was really clean and cozy. Bathroom was one of the nicest throughout our three months in Asia.

Also - the free breakfast is epic. Wide selection of good food.

Can't say enough. Totally recommended.

Room Tip: We stayed in one of the cheapest rooms, and for the money, it's a GREAT deal. Totally worth it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Garrett D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2014 via mobile

We booked for 4 nights and it just wasn't long enough, then when we wanted to extend they were full so I highly recommend booking in advance. Normally I like to be close to the sea but this was an all around amazing hotel with the best infinity pool and perfect cocktails for sunset. I have just booked to go back which is why I thought of writing this review now. There is a bit of a walk into town but it's nice and not too far, I actually enjoyed staying outside the town and taking the little journey into town. Can't wait to go back. Koh Tao is by far the best place to enjoy yourself in Thailand.

Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Andrudk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2014

The hotel was such a nice surprise - since it was very affordable. We stayed in the room that was one step above budget, and it was really big with a huge bathroom with our own porch and practically private pool since it was located in connection to the smaller pool where there were almost no people.

San, the manager was really nice and helpful and we felt so welcome to Aminjirah. They offered rides to and from the hotel, which was good since it was located up on a hill.

The main pool by the restaurant was fantastic, talk about infinity pool!

The service men by the restaurant were not too good in english, which would be our only "negative" about the hotel, even though it might hardly be worth mentioning.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SaraAhlberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2014

With island hopping and new year at Koh Phangan our stop at Koh Tao could not have come at a better time. The welcome we received at Aminjirah was second to none and San, the manager made us feel that nothing would be too much trouble. We had a beautiful, spacious and well equipped room with the best view of our whole stay in Thailand. The food was beautiful, the choice of drinks fantastic and every staff member, always more than pleasant. Take note of the offer of free transport into and out of town once a day, or the discounted rate that their driver offers as it's pricey otherwise. Having said that, we only left once as the resort was all that we really wanted. We recommend without hesitation and return in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank 2of6howells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Koh Tao hotels
3.0 mi away
Haadtien Beach Resort
Haadtien Beach Resort
#16 of 49 in Koh Tao
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,402 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Tarna Align Resort
The Tarna Align Resort
#13 of 49 in Koh Tao
4.0 of 5 bubbles 204 reviews
1.9 mi away
Sensi Paradise
Sensi Paradise
#7 of 49 in Koh Tao
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Monkey Flower Villas
Monkey Flower Villas
#2 of 49 in Koh Tao
5.0 of 5 bubbles 322 reviews
0.8 mi away
Thalassa Hotel
Thalassa Hotel
#8 of 49 in Koh Tao
4.5 of 5 bubbles 468 reviews
3.1 mi away
Jamahkiri Resort & Spa
Jamahkiri Resort & Spa
#4 of 49 in Koh Tao
4.5 of 5 bubbles 825 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aminjirah Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aminjirah Resort

Property: Aminjirah Resort
Address: 16/4 Moo 2 Sairee Beach, Koh Tao 82480, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Koh Tao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 49 Hotels in Koh Tao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Aminjirah Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Aminjirah is nestled on a dramatic cliff side, overlooking Sairee Beach and Koh Nang Yuan. The Aminjirah features just 22 rooms and one pool villa + 2 two amazing sea view pools including a 16 metre dramatic sunset infinity edge pool. We also offer free pier transfers and 4 daily shuttle transfers to Sairee beach. Access to beautiful small beach with clear water and fun pier to jump from available via little bit steep stairs through next door resort - you just need to purchase a little from their bar or restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U., Booking.com, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Aminjirah Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amanjirah Hotel Koh Tao

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing