We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We could've stayed forever” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Casas del Sol - Luxury Boutique Villas

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Koh Tao
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Casas del Sol - Luxury Boutique Villas
Certificate of Excellence
Frederiksberg, Denmark
Level Contributor
5 reviews
“We could've stayed forever”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2012

Casas del Sol is fantastic! We stayed a family of four (parents and two boys (4 and 12 years) in Villa of the Full Moon. In general, we love to stay at quiet locations, and do not fancy big resorts. Therefore, Villa of the Full Moon was perfect for us. If daily cleaning service, petit fours on the bed pillow provided by afternoon room service and concierge is your preferred way of living, then don't stay at Casas del Sol. But if you love a location 2nd to none, excellent pre-arrival and on-site service provided by Christina and Patricia, stunning villas and breathtaking views, then do. There is a nice sea breeze at night, and combined with the big sliding doors the need for A/C in the living area obsolete.

We were picked up by taxa when arriving with the Lompraya ferry from Chumphon - complimentary. Lovely Patricia introduced us to the apartment and we were good to go. The road from Sairee beach is challenging, but that's the price you pay for staying in a quiet location. I would rather do that and then select when I want action and business than staying at a busy place and have to leave my apartment to find quietness. When you're on your own, taxis are 400 baht/one way to go to Sairee or Mae Haad. Relative expensive, but our only option having a 4 year old kid and a wife who doesn't want to drive a scoter or motorbike. Do hire a quad-bike if you want your own transportation, as it is the safest option. The smaller scooters will not be able to climb the road with two persons.

The apartment worked well with two kids. It is our responsibility to make sure the kids don't fly over the small wall and into the jungle or jump the 5 metres down from the swimming pool, and Christina did tell us beforehand, that some people don't like to bring kids because of the lack of safety fence and similar. For us, it was no issue at all. Just tell your kids to take care and have an eye on them ;)

Bao is a taxi driver, who runs a lot of services for Casas Del Sol, and whenever I called him he never took more than 5-10 minutes to show up. A great guy and very helpful. speaks English too ;)

The pictures on their website is 100% true, and if I ever to go Koh Tao again, I'll stay at Casas Del Sol.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jfravn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Casasdelsol, Owner at Casas del Sol - Luxury Boutique Villas, responded to this review, 12 August 2012
Thank you for your review!
I'm very happy that your family enjoyed your stay so much at our villa and that it was perfectly suited to your needs and wants. As you know, we go to great lengths to explain exactly to guests what to expect from our villas and Koh Tao before they make a reservation, so it's great to hear that our email correspondence and explanations were helpful and accurate for you.
We look forward to have you stay with us again in the future. ;-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    130
    21
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
27
84
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2012

It was an super great experience to stay with Casa Del Sol!

I have to say thanks again to Christina and Patrica for their perfect arrangement! They are really sincere and helpful since I did start to contact them on web until the last minute when we're checked out.

Living in Million Stars with a very high comments from my companions. We have a memorable holiday here with the up to trend interior design and the quality natural environment.

You will find all the villia's pictures on web are so realistic by your arrival. Space is one of the element makes me feeling relax here!


We will come again by next holiday!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank littlerocky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Casasdelsol, Owner at Casas del Sol - Luxury Boutique Villas, responded to this review, 26 July 2012
Thanks for taking the time to post about your experience at Casas del Sol. It is great to hear that you were very happy with the service and the Villa of a Million Stars.
We hope to have you back here in the future!
Safe Travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2012

After searching for accomodation in Koh Tao for our honeymoon, I wasnt loving any hotels/resorts I could find. Then I accidentally stumbled upon Casas del Sol and knew it was the perfect place! From teh first moment of being picked up from the port to arriving at our villa, the service was impeccable. I always get slightly nervous before opening the door to any accomodation praying in real life it looks exactly like it does in the pictures and Villa of Full Moon did not dissapoint. My husband was blown away, as was I. The view was to die for! The villa was beautiful in every possible way. So spacious and the value for money was second to none. The service provided by Christine, the owner/manager, about where to buy food, hire motorbikes and where not to do either was so helpful. We loved our little private sanctuary and would highly recommend to anyone travelling to Koh Tao who is looking for pure luxury and privacy! Love, love, love!

Room Tip: Villa of Full Moon was INCREDIBLE!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Courtney R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Casasdelsol, Owner at Casas del Sol - Luxury Boutique Villas, responded to this review, 2 June 2012
Thanks for the taking the time to write your review!
It always makes us feel great when we hear such positive feedback and to know that we helped you have a great honeymoon. ;-)
We are constantly trying to improve our villas and maintain a high standard that our guests expect, so your review makes me feel like we are achieving that.
Thanks again and we look forward to welcoming you back here in the future. ;-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2012

My partner and I stayed at 'Villa of the full mon' for 3 nights and after having travelled many destinations around the world, this would have to be my favourite for a variety of reasons. Privacy, location, 6 star accomodation and access to some of the most beautiful beaches in Thailand (by boat/ scooter or Quad)

As we walked through the front door the view took my breath away and the villa was just as stunning as the photos, if not better.

It was probably one of the most romantic places a couple could stay because if you dont want to wear clothing or swimwear, it wouldn't matter as no one can see...

An unbelievably magic sunset, your own private pool which stays the perfect temperature all the time and self-cleans, so your stay is undisturbed.

Amazing value to top it off! We will definately be returning and would recommend this as superb.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Angela M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Casasdelsol, Owner at Casas del Sol - Luxury Boutique Villas, responded to this review, 22 April 2012
Thanks for your review!
We always love to hear positive feedback! I am happy you enjoyed your time here so much, and I look forward to welcome you back again.
You know we will look after you! ;-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2012

We stayed in the full moon villa which was absolutely amazing. The privacy of the place allows you to have unobstructed views of the ocean. Must rent quad bikes to get there and bike as it's on a very steep hill. Fantastic owner who is very helpful and understands the needs of the guests.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DaveDutchTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Casasdelsol, Owner at Casas del Sol - Luxury Boutique Villas, responded to this review, 15 April 2012
Thanks for your review!
I am happy that you loved the Villa of the Full Moon and that you enjoyed your honeymoon here.
As you say, it is necessary to rent a bike or quad-bike to access our villas as we are located on a hillside and some sections of the paved road are moderately steep. This is information which I explain to all prospective guests so that they know what to expect.
Great that you were happy with our service and that I could be of help to you.
We hope to welcome you back in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham UK
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2012

A friend of mine had previously stayed at full moon villa, I had seen her photograph's and enquired where this beautiful place was!
I was due to go to Thailand to Celebrate my 40th Birthday with Thai and English friends, after seeing the picture decided it would be a real retreat to spend a few days at Villa of full moon after my party in Koh Phangan.

Christine's correspondence before and whilst at the villa were second to none!!! she was very friendly, yet professional and also added a very personal touch to all her emails.

The villa was stunning, with beautiful views,stunning interior! and the pool was just gorgeous!

My friend emailed Christine to ask if she could organise a bottle of Champagne and chocolates for me upon my arrival to the villa, and sure enough they were waiting for me when I arrived :-)

My stay in the Villa was wonderful and very relaxing, and being up in the hills it was very peaceful!

I'm not brave enough to ride a motor bike in Thailand even after spending 16 years visiting the country, So opted to take a taxi in to the town.
Bao our taxi driver is a great guy and great fun and always showed up at the villa in quick time to take myself and friend in to town!

I was sad to leave the Villa, and hope it won't be too long until my return.

My only objective critic is that there weren't any naked bar tenders to bring the champagne to the pool for myself and friend LOL, Christine assure's me this will be provided for me on my next visit ;-)
Thank you to Christine,Bao and Full moon Villa for making my stay so wonderful!! xxx

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank clairelouise_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Casasdelsol, Owner at Casas del Sol - Luxury Boutique Villas, responded to this review, 17 April 2012
Thanks for your review and for posting your photos!
I am very happy to hear that we could make your 40th Birthday even more special!
I will see what I can do about those bartenders next time you come and visit!! ;-)
See you back here soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Porsgrunn, Norway
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2012

We stayed a week at the "Villa of a million stars". The place is just as good as you might expect from looking at the pictures. Stunning view.

You need some sort of transportation staying here. The Honda Click (most common scooter for rent), was able to get two people up the steep hills, and could be rented for 150Bath per day.

Would not recommend this villa for small children.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MnM95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Casasdelsol, Owner at Casas del Sol - Luxury Boutique Villas, responded to this review, 16 March 2012
Thank you for your review!
Great to hear that your experience of our villas was fantastic and that they were exactly what you expected.

Yes, I do recommend to all prospective guests in my email correspondence that bike / quad bike rental is best when staying at our villas, which is also necessary for exploring the island, the beaches and hidden corners of Koh Tao.

As you point out, the villas are not recommended for small children, which is something we list on our website. There are various design features not suitable for small children such as an unfenced swimming pool, however we have had quite a few families with small children stay with us. I have briefed them thoroughly on the design safety features of the villas so they can make an informed decision and know what to expect when staying with us. To date, all families with small children have been very happy, however every family is different, and it does come down to the nature of the children themselves and the comfort levels of the parents.

Again, thank you for your feedback - we look forward to have you stay with us again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Koh Tao hotels
0.2 mi away
Aminjirah Resort
Aminjirah Resort
#9 of 49 in Koh Tao
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,169 reviews
0.0 mi away
Monkey Flower Villas
Monkey Flower Villas
#2 of 49 in Koh Tao
5.0 of 5 bubbles 319 reviews
3.0 mi away
Haadtien Beach Resort
Haadtien Beach Resort
#16 of 49 in Koh Tao
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,372 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Anankhira Villas
Anankhira Villas
#15 of 49 in Koh Tao
4.5 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
0.3 mi away
Koh Tao Cabana
Koh Tao Cabana
#11 of 135 in Koh Tao
4.0 of 5 bubbles 686 reviews
3.0 mi away
Jamahkiri Resort & Spa
Jamahkiri Resort & Spa
#4 of 49 in Koh Tao
4.5 of 5 bubbles 809 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casas del Sol - Luxury Boutique Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casas del Sol - Luxury Boutique Villas

Property: Casas del Sol - Luxury Boutique Villas
Address: PO Box 70, Koh Tao 84360, Thailand (Formerly Casas del Sol)
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Koh Tao
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 135 Speciality Lodging in Koh Tao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With stunning views of the open ocean, island landscape and tropical sunsets, Casas del Sol are five individually designed boutique villas that offer self-catered accommodation in an ideal location of Koh Tao that is both central and convenient yet private and tranquil. Each villa features understated luxury with a modern tropical design that offers plenty of relaxation space in which to turn off, tune in and chill out. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing