We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Run-down hotel with no-service staff” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Asia Divers Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Asia Divers Resort
Ranked #22 of 49 Hotels in Koh Tao
Aarhus, Denmark
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Run-down hotel with no-service staff”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2014

To bad that this hotel is connected with the fantastic Asia Divers, because I was very disappointed with my stay here.
First impression was good - there was free pick-up service from the pier. But in the reception I was met by some thai girls that weren't anything near the usual smiling people, I have met in Thailand. To be sure I had a room, I had pre-booked one and got a superior room in the first building for the price of a standard, but in my opinion nothing superior about that. Mould on the wall, smelly and furniture very old and basic. I know that the hotel can't count for other guests behavior, but somebody were making a terrible noise screaming and banging the doors throughout the night. Good, I didn't have an early morning dive.
When I returned to the reception in the evening after diving and resting and before going out, I made sure that I wanted to stay at least 2 nights more and that I would pay at the end. I was then told to move out of the superior room or else the price would go up (usually when you are upgraded to a better room, it is for the entire stay, isn't it?), so hungry and a bit tired still from diving, I went back to the room and packed my things and moved to a standard room, which apart from no fridge and a bit smaller actually was much better.
On the first morning breakfast was included, but it wasn't a hit. Go down the road to the bakery instead.
The pool needs new tiles on the bottom.
There were some other girls at check-out day. They helped me with booking the ferry ticket and even though there was a misunderstanding with payment of the room (my mistake), it was all handled with a smile.

Room Tip: The standard rooms have no fridge, are smaller and further to the back, but in my opinion just as go...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CIRCUMNAVIGATOR_dk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

349 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    65
    135
    89
    24
    36
See reviews for
25
137
32
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Staffordshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

Stayed here for 5 nights, found the beds a bit uncomfortable and the weird leather pillows a bit odd but it was a nice clean room with en-suite. We didn't pay for air conditioning but had a large balcony. I didn't eat from the bar area but loved the pool. It is in an excellent location to explore Ko Toa. Would definitely visit again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Steph9212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elgin, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2014

We spent the best part of 6 days here in an 8 bed fan dorm. I'll start with the resort, it had a lovely pool which was incredibly deep and very well maintained and some nice food in the restaurant. The staff were miserable, all the time, so unfriendly and hostile which was no fun.

Our room wasn't in the actual resort it was about a 5 minute, very hot, walk away so that was lame. The room itself was alright, with lockers to put your bags in, two shared showers and two toilets. The toilets were pretty dirty and smelt very poor, there was only cold showers which were good because the room was SO DAMN HOT. The fans seemed to do nothing, there was only two of them for 8 people so the room was far far too hot and you couldn't open the door because 10,000 different types of insect would enter the room with you.

I don't know why we stayed there so long, too lazy to move probably, the location is also pretty far away from everything so that isn't great either.

Our friends stayed in a double room (fan) and had a similar miserable time, the aircon rooms might be a bit nicer.

It's cheap though, that's what matters to us anyway.

Room Tip: Do not stay in the other bit where you have to walk to, it's very irritating how far it is from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cal M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Koh Tao hotels

Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014 via mobile


Plus: free pickup by the hotel when we arrived by boat. The room had a nice balcony and the aircondition did actually work. We also heard very good things about their diverschool- we did not use it though.

Minus: room and sheets was dirty. Huge gap by all doors and windows, resulting in huge amounts of mosquitos and a lot of noise! On one side a very busy road and on the other side roosters (!) that start up at 5 AM.
Where the drain should be on the bathroom floor, we just had a massive hole (God knows what could crawl up from that!) Also shower did not work properly
Staff is not at all helpfull or friendly!
Location is quite far from the beach and the pool is full of divers, so forget about swimming during the day.
The entire place is worn down and dated.

I do not at all understand the positive reviews this place have received. The standard of this "resort" is of a bad hostel. Would never stay again!

To be fair the standard is quite low in Koh Tao compared to the other islands, so be prepared to pay a bit more for a desent room here.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Mille H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014

Me and my friend could not dive, because her hand was broken and could not get into the water. But we liked Koh Tao nevertheless. The swimming pool was really clean, the restaurant was cheap and the food there was OK, we were picked up from the pier and dropped off for no extra cost and the beds were comfy. It´s close to the beach and overall just a really nice accommodation.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kristín W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

Enjoyed our stay at the resort. Nice staff breakfast at the restaurant was fine. The room we booked turned out to be a thai style wooden room. Afterwards I read on tripadvisor that we could have changed it to a more western style room if we had asked. This room was a littlle bit more open foor bugs and insects because of al the open cracks in the walls. But that didn't really mather to us. After al the other western rooms this room was more beautiful and it had a more authentic feel to us. nice private balcony. Just buy a can of bug spray to be sure. The room was clean though. And the location was very nice. Not in the most busy part of town. But still walking distance to most stuff.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hansd788
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrington
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for 6 nights in January 2014. The rooms are really spacious, clean and have a balcony. We only had a fan room but never found the room to be too hot.

The pool area is nice with comfortable sun loungers and always kept clean.

The location of the hotel is very good about a 5 minute walk down to the beach where all of the bars are so it is quiet at night to get some sleep.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jessica L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Koh Tao hotels
2.3 mi away
Koh Tao Tropicana Resort
Koh Tao Tropicana Resort
#31 of 49 in Koh Tao
3.5 of 5 bubbles 308 reviews
0.2 mi away
Silver Sands Beach
Silver Sands Beach
#27 of 49 in Koh Tao
3.5 of 5 bubbles 168 reviews
1.4 mi away
Koh Tao Royal Resort
Koh Tao Royal Resort
#25 of 49 in Koh Tao
3.5 of 5 bubbles 249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Woodlawn Villas
Woodlawn Villas
#12 of 49 in Koh Tao
4.5 of 5 bubbles 437 reviews
1.4 mi away
Montalay Beach Resort
Montalay Beach Resort
#18 of 49 in Koh Tao
4.0 of 5 bubbles 622 reviews
0.2 mi away
Koh Tao Simple Life Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Asia Divers Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Asia Divers Resort

Property: Asia Divers Resort
Address: 18/1 Moo 1 | Sairee Beach, Koh Tao 84360, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Koh Tao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Koh Tao
#6 Spa Hotel in Koh Tao
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Koh Tao
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Koh Tao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Asia Divers Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 130
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Asia Divers Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Asia Divers Hotel Koh Tao

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing