We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“OK” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Asia Divers Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Asia Divers Resort
Ranked #22 of 49 Hotels in Koh Tao
adelaide
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“OK”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2011

The location was quite good, as already explained below it's a short walk to all the main action.

The pool was good with chairs to lay on etc. It's setup for diving and has three depths, one of which is very deep. It can be tough finding room in the shallow end when there are classes on.

Unfortunately the island was suffering regular brown outs and whenever it hit your wifi would drop out (ie your skype call) and the cable tv would stop working for at least 30 min while it rebooted or whatever. I guess this isn't really their fault and when it was working the wifi coverage was great.

The staff were OK but mostly indifferent, I don't think they were too well trained in hospitality.

Breakfast was fine and reasonably good value at 100 baht per person, although we have a feeling others were getting it for free somehow. We were paying 1500 baht for their AC rooms which wasn't great value but we had arrived without a reservation.

My main complaint about this place would be the level of noise. It was not a place where you could easily sleep in, with the slamming of doors etc and many groups getting up early for dive classes etc. The rooms just were not setup very well to keep out the noise. There was also a very noisy group at about 4am, and due to the lack of 24 hour reception there was nothing that could be done to get them to be quiet.

10am checkout is fine and is actually quite appreciated in the context of ferry times, with many people arriving around then an appreciating a room to go straight to and also many people leaving around then soon.

I would stay here again, purely because it seems that a lot of the reviews on trip advisor for other hotels on the island were quite average and we haven't located anywhere better.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank muzzamo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

349 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    65
    135
    89
    24
    36
See reviews for
25
137
32
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2011

Stayed in Asia resort for 4 days in April- had initially booked 2 days but extended this as liked the island and accommodation was v handy to get to everything. Price was good- had a fan room which was very big and very clean, as other people note below the shower was cold but I was aware of this from the booking site- and the weather was so hot I wouldn't have wanted a hot shower!

Very handy for shops, beach etc and though I am not a fan of diving the dive staff were all very friendly and up for a chat. Breakfast was just ok- food was fine so worth it for convenience but can get nicer food elsewhere. 10am check out was very early!!

  • Stayed April 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank anniemcg123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Queenstown, New Zealand
Level Contributor
69 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2011

We booked a fan room with cold water. We were picked up at the pier for free, which was unexpected. hecked in no problem by efficient staff. The grounds are lovely, lots of well kept plants and trees with lots of flowers. The room was big and basic. Fan, TV and wardrobe. We were on the ground floor, but we had our own balcony with chairs and a table.

Free WIFI throughout, which was good, but cut out quite often. The breakfast was great, four choices, with juice of Hot drink. The resturant is good for other meals too, cheap enough and tastey.

The busy shops and bars are only a 4 minute walk away, far enough so you can sleep well and feel safe.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Davadking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2011

I have just returned from a trip to Koh Tao where we stayed with Asia Divers. This was my 4th time staying at the resort and it has grown over that time. The resort is simple but has everything you need, with a lovely pool and plenty of sunbeds. The food at the restaurant is simple but very tasty and the coconut shake is the best on the island! The bar can be lively in the evenings, you just need to get amonst the long term dive masters and dont be afraid to get involved. It is a family run business and the staff are very friendly. The fan room is perfect - the shower is cold but not in the English/Irish sense of the word, rather luke warm. This is perfect after a long day in the sun. There is a TV with plenty of channels.

The resort is close to the beach (5 mins walk) and far enough away from the main drag that you are not bothered by noise or numbers.

All in all, this is a great resort of 3 star quality (although if you opt for the better room options I am sure that is raised). I would recommend it as the quality of diving and the dive boat is impeccable and the staff, although constantly changing, are always quality and friendly!

I cant wait to go back!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank farfromhometom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2011

We had a fan room for 700 baht. The hotel is really nice and rooms are clean and spacious. It's a 5 minute walk to the beach. Good to know that showers are cold in a fan room.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank T012345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2011

Nice enough hotel and good location however the check out was far too early at 10am. The staff watched me struggle with 4 bags two of which being large backpacks and didn't offer to help, (my friend was diving) carry them down the stairs. There is one computer on the lobby and it says for staff use only. It was vacant and 8pm at night we asked if we could quickly check an email, they said no.
Rooms clean and beds comfy.

  • Stayed March 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SimoneBelcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Koh Tao hotels
2.3 mi away
Koh Tao Tropicana Resort
Koh Tao Tropicana Resort
#31 of 49 in Koh Tao
3.5 of 5 bubbles 308 reviews
0.2 mi away
Silver Sands Beach
Silver Sands Beach
#27 of 49 in Koh Tao
3.5 of 5 bubbles 168 reviews
1.4 mi away
Koh Tao Royal Resort
Koh Tao Royal Resort
#25 of 49 in Koh Tao
3.5 of 5 bubbles 249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Woodlawn Villas
Woodlawn Villas
#12 of 49 in Koh Tao
4.5 of 5 bubbles 437 reviews
1.4 mi away
Montalay Beach Resort
Montalay Beach Resort
#18 of 49 in Koh Tao
4.0 of 5 bubbles 622 reviews
0.2 mi away
Koh Tao Simple Life Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Asia Divers Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Asia Divers Resort

Property: Asia Divers Resort
Address: 18/1 Moo 1 | Sairee Beach, Koh Tao 84360, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Koh Tao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Koh Tao
#6 Spa Hotel in Koh Tao
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Koh Tao
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Koh Tao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Asia Divers Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 130
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Asia Divers Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Asia Divers Hotel Koh Tao

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing