We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Captain nemo - a lifesaver”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Captain Nemo Guesthouse
Ranked #1 of 76 Koh Tao B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Captain nemo - a lifesaver”
Reviewed 12 January 2014

Overall Captain Nemo was just fantastic, the place was safe, uber clean, quiet (considering it was over New Year's), and very comfortable (slept just great). Before we arrived in Koh Tao, Phillip was very communicative about our reservation, and even before we booked, he always very prompt in his email correspondence.

Moreover, Phillip and Som were (are) two of the most honest and hospitable people on the whole island. They took their time to understand what we were hoping to do while on Koa Tao, and gave tips about where to go and where not to go. Our trip was very different than most people visiting Koa Tao, we were not looking to dive, we just wanted to explore the island, eat good food, and enjoy the warm sunshine. Since Captain Nemo is not on the beach and when Som heard we just wanted to hangout on a beach, she gave us recommendations (and directions) first thing. She made no qualms about the hotel's location, instead she provided immediate how-to.

As our stay wrapped at Captain Nemo wrapped up, my friend and I were looking to stay closer to the beach, and without asking any questions at all, both, Phillip and Som, helped us settle our next lodging and the necessary transportation. On top to of that, when Phillip found out we would be traveling through Bangkok he wrote us a lengthy email with many helpful tips and suggestions for navigating the city's various districts.

This kind of care and attention was totally unexpected and very much appreciated.
-Heidi

Room Tip: Captain Nemo is not on the beach, but it is an ideal location for arriving. It is very close to the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Heidi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philippe N, Owner at Captain Nemo Guesthouse, responded to this review, 13 January 2014
Dear Heidi,
It’s a pleasure to read that you have had a wonderful holiday experience and that you were happy with the quality of facilities and services of Captain Nemo compared to other places. We hope to welcoming you back for a longer holiday break at our beautifull small island. Many thanks indeed for your positive feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

564 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    441
    107
    9
    4
    3
See reviews for
62
279
46
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2014

The couple who own this hotel could not have been friendlier, they sorted train tickets back to Bangkok for us, along with sorting out 3 day-trips and a birthday dinner up in the mountains in a one of a kind restaurant we would never have known about if it wasn't for Som. The rooms are good value for money, fridge, safe, AIR CON (which if you're travelling is a luxury you would die for!) and great location. It's right next to the beach but if you carry on down to the left of the beach you find a secluded beach that is for a 5* hotel (they never check if you are residents and hand out free water!). I had my birthday on Koh Tao and Som bought flowers for me which is extremely hard to do on a little island. I can't wait to come back and visit her and her dog 'yoda'!

Highly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CRC19WDA22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philippe N, Owner at Captain Nemo Guesthouse, responded to this review, 11 January 2014
It’s a pleasure to read that you have had a wonderful holiday experience and that you were overwhelmed with the quality of facilities and services from Som. She was really happy to find theses flowers for your birthday and to book this romantic restaurant as well. We hope to welcoming you back for a longer holiday break at our beautifull small island. Many thanks indeed for your positive feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2014 via mobile

I cannot stress how much of a brilliant experience we had staying with Phillip and Som - the most honest and helpful people we met whilst away.
We made the terrible mistake of not booking accommodation prior to our stay in Koh Tao. When we approaches captain nemos, although Som did not have any rooms available, she recognised our distress at not being able to find a place to stay and helped us to arrange alternative accommodation. When a room became available at captain nemos, she notified us and we stayed for one night at their guesthouse. I have no negative comments about the room whatsoever, clean bright room, comfortable beds, nice bathroom and clean fresh towels.
Phillip and Som aim to please and we could not have made a better choice than to stay with them during out last night in Koh Tao, not only do they care about our experience in their accommodation, they care about our stay in general - constantly giving us tips and advice and booking our journey home with them.
Thank you Phillip and Som for your kindness, we hope to stay with you again.
Ella and Oliver

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Grumperson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philippe N, Owner at Captain Nemo Guesthouse, responded to this review, 7 January 2014
Dear Ella and Oliver, Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your stay here at Captain Nemo guesthouse and for your kind comments, We do care the same way everyone stays with us, whatever it's for a short or long time. Wereally pleased you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andover
Level Contributor
38 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2014 via mobile

This is my 4th time on the island but my 1st staying at Mae Haad.

We stayed here for a week and even though I thought I knew the island well, I was guided by the owner (Philippe) to some hidden gems that are now hard to find on the island.

He gave us some good local island knowledge that saved us loads of money. He also gave some top recommendations on where to eat.

The accommodation of the guesthouse itself can be viewed by two sets of eyes. If you are that type of person who goes to a resort only to stay in their room for the best part of the day then you will probably find this place to be horrible. If on the other hand you are the person who spend most of their time exploring and sampling the local life then just requiring a place to rest before starting it all again, then this is the place for you.

Our room was the Deluxe Aircon. It had everything the tired traveller requires.
Comfortable bed
Clean bedding
Kettle
Fridge
TV
DVD player
Safe
Aircon
Clean towels
Hot shower
Beach towels
Dry bag
Free selection of DVDs
WiFi

The guesthouse is Non-Smoking and as a smoker it wasn't a problem, I just had to go downstairs to the front of the guesthouse where the ashtrays were.

It was mentioned in our booking email from Philippe that this is not for party goers. Basically, after 10pm there is a no noise policy which suited us.

You may find as we did that problems do occur but this is island living. One night we came back to find no water, another night there was no power to the aircon, the WiFi signal keeps dropping. All these problems are common and temporary.

If I had to give any potential travellers wanting to stay here some good advice, it would be listen to what Philippe has to say, he knows what he's on about.

If I could advise Philippe on how to improve the guesthouse, it would be update the WiFi.

All in all, a very pleasurable & comfortable stay. We hope to use you again.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank gwhitegate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philippe N, Owner at Captain Nemo Guesthouse, responded to this review, 7 January 2014
Firstly, thank you very much for this really well detailed comment. It was a real pleasure having you here and great satisfaction in knowing that you enjoyed your time with us. Actually, we were very busy during December but we always take the time needed to recommend restaurants, pubs or spots to discover, help from local people is sometime better than an heavy guidebook !!
We indeed believe that 'good enough never is' and there is always some points to improve to become better and your remarks will no doubt lead us to where we actually want to be. We are waiting for the "supposed to be soon" new faster connection 3G... We really hope you will enjoy it the next time you will come back to Koh Tao.
Thank again for this review full of details and remarks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 December 2013

I had a short break (two nights) on Kho Tao. A big thank you to the very friendly and helpfull people who own and run the Captain Memo Guest House. Their tips and advice were really helpful and allowed my to get the most out of my short stay on the Island. Colourful very clean rooms, and the added bonus of a beach bag, towel and beach mat plus safety deposit box thrown in as well, compared to all the other 1000 BHT per night locations I stayed in (Bangkok, Chang Mai, Kho Samui) this was tops for quality of service and value for money !!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Antony330
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philippe N, Owner at Captain Nemo Guesthouse, responded to this review, 23 December 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your stay here at Captain Nemo guesthouse and for your kind comments, really pleased you enjoyed your stay. We hope to see you again, a next time with your wife. We wish you Antony a great Christmas and a Happy new year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chiang Mai, Thailand
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2013

Captain Nemo was one of the last places we stayed at the end of our three month trip in South East Asia. It was probably our favourite accommodation over the trip.

1) The staff are very welcoming and friendly. They are a delight to talk too and will help with whatever you need, advise, tours, beach towels etc. they were so kind to upgrade our room after a rough ferry trip too!

2) Location is great, it's right on the main road of Mae Haad, within walking distance of everything, food ATMs, beaches, a walk to neighbouring Sairee village is only 15 mins. Perfect.

3) The room was fantastic. So comfy. A great king size bed with clean linen. Towels changed daily and room cleaned daily also. The bathroom and shower were lovely and the TV and Internet worked well. However do expect some downtime every now & then, it is an island after all, so internet can be spotty.

4) They sell tickets for tours/onward travel at discounted prices. They even enlightened us on a cheaper way to get back to Bangkok that suited us better, for which we are very thankful.

It was great. Stay here if you can! Their daughter floats around the house cleaning and she is very friendly and kind, was lovely to see :-)

Thanks!!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RobertC03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philippe N, Owner at Captain Nemo Guesthouse, responded to this review, 16 December 2013
Dear Jennifer and Robert,
Thank you very much for this so great review. Som and Ploy are really proud to make you that happy during your stay with us. We hope to see you again for a next trip in our small paradise island.
Thank you also for beeing the 194th guest rating us "excellent".
Enjoy the rest of your stay in Thailand
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amersfoort, Nederland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 December 2013 via mobile

We had a really nice stay here. The owners are very friendly and do whatever they can to make your stay as pleasant as possible.
Very good location, only 2 min walk from the pier. If you want to go to the partyplace, it's about a 20 min walk.
But, there are plenty of nice restaurants and bars around the guesthouse!!!
Som will arrange everything for you: tours, boat tickets and all the info about the island you need!
Room is excellent: a silent airco, huge fridge, comfy bed, spacious bathroom, free beach towels, free dvd's etc etc!!!
Philippe, Som & Ploy: thanks again for everything!!!!

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Maaikie87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philippe N, Owner at Captain Nemo Guesthouse, responded to this review, 9 December 2013
Dear Matthijs and Maaike,
It was a real pleasure having you here and great satisfaction in knowing that you enjoyed your time here. Actually, the island becoming busy and we also like to recommend restaurants, pubs or spots to discover. We would like again to thank you for your valued feedback and also for being number 192 rating us "Excellent".
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Koh Tao hotels
0.3 mi away
Sensi Paradise
Sensi Paradise
#7 of 49 in Koh Tao
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,221 reviews
1.7 mi away
Aminjirah Resort
Aminjirah Resort
#9 of 49 in Koh Tao
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,198 reviews
1.1 mi away
Thalassa Hotel
Thalassa Hotel
#6 of 49 in Koh Tao
4.5 of 5 bubbles 478 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Haadtien Beach Resort
Haadtien Beach Resort
#17 of 49 in Koh Tao
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,421 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ban's Diving Resort
Ban's Diving Resort
#5 of 49 in Koh Tao
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,104 reviews
1.5 mi away
Jamahkiri Resort & Spa
Jamahkiri Resort & Spa
#4 of 49 in Koh Tao
4.5 of 5 bubbles 836 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Captain Nemo Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Captain Nemo Guesthouse

Property: Captain Nemo Guesthouse
Address: 9/37.38.39, Soi Post Office Mae Haad | Koh Tao, Koh Tao 84360, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Koh Tao
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 76 B&Bs / Inns in Koh Tao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing