We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect stay!”
Review of Aminjirah Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Aminjirah Resort
Ranked #9 of 49 Hotels in Koh Tao
Certificate of Excellence
Copenhagen, Denmark
2 reviews
“Perfect stay!”
Reviewed 4 February 2014

Stayed here for 7 nights with my boyfriend. The plan was to stay for 4 nights but decided to stay 3 more nights. Fantastic pool area with great view, good service and breakfast. We stayed at one of the standard rooms, these are quite basic but a very good deal for the price. We actually had some sea view from our room and it was always clean and nice. There is a 15min walk to the beach/Sairee center, but the free shuttle is great and you can also rent a scooter there which is very practical. The sunset is amazing from the pool area and the staff are very helpful and always smiling. Strongly recommend this to everyone and hope to be back soon!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suskle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,200 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    714
    265
    120
    60
    41
See reviews for
112
736
51
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (244)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 3 February 2014

Me & my partner would definitely be staying here again in the near future. Gorgeous room overlooking the sea, cleanliness is maintained very well & the people are extremely friendly. We found San the manager to always go that extra mile to ensure our stay was comfortable & relaxed. 10/10.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KateBam138
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Telford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2014

Beautiful location, gardens & pool. San leads an excellent team of staff, all of whom were very professional, helpful, and friendly. We intended to stay just two nights- but extended our stay to ten days. We enjoyed the peaceful atmosphere here, in contrast to the busy party scene at Sairee Beach.

Room Tip: All the rooms we stayed in were fine with the exception of the most basic one, which is very small i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Helen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
54 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2014

I stayed here for 7 nights together with my husband. We decided for Starlight Fantasea as it was recommended by hotel (nice sea view). Yes, balcony and view is really amazing. Especially sunset is wonderful. Room was nicely decorated, seemed to be new and very clean. Complementary water and fruit per each day was very appreciated by us. The only thing which made us little bit disappointed was size of room. Very small, bed was so close to wall from one side that it was not comfortable to get there. There was only one night table from one side of bed due to lack of space. Usually I am not very demanding about room size but as we paid quite a lot for this room I expected more space.
Breakfast was nice, lot of choice, fresh and tasty. I would just appreciate good coffee rather than single ready to use Nescafe pack ;-) But view from our table compensated it all.
We had a dinner couple of time here as well. Very tasty, nice portions but quite expensive vs Sairee beach restaurants. Most of guests preferred to go to Sairee for dinner.
Staff is very friendly, doing their best to make you happy. They need to improve English little bit but we were always able to understand each other somehow ;-)
IMPORTANT NOTICE ABOUT LOCATION: Location requires your own bike. It is around 20 minutes walk from Sairee beach which is not much but once it is hot it is like one hour ;-). Plus after sunset I do not think it is safety to walk. It is very dark road with lot of dogs! If you want to relax in the hotel pool and rely on hotel restaurant, you will be happy with hotel free of change taxi which goes at 11am to Sairee and at 3pm from Sairee (or paid hotel taxi anytime during a day for 200 Bath one way). BUT if you want to spend same time on the beach or explore island you need to drive a bike. I recommend to rent from company which is next to hotel. New bikes and nice owner. Once you drive carefully and avoid bad roads it is safety. And big big fun :-))) Try it and you will fall in love to number of small beaches, street food or fantastic view points :-). Koh Tao is amazing island worth to explore.

Room Tip: I would prefer do not book in advance. Better to come personally and decide for what you want to pay...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lumatka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2014

This little hotel was set up the hill from the main beach. It was very quiet and the resort was well maintained.

The pool looked out over the cliffs and had stunning views of the rest of Koh Tao.

The staff were very friendly and there was a free taxi service to the town during the day for the beach and the restaurants at night. Definitely take advantage of this as the taxi drivers here will rip you off! They also collect you from the pier and arrange for an onward ferry, easy!

I would definitely stay here again as it was great value for money and hassle free.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Funinthesun123456789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
51 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2014

I stayed one night in a "superior room" which was £40 per night. The location of the hotel is up the hill about 15min away from the Sairee beach. You will need your own transport if you want to go anywhere! But the hotel does offer free transfers into town twice a day.

The room was nice but a little small for the £40 we paid. It was very clean and the bed was very comfortable. The bathroom was large and also had a hot shower. The room included ac, a TV and fridge. The price also included breakfast which was very good. A choice of toast, eggs and bacon.

The WIFI in the room wasn't great! At times works well but other times I couldn't get online at all!

The restaurant has an amazing view overlooking the beach but the food wasn't great and overpriced! I had Fajitas which came with gone off soured cream! Not great! My girlfriend had a duck red curry which was £7! Which came with only about 3 small cuts of duck!

The staff were very friendly and helpful but we had to sit in reception for about 45mins and wait for the receptionist to check us out! At 11am! Good thing we weren't in a rush or needing to be anywhere!

Overall the hotel is nice and the pool views are amazing. The rooms are clean and very comfortable but for £40 should have been a little larger. Great place to stay if its within your budget and you don't need to be by the beach! Would avoid the restaurant!

Room Tip: We stayed in room 10. A little small! Maybe ask for another room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adamb1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aminjirah, Owner at Aminjirah Resort, responded to this review, 29 January 2014
Dear Sirs,

We thank you for your kind review and apologize if you felt our restaurant was not up to par. We are constantly tweaking our menu and offerings and appreciate your comments. We are especially saddened that you were brought off date sour cream and it will certainly be brought up with our kitchen staff. We do hope you also mentioned it during the stay.

Normally our check out procedure is relatively quick, so if possible, could you pm regarding your dates so we can check what the issues were and hopefully rectify them.

Our Budget Comfort Rooms and Wind Shimmer Rooms are fairly petite as described on the website, perhaps next time you come, we can arrange a larger room.

Hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kendal, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2014 via mobile

We had a great stay here! The room was lovely. The pool is great. There is lovely views of the island from the pool. The staff where very helpful and friendly. We hired a moped and used that to get in and out of the villages. It was nice and quiet at night too. Slept well here. The owner did everything to make our stay as best it could be.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank lizziedean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Koh Tao hotels
3.0 mi away
Haadtien Beach Resort
Haadtien Beach Resort
#17 of 49 in Koh Tao
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,421 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Tarna Align Resort
The Tarna Align Resort
#13 of 49 in Koh Tao
4.5 of 5 bubbles 215 reviews
1.9 mi away
Sensi Paradise
Sensi Paradise
#8 of 49 in Koh Tao
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Monkey Flower Villas
Monkey Flower Villas
#2 of 49 in Koh Tao
5.0 of 5 bubbles 326 reviews
0.8 mi away
Thalassa Hotel
Thalassa Hotel
#7 of 49 in Koh Tao
4.5 of 5 bubbles 478 reviews
3.1 mi away
Jamahkiri Resort & Spa
Jamahkiri Resort & Spa
#4 of 49 in Koh Tao
4.5 of 5 bubbles 838 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aminjirah Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aminjirah Resort

Property: Aminjirah Resort
Address: 16/4 Moo 2 Sairee Beach, Koh Tao 82480, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Koh Tao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 49 Hotels in Koh Tao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Aminjirah Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Aminjirah is nestled on a dramatic cliff side, overlooking Sairee Beach and Koh Nang Yuan. The Aminjirah features just 22 rooms and one pool villa + 2 two amazing sea view pools including a 16 metre dramatic sunset infinity edge pool. We also offer free pier transfers and 4 daily shuttle transfers to Sairee beach. Access to beautiful small beach with clear water and fun pier to jump from available via little bit steep stairs through next door resort - you just need to purchase a little from their bar or restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Aminjirah Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amanjirah Hotel Koh Tao

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing