We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Expected More”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Aminjirah Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Aminjirah Resort
Ranked #11 of 49 Hotels in Koh Tao
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Expected More”
Reviewed 16 June 2014 via mobile

We (my boyfriend and I) treated ourselves to this hotel whilst on a three week trip around Thailand. We expected it to be a touch of luxury but were very disappointed, for the following reasons;

1. We organised to be picked up at the ferry port in advance but we couldn't locate the pick up on arrival. We asked various locals at the port had they seen the pick up, whilst doing so my boyfriend saw the transport jeep drive up the hill without us. We waited 20 mins expecting them to come back for us but were left stranded. We had to get a taxi to the resort at the cost of 300baht. The manager apologised for the mix up on arrival and offered us complimentary cocktails at the pool. However on check out my boyfriend noticed these had been included in our bill and were only deducted when my boyfriend brought it to the attention of the manager.

2. We booked a budget room in advance and were very disappointed with it considering the cost. The room was very dark with no natural light. The bed had small bugs crawling on it, probably due to the lack of light in the room. The bathroom had a shower with no shower basin but was instead a wet room. We were so disappointed with the room that we paid double the price and upgraded to room number 16 overlooking the pool with a beautiful sea view. The room was small but bright and the view was gorgeous. I recommend that if staying in this resort pay the extra and stay in one of these rooms.

3. Location- the resort is a 300baht taxi ride to Sairee beach. Which is expensive if you are doing this everyday. The hotel offer a shuttle down at 11am or 3pm but no pick up. It is not ideally located if you plan on diving or leaving the resort in general.

4. Activities- on arrival my boyfriend and I asked the manager what there was to do around the island and could he recommend any diving/snorkelling trips. He told us to go to Sairee beach and all the information is there, which was not very helpful.

5. Pool- the pool is overly treated with chemicals. I understand the need for this considering the water shortage in Koh Tao but the chemicals destroyed one of my good bikinis. (Picture attached)

Overall the pool, bar and restaurant staff are very pleasant, smiley and helpful. The breakfast buffet had a decent selection of good quality food. The views are beautiful but I do not recommend this place if you are interested in diving/snorkelling or viewing the island in general.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Ailbhe D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aminjirah, Owner at Aminjirah Resort, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Dear Guest,

We are very sorry that we did not live up to your expectations. From your review I cannot determine why and how the lack of transfer occurred. We do request very clear arrival details as there are 3 piers on the island and it can indeed easy to get lost there.

We do describe our smallest rooms in great detail on the website and standby the description as we point out specifically that they are quite small. There are windows on both sides, so I do not agree that there is no natural light, but it is true that there is no sea view.

We feel your comments about the resort's suitability for guests interested in snorkelling and diving a bit unfair. It's a very small island and there are lots of snorkel sites, beaches and bays in the vicinity or small drive away.

With regards to your other points we are looking into all and thank you for your comments, they certainly help us to improve.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,180 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    703
    260
    119
    57
    41
See reviews for
112
719
49
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (239)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Romford, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2014

Me and my boyfriend stayed here for 6 nights in June.
The hotel is run by a team of very helpful friendly staff.
The location is really good, it's a short journey to the main beach of sairee, outside the hotel is a place where you can hire a moped for just 200 Bhat a day.
The food in this hotel is AMAZING!!! The chicken satay are to die for.. I'm going to miss them the most.
Overall I would recommend this hotel to everyone :-)
We really enjoyed our stay here.

Ps make sure you watch sun down from the pool. The view is amazing.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ria S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aminjirah, Owner at Aminjirah Resort, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Dear Ria

Thank you so much for your kind comments about our restaurant and cuisine. It's always lovely to hear such glowing feedback on a particular part of the experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 June 2014

We stayed at Aminjirah for 3 nights (30th May- 2nd June) and it was just amazing. As soon as we arrived we felt very welcome and looked after. We arrived very early, hours before check in time and whilst we waited for our room we were taken down to the pool area and- as soon as we saw the pool and the stunning view we were blown away! Service is excellent, we felt so looked after by the staff, nothing was too much trouble at all. Food was great, varied selection. I love my wine and wine is served in a large glass which I was very happy about! We felt so relaxed the whole time, we loved it so much that we wanted to stay longer but unfortunately had to leave to meet friends on another island. The sunset view is unbelievable!!! Cannot rate this place enough!! A special mention to the bar staff, very smiley and great at what they do! Our room had a great view too- went for the ocean mystic. We sat on the balcony 1 night and drank wine and ate pizza whilst watching an incredible storm out at sea!. Amazing experience all round- thank you so much Aminjirah!!!

Room Tip: Room 2 is very spacious and has an amazing ocean view!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Rachel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aminjirah, Owner at Aminjirah Resort, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Dear Rachel,

So happy to have accommodated you and that you enjoyed your stay. We will pass on your happiness to the next guests :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
201 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2014

This is a small and very individualistic designed hotel set in a stunning area away from the crowds and noise of Koh Tao. The sunset views are incredible and invite you to sit sipping a cocktail waiting for the sunset view to progress.

We enjoyed our 8 night stay and would certainly recommend

Room Tip: All the rooms are very individual and vary in price re position and size.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janbro6365
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aminjirah, Owner at Aminjirah Resort, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Dear Jan,

Always great to hear from an experiences TA contributor and that you enjoyed your stay. Hope to accommodate you again in the future !!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2014

My friend and I stayed here after 3 days partying in Koh Samui. We loved it from the moment we pulled up...

It's set on a beautiful cliff side with amazing panoramic views. It really is stunning and I've never stayed anywhere else like it.

The rooms were fabulous and I loved the traditional Thai decor throughout. The bathroom was lovely too and was kept clean throughout our stay. There was a balcony too where you could sit and enjoy the views. I was there with a friend, but I must say the decor and layout is definitely more suited for a couple. The lighting in the evening is ideal for a romantic drink on the balcony.

There was plenty to choose from on the menu. Lots of traditional Thai dishes, as well as snacks and western options too. There was a also a great drinks menu with lots of cocktails available; perfect company while watching the sunset (a real highlight of our trip). Also the breakfast included in the room price is substantial although quite basic.

The service from reception was helpful and efficient. The manger could not do enough for us and was extremely friendly. I must say though that the bar/breakfast staff were courteous but did struggle with English. We managed by pointing to things on the menu instead of attempting any conversation. Any alterations to meals/drinks were virtually impossible to communicate successfully.
Personally, I didnt mind this as I like to experience different culture and sometimes like it when not everyone speaks English. However, I can understand the frustration some people may experience. All staff were pleasant though and meant well.

Overall, we had a relaxing stay surrounded by breathtaking views and enjoyed the traditional elements of the resort!

If I went back to Koh Tao I wouldn't bother staying anywhere else except The Aminjarah Rssort.....

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emily_Jane_1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aminjirah, Owner at Aminjirah Resort, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Thank you kindly for your lovely words. They are very much appreciated by the whole team here at Aminjirah.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 June 2014

We have been there for one week and we really enjoyed it. It is a wonderful Resort and we would love to come back. nice peole, wonderful room, bride view, good Food! The pool and the garden is also very beautiful.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank christian v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aminjirah, Owner at Aminjirah Resort, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Thank you for the encouragement. We strive to put our best foot forward, always.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014

My partner and I stayed at Aminjirah in April for 3 nights as a bit of a celebration. It was incredible, absolutely breathtaking. The pool is sublime, just floating about looking out into the ocean. It's so stunning. We stayed in a room right on the pool the first night and then moved to a different room up a bit higher, overlooking the pool. They were both lovely rooms, but quite different. We really enjoyed both of them (we had to move because we had only originally booked for 1 night night loved it so much we extended for 2 more nights but our room was already booked). We ate at the hotel every night and had lunch there sometimes as well. The food is good, the service is lovely. Taxis on Koh Tao are stupidly expensive and the hotel is so lovely that we didn't bother heading into the town at night to try other restaurants. Sam at reception is so incredibly friendly and helpful. Nothing was too much bother for him. We'll definitely stay at Aminjirah again if we're back in Koh Tao.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank caitiepietravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aminjirah, Owner at Aminjirah Resort, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Dear Guest

We are so happy you really enjoyed Aminjirah and especially our dining options. Taxis are indeed a bit expensive unfortunately, but renting a moped is a good option to really see the island (provided you know how to drive one).

Please do come again :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Koh Tao hotels
3.0 mi away
Haadtien Beach Resort
Haadtien Beach Resort
#16 of 49 in Koh Tao
1,397 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Tarna Align Resort
The Tarna Align Resort
#13 of 49 in Koh Tao
203 reviews
1.9 mi away
Sensi Paradise
Sensi Paradise
#7 of 49 in Koh Tao
1,206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Monkey Flower Villas
Monkey Flower Villas
#2 of 49 in Koh Tao
321 reviews
0.8 mi away
Thalassa Hotel
Thalassa Hotel
#8 of 49 in Koh Tao
466 reviews
3.1 mi away
Jamahkiri Resort & Spa
Jamahkiri Resort & Spa
#4 of 49 in Koh Tao
822 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aminjirah Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aminjirah Resort

Property: Aminjirah Resort
Address: 16/4 Moo 2 Sairee Beach, Koh Tao 82480, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Koh Tao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 49 Hotels in Koh Tao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Aminjirah Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Aminjirah is nestled on a dramatic cliff side, overlooking Sairee Beach and Koh Nang Yuan. The Aminjirah features just 22 rooms and one pool villa + 2 two amazing sea view pools including a 16 metre dramatic sunset infinity edge pool. We also offer free pier transfers and 4 daily shuttle transfers to Sairee beach. Access to beautiful small beach with clear water and fun pier to jump from available via little bit steep stairs through next door resort - you just need to purchase a little from their bar or restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U., Booking.com, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Aminjirah Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amanjirah Hotel Koh Tao

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing