We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Full moon villa is stunning”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Koh Tao
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Casas del Sol - Luxury Boutique Villas
Ranked #10 of 139 Speciality Lodging in Koh Tao
Certificate of Excellence
Nottingham UK
1 review
“Full moon villa is stunning”
Reviewed 12 April 2012

A friend of mine had previously stayed at full moon villa, I had seen her photograph's and enquired where this beautiful place was!
I was due to go to Thailand to Celebrate my 40th Birthday with Thai and English friends, after seeing the picture decided it would be a real retreat to spend a few days at Villa of full moon after my party in Koh Phangan.

Christine's correspondence before and whilst at the villa were second to none!!! she was very friendly, yet professional and also added a very personal touch to all her emails.

The villa was stunning, with beautiful views,stunning interior! and the pool was just gorgeous!

My friend emailed Christine to ask if she could organise a bottle of Champagne and chocolates for me upon my arrival to the villa, and sure enough they were waiting for me when I arrived :-)

My stay in the Villa was wonderful and very relaxing, and being up in the hills it was very peaceful!

I'm not brave enough to ride a motor bike in Thailand even after spending 16 years visiting the country, So opted to take a taxi in to the town.
Bao our taxi driver is a great guy and great fun and always showed up at the villa in quick time to take myself and friend in to town!

I was sad to leave the Villa, and hope it won't be too long until my return.

My only objective critic is that there weren't any naked bar tenders to bring the champagne to the pool for myself and friend LOL, Christine assure's me this will be provided for me on my next visit ;-)
Thank you to Christine,Bao and Full moon Villa for making my stay so wonderful!! xxx

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank clairelouise_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Casasdelsol, Owner at Casas del Sol - Luxury Boutique Villas, responded to this review, 17 April 2012
Thanks for your review and for posting your photos!
I am very happy to hear that we could make your 40th Birthday even more special!
I will see what I can do about those bartenders next time you come and visit!! ;-)
See you back here soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    136
    21
    5
    0
    0
See reviews for
29
87
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Porsgrunn, Norway
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2012

We stayed a week at the "Villa of a million stars". The place is just as good as you might expect from looking at the pictures. Stunning view.

You need some sort of transportation staying here. The Honda Click (most common scooter for rent), was able to get two people up the steep hills, and could be rented for 150Bath per day.

Would not recommend this villa for small children.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MnM95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Casasdelsol, Owner at Casas del Sol - Luxury Boutique Villas, responded to this review, 16 March 2012
Thank you for your review!
Great to hear that your experience of our villas was fantastic and that they were exactly what you expected.

Yes, I do recommend to all prospective guests in my email correspondence that bike / quad bike rental is best when staying at our villas, which is also necessary for exploring the island, the beaches and hidden corners of Koh Tao.

As you point out, the villas are not recommended for small children, which is something we list on our website. There are various design features not suitable for small children such as an unfenced swimming pool, however we have had quite a few families with small children stay with us. I have briefed them thoroughly on the design safety features of the villas so they can make an informed decision and know what to expect when staying with us. To date, all families with small children have been very happy, however every family is different, and it does come down to the nature of the children themselves and the comfort levels of the parents.

Again, thank you for your feedback - we look forward to have you stay with us again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2012

My husband and I just returned home on Mar.4 after spending 16 days in Thailand. By far, the best part of our trip was 4 days in the Villa of a Million Stars on Koh Tao. The only regret we had about staying here is that we didn't book longer...we were in tears leaving! The island was everything we were hoping for...beauty, paradise, adventure, partly undeveloped & some nightlife. Koh Tao is no doubt geared up for divers, which we are not...yet. But there is so much more to it if you like to explore a bit. We rented the largest quad we could get and spent 2 days bay hoping, stopping to snorkel & swim. There is some rough terrain to get to hidden places so the quad is the best bet. My husband is 48 and had never driven a quad before now, but was a pro after a day around the island and up & down from the villa. He can't wait to go back and do it again next year! As far as the villa goes, I had seen the pics on the website & tripadvisor so had an idea what to expect but it blew me away!!! It was a surprise to my husband the beginner photographer who wanted panoramic views. He hadn't seen pics of the villa before arriving...his face was priceless! Jaw dropped & stunned. All he could say was "Oh Jamel!" (that's me) Neither of us had ever seen a more beautiful place and can't imagine there is one. We even slept out on the balcony one night because it was so tranquil. The villa was spotless, bugless (we didn't get one bug bite on koh tao..only bangkok, go figure) contemporary with a beachy flare. For us, it was luxury and privacy which is exactly what most couples would appreciate on holiday. The manager, Christina, is so friendly & professional...she was a pleasure from start to finish. She was more on top of things than we were and contacted me to make pick-up arrangements from the ferry. Shane was awesome and made the arrangements for our taxi and met us at the villa where he had guys bring our bags up for us. He gave us a lot of good suggestions on places to eat and where to rent the quad, he also went over the functions of the villa which was all simple enough. It all went smooth and effortless. As for the stairway to the villa that you've probably already read about, it is a little steep but it is a small price to pay for what's at the top. We are 36 & 48, not exactly fitness gurus, and we were fine. It's all part of the adventure on Kho Tao. Tips: pack light..Thailand is hot, day & night. Exchange currency at bangkok airport, best rate that we found in the country. Be open minded about internal travel as it can be a bit quirky at times. Relax and enjoy this amazing place, you will love it and want to return. Thanks again to Christina & Shane for the best and truly most memorable vacation ever!!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nemo227
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Casasdelsol, Owner at Casas del Sol - Luxury Boutique Villas, responded to this review, 15 March 2012
Thank you for your time and effort in writing this review and for posting your photos!
As always, it is fantastic to hear such a positive response about our villas and our service. It sounds like Koh Tao is your kind of place, and as you say, Koh Tao is an adventure.
We look forward to welcome you back in the future.
Thank you again!
Christina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur
Level 6 Contributor
68 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2012

We stayed at the villa of a Million Stars. The booking process with Christina was easy and smooth. We flew in to Koh Samui from Bangkok, and took the Lomphrayah from Samui to Koh Tao, and the Seatran Discovery on the way back. We personally find that the Seatran was much better - well organised and more spacious inside. It is also nearer to the airport.The Lomphrayah was very crowded, hot and stuffy inside. Book the transfers from the pier to the airport as well, as that would be cheaper than taking a private taxi.

As expected after reading the reviews, there is a flight of steps to get to the villa of a Million Stars. This is something that is to be noted, for those who are not so fit or the elderly. Also, the road leading to the villa from the main road is pretty steep at certain areas and narrow. If you have not been riding on a bike for some time, it is pretty daunting, and note that if there is a car coming from the opposite direction, you will have to react quickly and find a solution quickly, as it could be tricky in the sections where the road is uneven and if there are two of you on a normal bike!! I should think that one needs a quad to be on the safe side if there's two of you. (The rental for a bike per day is 150 Baht, whereas the quad is 1000 Baht). Koh Tao is a lovely remote island, and it is pretty difficult to get to some of the lovely beaches recommended for snorkelling, unless you have a quad, or are prepared to take a long hike, as there are stretched of steep, sandy roads.

The villa is nice enough, but I do agree with the other reviewer on the term 'luxury' as there are certain aspects of the villa which do not qualify it to be so. Forinstance, some of the door and timber finishings are not of that high quality. The inside of the kitchen cabinets under the sink is unfinished, with the pots and pans left on the floor. We were careful to ensure that all our food stuff were not left exposed, but a trail of ants still came, which was a little disturbing.

The bathroom was more rustic than luxurious,and there was no bath mats provided in the bathrooms. However, there were good quality bath towels, bedding and bed linen.

Do keep in mind that this villa faces the afternoon sun, hence it could get quite warm in the villa in the afternoons. However, as most people would be out by the beaches during the day, this may not be a problem.

Breakfasts by the pool side and having a sundowner in the evenings watching the sunset is something that is the greatest thing about this villa. The evenings are cool and breezy, and the view is simply wonderful. We spent many wonderful hours in the nights outside at the deck, and watched the stars and moon come out as it grew dark.

Overall, we still find that it is good value for the price due to the spaciouness, privacy and views the villa provided.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mayjayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Casasdelsol, Owner at Casas del Sol - Luxury Boutique Villas, responded to this review, 17 February 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write your review of your experiences at Casas del Sol.

As you point out, the road to our villas is moderately steep in parts. I always inform prospective guests of this fact before they make any reservation, so they can make an informed decision whether Casas del Sol is an appropriate place for them to stay or not. Most guests are very happy to rent quad bikes, as this is the safest method of transport around the whole island. Koh Tao is a remote island for the adventurous and road conditions vary all year round (although the road to our villa is paved and continuously maintained).

Furthermore, as printed on our website there is a moderate flight of stars to this particular villa. However since Koh Tao is a destination for many young adventure seekers, most guests do not find this an issue.

I am happy that you enjoyed the villa and the fantastic view that it offers. We have reviewed your comments in regards to several aspects of the kitchen not being up to the highest standard and we have now undertaken additional minor renovations to ensure that the villa meets the high quality that we want to offer our guests. These were such minor details as you mention such as a few additional shelves and upgrading of our kitchen cabinet doors.

Since our villas are very popular, we often have back to back bookings but we are still continually making routine inspections and maintenance to ensure we maintain a standard that we would want if were guests ourselves.

In regards to the natural animals and ants. Tropical animals are a part of living in a natural environment on a tropical island of Koh Tao, which is very different to living in a city or cooler environments. Surfaces must be kept very clean so that no animals are attracted to foodstuffs.

We hope to welcome you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2012

We stayed at the Cassas Del Sol from 31st December 2011 for 5 nights. On arrival we were collected from the Ferry and driven to the Apartment in a taxi. We were greeted by Shane who was very helpful in getting us settled into Villa of a Million Stars.

The property looks as it does in the pictures, the view is just as spectacular !! BUT we still felt a little hard done by.

To summarise:

1. The apartment was very minialistic. This isn't something we are used to. This is more of a personal opinion than anything..
2. The place needs a good freshen up. There were a few mosiquitoes squashed into walls. Floors needed cleaned. Kitchen worktops and hob grubby. Sink dirty. Maybe the last visitors didn't clean up after themselves ?
3. No iron. Very annoying.
4. It might be an idea to PROVIDE the apartments with a quad bike ? Just a note.
5. No hot water at certain times during the day.
6. The absence of a hand rail around the decking and swimming pool was terrifying (20ft drop on the other side) for this reason I think it would be unsuitable for children (or drunk adults!!). A small balustrade could be installed without comprimising the view ?

Overall we did really enjoy our stay especially when the sun came out ! The apartment was a good enough location and far enough away from the busy Sairee beach. It was as described but I think the 'luxury' element was missing.

I would however say Cassas Del Sol was definitely one of the nicest places to stay that we saw on Koh Tao ! I just think it maybe wasn't for us....

Room Tip: Million Stars was large enough for a small group ! Too large for one couple.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KEDDP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Casasdelsol, Owner at Casas del Sol - Luxury Boutique Villas, responded to this review, 17 February 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write your experiences about Casas del Sol and Koh Tao.

It is good to hear that you think that Casas del Sol was definitely one of the nicest places to stay on Koh Tao. And as you say, perhaps Koh Tao wasn't the place for you. it is a very adventurous island and doesn't have the overdeveloped modern convenience of places such as Phuket and Samui, however it is an adventure and we aim to provide comfortable stylish villas on an adventurous and natural island.

I would like to briefly address some of your concerns:
1. Yes, the villas are minimalistic in style - something that you can see in the photos on our website. We prefer not to clutter the villas, but keep the style clean and modern. As you say, this is purely personal taste.

2. We aim to ensure that all villas are in the best condition at all times, and if you felt that you found the villa below this level of standard then after notifying the manager then we would fix this immediately. We have a very reliable cleaning staff and our managers make routine checks before and after every guest. We aim to offer a very high standard of maintenance and cleanliness and if you did find anything below this level of standard it will would be very unusual and will be followed up with our staff to ensures this never happens again. We have never had a customer comment on cleanliness before as we aim to provide the villas in the best possible condition.

3. In regards to laundry - We recommend the use of laundromats that are located all over the island, including laundromats located very nearby the villa that will clean and iron clothes for a very reasonable rate and very quickly.

4. The hot water systems run all day every day. Our hot water systems run on gas, so it is impossible for them to stop working at anytime. Just like in many places in the world, you do have to run the hot water tap for about 30 to 60 seconds for the hot water to come through the pipes and work. This is always explained to guests as part of the villa introduction on their arrival by the manager.

5. On our website we clearly do not recommend small children stay at Casas del Sol. Although we have had many families with small children stay with us without problem, although I always emphasise the situation of unfenced pools etc to prospective parents. The balustrade is low, however we have never had any problems or guest comments before.

Our villas are spacious and are suitable one couple or for groups of up to four. Some couples enjoy the space that the villas provide instead of being confined to a smaller hotel room. It all comes down to personal taste. The villa size is well detailed on our website and in the photos of our website. We do have different sized villas and we recommend some of our smaller villas for couples wanting a smaller space.

I always recommend that prospective guests research Koh Tao well, and I always provide very honest information about our villas before guests book with us. Koh Tao is an adventurous island and not for everyone. I always recommend that travelers who seek to have the same western conveniences that they have at home and who want 5 star resort services are better to book on the more overdeveloped island like Phuket or Samui.

Thank you again for your comments and I hope you enjoy your holidays in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2011

Firstly the photos do not do it justice. It is absolutely amazing, really takes your breath away.

The villas are big pimping, naturally we daddy macked out in the best one and it was so good that they had to drag me out. I mean they even had a magazine rack in the toilet- most entertaining bathroom breaks I've had in a while. We didn't cook cause frankly why should you, but the kitchen was sweet. Certainly made use of the martini glasses- sunsets were wild. The day bed is big enough you could fit a rugby team on it.

Shane who runs it is a top Irish lad. Really nice and genuine dude, and knew plenty of stuff which he was only to willing to share.

I'll definitely come back here.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheChrisGross
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Casasdelsol, Owner at Casas del Sol - Luxury Boutique Villas, responded to this review, 17 February 2012
Thanks for your review!
Always great to hear such fantastic feedback. The Villa of the Rising Sun where you stayed is definitely an indulgent villa - and we're glad to hear that you were entertained on your bathroom breaks! ;-)
We look forward to your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 31 October 2011

We arrived in Koh Tao and was greeted by friendly staff at the wharf for transfer to the villa. Shane met us there and took us in to show us the villa (We stayed ar the Rising Sun). The place blew us away - all the photos we had seen online did not do justice to how well the place was fitted out and the view you got from the balcony.

In short
- Shane was extremely helpful and hospitable - flexible with our needs but always ready with recommendations.
- buy your own breakfast stuff and drinks to keep but as it is a short ride into town, recommend getting out and about for the days snorkelling at different beaches and dinner in town.
- recommend making sure you are at the villa for sunset - best on island.
- fork a bit extra for a high cc quad bike to get around. Can got too, is safer and can easily get you to more remote parts of the island.

That's it - thanks again to the hosts who made the booking, traveling and accommodation so easy and relaxing. We will be back for sure.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eliselovestravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Casasdelsol, Owner at Casas del Sol - Luxury Boutique Villas, responded to this review, 17 February 2012
Thank you for your review!
Great to hear that you enjoyed your time at Casas del Sol and Koh Tao. Yes, the Villa of the Rising Sun is one of the most favourite villas among guests and is decked out with lots of extra comforts, as well as having sensational 180 degree views over Koh Tao, the open ocean and the neighbouring island of Koh Nangyuan.
Thanks again for taking the time to share your experiences and we hope to welcome you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Koh Tao hotels
0.3 mi away
Aminjirah Resort
Aminjirah Resort
#10 of 49 in Koh Tao
1,223 reviews
0.3 mi away
Monkey Flower Villas
Monkey Flower Villas
#2 of 49 in Koh Tao
333 reviews
3.3 mi away
Haadtien Beach Resort
Haadtien Beach Resort
#15 of 49 in Koh Tao
1,464 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Rocks Villas
The Rocks Villas
#9 of 49 in Koh Tao
229 reviews
3.3 mi away
Jamahkiri Resort & Spa
Jamahkiri Resort & Spa
#4 of 49 in Koh Tao
867 reviews
1.8 mi away
Koh Tao Heights Pool Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casas del Sol - Luxury Boutique Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casas del Sol - Luxury Boutique Villas

Property: Casas del Sol - Luxury Boutique Villas
Address: PO Box 70, Koh Tao 84360, Thailand (Formerly Casas del Sol)
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Koh Tao
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 139 Speciality Lodging in Koh Tao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With stunning views of the open ocean, island landscape and tropical sunsets, Casas del Sol are four individually designed boutique villas that offer serviced accommodation in an ideal location of Koh Tao that is both central and convenient yet private and tranquil. Each villa features understated luxury with a modern tropical design that offers plenty of relaxation space in which to turn off, tune in and chill out. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing