We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Visit in June 2013”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Koh Tao
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Captain Nemo Guesthouse
Ranked #1 of 74 Koh Tao B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bangkok, Thailand
1 review
“Visit in June 2013”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2013

Exactly that I am expecting from a guesthouse, Quiet, clean (personally I am sensible o n this point), ideal location with a correct rate and a personal feeling in sup, nothing else to add. If you are looking about the guesthouse concept, I advise the Captain Nemo Guesthouse.

Marc

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marc293916
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philippe N, Owner at Captain Nemo Guesthouse, responded to this review, 2 July 2013
Dear Marc

Thank you for your positive comment , Ploy is happy that a guest appreciated her work and enjoyed the cleaness of his room during his stay. We hope to see you a little bit longer next time . Bangkok is not that far and you are really welcome in Captain Nemo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

559 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    437
    106
    9
    4
    3
See reviews for
61
275
46
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
london
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2013

Stayed here for over a week in june '13
The location is just a few minutes from the pier, just opposite the Dolce Vita italian restaurant.
the room was spacious and you have air con and a fan in the room.
a large fridge and in-room safe.
The owners are very friendly and welcoming, Som picked me up outside the 7/11 very close to the pier and it was a short walk to the guesthouse.
I got tips whilst staying on the island and ideas of what to see/do on Koh Tao.
The noise that you may get will mostly be from other guests.
The owners try emphasise the importance of peace and quiet to the guests, but as usual some will ignore these rules.
You may find during storms that the power will cut out and the air con will stop functioning. just plug the fan in and power will restore soon. wasn't much of a problem.

PROS
very close to the pier
very close to 7/11 and prairee thai restaurant
Very friendly owners

CONS
guest dependent noise from TV in other rooms
air con can be temperamental

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vonnie123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philippe N, Owner at Captain Nemo Guesthouse, responded to this review, 29 June 2013
Dear Guests,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your stay with us a couple of weeks ago and also for your comments about the info service of Som and all of us.
We appreciate very much you understanding as well. As you said, even we doing our best to explaine (more than clearly) than quietness is a big point here, there is unfortunately some people ignore what to respect to eachother means. ( on the other hand, it's getting rare...fingers crossed..)
About electric on this remote island, things are also getting better and better. With the new government plant and the contract we got from the private electric supplier, we are (almost )not in trouble anymore. Nevertheless, the unusual stong storm of 2 weeks ago shutted down everything for a while, and surprisingly, the private power came back faster than the government one ...
Amazing Thailand . com :-).
So we hope to see you again in the future and wish you all the best for your next trips.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tamarindo, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
46 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2013

We really enjoyed our stay with Captain Nemo. The location is great, located in the same village all of the piers are located. It is a 10 minute walk to Sairee Beach, where there are a ton of restaurants and shops to walk around in. The owners are extremely helpful. They will give you tips on where to eat and help book tours if needed. It's located right down the street from Pranee's, a cheap food place that is right down the road. We typically don't stay in guesthouses, so it's hard to compare this, but the rooms were a little small compared to what we were used to.

Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank gotaholen1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philippe N, Propriétaire at Captain Nemo Guesthouse, responded to this review, 17 June 2013
Dear guests,
Firstly thank you very much for this nice comment about our place.

We are especially happy to read that you usually stay to higher standards hotels or resorts and
nevertheless you had good time and good feeling by staying to our guesthouse.

You are right about the room's size. Koh Tao used to be an island for students's divers, and big space in the room was not really the target at the time they built the buildings and bungalows.

The new big hotels and 5 stars resorts build now large rooms and bungalows.

On the other hand, we did our best to set up everything a guest can expect in a comfortable and clean room and we still always take seriously the suggestions of our guests.

We hope to see you again in our small island, and thanks again for your kindness.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aix en Provence
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2013

We stayed in Captain Nemo for 6 nights.
It is very well located in the center of Mae Haat, next to everything, such as shops, good restaurants, etc. It is not far either from Saree beach, (approx 10 min walking).
The rooms are very nice, clean, fully equiped and quiet.
The owners are very nice and helpful. They helped us to book our next accomodations and gave us good avises to make our stay more pleasant.
We would definitely recommend Captain nemo as a very good place to stay in Koh Tao if you're looking for a quiet place there...

Thank you Philippe, Som and Ploy!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Caroline M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philippe N, Owner at Captain Nemo Guesthouse, responded to this review, 15 June 2013
Google Translation
Nous vous remercions pour l'avis favorable concernant votre séjour.
Nous faisons de notre mieux afin que nos hotes se sentent à l'aise dans notre petite structure familiale : la propreté et la proximité avec nos clients sont deux points sur lesquels nous nous appuyons. C'est certainement ce qui motive de plus en plus de personnes à venir dans les établissements de notre catégorie.
Nous espérons vous recevoir pour de prochaines vacances ... et bonne continuation de voyage.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2013

Getting to Koh Tao took us almost 24 hours including a night's stay at Koh Samui. By the time we arrived, my wife and I were so exhausted. Luckily, we made our bookings well in advance and were greeted by Som outside 7-11 near the Mae Haad main pier. The guest house was just a couple of minutes walk away and upon arrival, we met Philippe and daughter Ploy.

They were really nice and gave us plenty of advice and tips on food, things to do/avoid, etc. We even booked our return ferry tickets through Som...with a discount !!! The room was simply amazing...the queen bed very comfortable, the duvet blanket superb and the bath towels were top class. The airconditioned room also has an ensuite toilet, a big fridge, safety box, TV with loads of satellite channels, DVD player with loads of movies...we even had a 3-seater sofa. In our many years of travel, we would categorize Captain Nemo as the "Hilton/Westin" of budget hotels.

We wanted to enjoy massage and were introduced to Anong Massage just next door to Captain Nemo. The massage was excellent, prices only THB250-THB300....my wife and I had a massage almost every day. We did diving every day with Master Divers and they were also a few minutes walk from Captain Nemo. We loved First Som Tam (fresh papaya salad) and had that almost every dinner. Nearby BBQ was very nice and also the ala-carte Thai food. Pranee Kitchen just down the road was very nice too. We ate mainly Thai food and prices range from THB40-THB160 per serving. BBQ skewereed meat (pork & chicken) sold on the road side are only THB10 per stick. There was a stall by the road nearby Lomprayah pier that sold freshly made sandwiches (THB50-THB80)...really delicious and value for money.

Overall, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay in Koh Tao, thanks to Captain Nemo. To Philippe, Som and Ploy...hontoni arigato gozaimasta. Thank you so much for giving us the "home away from home" experience. Captain Nemo will be our prefered choice at Mae Haad whenever we visit Koh Tao. Please keep up the incredible work you folks are doing. Until we meet again, take care and God bless all of you :) :) :) +++ Peter-Ikuko +++

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank average22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philippe N, Propriétaire at Captain Nemo Guesthouse, responded to this review, 14 June 2013
Many thanks for sparing your time in writing a review on trip Advisor after your holidays spent in our Guesthouse.
It’s a pleasure to read that you have had a wonderful holiday experience and that you were overwhelmed with the quality of facilities and services of Captain Nemo compared to other places.
Many thanks also for being number 150 rating us "Excellent"

Wishing you all the best and hope to see you again , K.L. is almost next door : )

Best regards
Philippe, Som and Ploy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2013 via mobile

We were accommodated at very short notice. Provided with massive amounts of info and maps, not only for Koh Tao but also Chumpon and Bangkok. The room was ideal, the bed was definitely one of the most comfortable we have had whilst travelling. The location is perfect, the whole island is pretty much within walking distance - the walk to Sairee beach takes about 10 to 15 mins minutes. In our room we had a nice big fridge and TV with DVD player (and hundreds of dvds to choose from). We were really sad to have only stayed 3 nights and if we weren't travelling against a tight timescale we would have stayed for at least 6 nights.

Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Toby H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philippe N, Owner at Captain Nemo Guesthouse, responded to this review, 4 June 2013
Thank you Toby for your review. We are really pleased you and your girlfriend enjoyed your stay and liked your room. We hope to host you in Captain Nemo for a next trip in Thailand.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2013

This is not the place you go to for views, luxury or romance. Its definitely a budget guest house, but the rooms are clean, bed is comfortable and there's AC. The staff is also very informative and helpful. If I was on a trip with my girlfriend I probably wouldn't stay here, but it's definitely good for friends trying to save money and enjoy the island.

Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank wextrips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philippe N, Propriétaire at Captain Nemo Guesthouse, responded to this review, 10 May 2013
Dear Guests,
Many thanks for sparing your time in writing a review on trip Advisor after your stay spent in our Guesthouse last January..Also I would like to thank you for your comments about the info service of Som and also about the work of Ploy. We are located at 2 minutes from the beach, and fortunately our guests, young or old couples and families are happy with this quiet situation. On the other hand , having a cocktail in front of your bungalow and enjoying the sunset is for sure a more romantic place with your girlfriend, you are right
Greetings from Koh Tao !
Philippe, Som and Ploy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Koh Tao hotels
0.3 mi away
Sensi Paradise
Sensi Paradise
#6 of 49 in Koh Tao
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,208 reviews
1.7 mi away
Aminjirah Resort
Aminjirah Resort
#10 of 49 in Koh Tao
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,181 reviews
1.1 mi away
Thalassa Hotel
Thalassa Hotel
#7 of 49 in Koh Tao
4.5 of 5 bubbles 468 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Haadtien Beach Resort
Haadtien Beach Resort
#17 of 49 in Koh Tao
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,406 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ban's Diving Resort
Ban's Diving Resort
#5 of 49 in Koh Tao
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,086 reviews
1.5 mi away
Jamahkiri Resort & Spa
Jamahkiri Resort & Spa
#4 of 49 in Koh Tao
4.5 of 5 bubbles 825 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Captain Nemo Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Captain Nemo Guesthouse

Property: Captain Nemo Guesthouse
Address: 9/37.38.39, Soi Post Office Mae Haad | Koh Tao, Koh Tao 84360, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Koh Tao
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 74 B&Bs / Inns in Koh Tao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing