We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceeds expectations”
Review of Aminjirah Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Aminjirah Resort
Ranked #10 of 50 Hotels in Koh Tao
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 July 2014

Very nice location, friendly caring personal staff, great views, relaxing conditions. Unlucky to get sick, but staff extremely caring and helpful with medicine and transport to Clinique. Very satisfied and highly recommend this hotel. We stayed for 10 days.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank AstridChristian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aminjirah, Owner at Aminjirah Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2014

Dear Astrid

Glad your husband eventually got well. It's a good idea to stay away from the "fresh" seafood in Sairee Village. It is not always that fresh unfortunately. Thank you for the nice pictures.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,323)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

662 - 668 of 1,323 reviews

Reviewed 14 July 2014

Really nice hotel. Amazing view on the sunset and sea every day! very nice room. Wonderful stuff and onwers.
Every day of vacation was cool.
More options on breakfast could be cool, but anyway - this hotel one of the best options at Koh Tao.

Room Tip: Room with sea-view is a must.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Сергей Д
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aminjirah, Owner at Aminjirah Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2014

Dear Sirs,

A pleasure to house you in an Ocean Mystique for the 10+ days you were here. Our staff very much enjoyed meeting and accommodating you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed in the two bedroom room, this worked perfectly for us. The connecting room was great. Both had lovely sea views, were extremely clean and comfortable. The bathroom was fantastic -modern with fantastic rain shower.

I travel 3-4 times a year and have been lucky enough to stay at some top 5 star properties and this place did not disappoint. The team went out of their way to make our stay. The staff are just wonderful - this is not a 5 star resort but every member went the extra mile. Service is not added to your bill at the end - so please remember to tip the staff ! I think the average monthly wage is around 8000.

The pool area has a glorious view - the pool slightly smaller than I expected but it was still perfect.

Location - we did not rent mopeds but used the resort service. A taxi back will cost 400-500 at night. On a couple of occasions we walked back. My mom is 66 and I'm 31- we are reasonably fit and this took us 20 minutes - was nice to get some exercise but we would not attempt this in the heat of the day.




Stayed: July 2014
1  Thank bronwynLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aminjirah, Owner at Aminjirah Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2014

Dear Bronwyn,

It was a real pleasure accommodating you and your wonderful mom. Hope to see you in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2014

our family stayed here 2 nights. The breafast was good (continental). The breakfast tables near poolside have brethtaking views of the sea & island. The resort has good landscaping. The Hotel is run by a handful of persons. The service is not great. there is hardly anyone to serve at time of breakfast. there is a scooter stand outside the hotel. they are connected with hotel management. It is very safe to take the scooters on rent( about 200 bahts per day). They took a deposit of 2000 baht, as we refused to deposit our passports as security. The hotel is at a distance from the main entertainment and restaurant area - which is sairee beach. The infinity pool is amawing with amazing view of the sea. A very good experience.

Room Tip: Do not take rooms at ground floor or without view, as the beauty of the resort is the breathtaking v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Raj B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aminjirah, Owner at Aminjirah Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2014

Dear Raj

Thank you for your lovely words and fair review. A quick note: The hotel is not run by a "handful" of persons. I am there nearly all the time and oversee everything from the garden to the breakfast :-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2014 via mobile

The hotel is located high on a hill with an amazing sunset view! The staff is great, very solicit, specially Ao, who is always smilling and willing to help! We had a great time and highly recommend it!

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank vickymoreira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aminjirah, Owner at Aminjirah Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2014

We agree :-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2014

I had booked a budget comfort room and it was pretty terrible, the room was not much bigger than the double bed and there was one tiny window looking out at trees. I know it's the cheapest room but it was still quite expensive in comparison to prices on the rest of Koh Tao. The air conditioner started leaking lots of water after about twenty minutes in the room so we went to the front desk and asked to change rooms. I double checked my booking email because I felt like I'd paid way too much for that level of room and realized that I'd actually paid the amount of a Wind Shimmer room, the next level up. They switched us to that room without any hassles, and told us that the water heater in the shower in that room was broken but they would send someone to fix it that afternoon. They never did, and two days later I actually wanted a hot shower after a day of diving, and when I went to the front desk to ask if it would be fixed or if I could shower in a different room the man acted as if he had no idea it was broken, even though he'd told us about it two days prior. By the end of our four days I felt like they thought we were needy tourists because of the number of things we went down to the front desk to ask about, when all our requests were perfectly reasonable, like where to take our laundry, and that our mini bar hadn't been refilled daily and there was a sign saying to notify the desk immediately if the mini bar wasn't refilled. I asked about the best ferry service back to Koh samui and they guy just gave me the names of a few but didn't offer to book it for us, which every other hotel in the islands had done. I booked it online and then asked to print out my booking, but no the printer was broken, and the next day it was still broken, and then the ferry office charged us for not having a printed out booking. I'd booked this hotel based on the great trip advisor reviews but I really didn't enjoy dealing with the staff at the front desk, one man was very smarmy and a bit of a suck up, and the other guy hardly spoke any english and was not very helpful. The food in the restaurant wasn't great and it came from a kitchen next door to the hotel so it was a bit cold by the time it got to us. On the last night they gave us a free upgrade to one of the Moonlight Suite rooms but even that wasn't very nice, all the lights were fitted with ridiculous coloured light globes so you couldn't see anything properly at night, and the big window overlooked the pool area so you couldn't go near it in your underwear. I wouldn't go back to the Aminjirah, it wasn't good value.

Room Tip: Don't book the budget comfort room, it's terrible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HilaryRJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aminjirah, Owner at Aminjirah Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2014

Dear Guest,

We apologize for any inconvenience you may have had during your stay. You had actually booked a Budget Comfort room and had not paid a higher price. We had a last minute promotion, which is why you might believe you had paid too much. It is customary for hotels around the world to offer last minute promotions and rates if they have one or two rooms free. Flights, car rentals etc are the same story. Therefore you were actually upgraded free of charge to a higher standard room and the last night you were upgraded free of charge to one of our best reviewed rooms in the whole resort. This type has mood lighting so you can select to have "colored" lights or to use the standard white light. The room has large windows to enjoy the amazing sea views but of course there are curtains for privacy.

Most guests also rate our cuisine very highly and our kitchen is located not more than 100 meters from the restaurant, which is on par with many resorts and we take great care to ensure that the food comes hot to the table. If for some reason that did not happen for you, we do apologize.

On a personal level, the "smarmy" guy you dealt with was an assistant manager that was on probation only and he has actually been let go since then. The other comments are taken to heart and we will strive to improve our concierge services.

Finally we do feel we have gone above and beyond with free upgrades for you and are therefore slightly disappointed in your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

The best hotel I've ever been hosted. Located near the island (sairee beach) center, with the possibility of catching taxi or rent a motorbike (I recommend), this hotel has rooms tidy with fantastic views and a fabulous infinity pool. The service and the people are great, very friendly and pleasant and always willing to help with a smile on his face. The hotel is "surrounded" by nature and this makes it even more pleasurable to enjoy this space. Site very quiet, peaceful and clean. This is the real Thailand.

Hope this helps
happy holidays

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Sebastien M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aminjirah, Owner at Aminjirah Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2014

Dear Sebastien,

Thank you so much for your kind words. It was a pleasure to meet you and to accommodate you at our small resort and we hope to see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Koh Tao hotels
1.3 mi away
The Tarna Align Resort
The Tarna Align Resort
#6 of 50 in Koh Tao
330 reviews
3.1 mi away
Haadtien Beach Resort
Haadtien Beach Resort
#14 of 50 in Koh Tao
1,601 reviews
0.8 mi away
Thalassa Hotel
Thalassa Hotel
#8 of 50 in Koh Tao
552 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Monkey Flower Villas
Monkey Flower Villas
#2 of 50 in Koh Tao
360 reviews
1.1 mi away
Ban's Diving Resort
Ban's Diving Resort
#7 of 50 in Koh Tao
2,468 reviews
3.1 mi away
Jamahkiri Resort & Spa
Jamahkiri Resort & Spa
#4 of 50 in Koh Tao
953 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aminjirah Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aminjirah Resort

Address: 16/4 Moo 2 Sairee Beach, Koh Tao 82480, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Koh Tao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 50 Hotels in Koh Tao
Price Range: £26 - £90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Aminjirah Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Aminjirah is nestled on a dramatic cliff side, overlooking Sairee Beach and Koh Nang Yuan. The Aminjirah features just 17 rooms and one pool villa + 2 two amazing sea view pools including a 16 metre dramatic sunset infinity edge pool. We also offer free pier transfers and 4 daily shuttle transfers to Sairee beach. Access to beautiful small beach with clear water and fun pier to jump from available via little bit steep stairs through next door resort - you just need to purchase a little from their bar or restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Aminjirah Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amanjirah Hotel Koh Tao

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing