We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing property topped off with an amazing proposal!!!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Koh Tao
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Casas del Sol - Luxury Boutique Villas
Ranked #11 of 147 Speciality Lodging in Koh Tao
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 August 2012

My now ' fiancee' booked the villa of the rising sun for our trip to Koh Tao. The property is without doubt the most amazing place I have every stayed - every time we walked through the front door the view was as breath taking as the first time. Patricia our host was incredibly helpful and friendly and nothing was too much trouble.

Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Nicola W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Casasdelsol, Owner at Casas del Sol - Luxury Boutique Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2012

Thanks for your review and congratulations! ;-)
We love hearing that you thought the Villa of the Rising Sun was amazing, and even better, that you had an amazing proposal while you were here! ;-)
Best wishes for the future and we hope to welcome you both back here again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (168)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

105 - 111 of 168 reviews

Reviewed 12 August 2012

We found Casas Del Sol on tripadvisor, it's quite difficult to find on the site as it doesn't always show up when you search for accommodation (as it's a villa).

Christina was really helpful and there were lots of emails backwards and forwards regarding any queries to make sure there were no surprises! The only downside for me with the reservation was having to use paypal. This is a pain as paypal have alternative exchange rates and commissions to pay, so it was more expensive than it should have been. Bank transfers should be available.

When we arrived on Koh Tao we were greeted by a very friendly chap called Bao. He drove us to the villa and on arrival Patricia (blooming), was there to meet us with her husband Eneko (spelling?) Patricia showed us around what is without doubt a fabulous villa with the best view you will wish for.
When we arrived Casas Del Sol had just taken delivery of their quad bikes. Let's make this clear. You CANNOT walk to the villa unless you are looking for a serious workout in 35 degrees and 70% humidity. From reading previous reviews about the villa we too were concerned about it's location. The hill is at least a 45 degree incline and in a taxi is ten minutes. Taxis on Koh Tao are expensive and it's 400 Baht each way.
Let this review rest your concerns as the hill on the quad bike is no problem even if you have not ridden one before.
Hire the quad bikes! It's all the fun and then some, the deal Patricia gave was good and it's easy. In addition to which if you want to visit Ao Leuk beach, and you must!, then the quad will get you there and back with ease, a scooter will struggle as the "Road" isn't really a road at all.

We had no problems with the villa it was just divine, with some water waiting for us in the fridge on arrival. I have to say that Patricia and her hard working husband made sure they were always available for us if we had a problem, all very reassuring. The villa was well equipped with lots of towels, really comfy bed, dvd's to choose from etc..although no hair dryer. A couple of friendly Geckos kept the creepy crawleys at bay.

It was everything we had hoped for and more. A massive thanks to the Casos Del sol team and best wishes to Patricia and Eneko para el nino!!

Carol and John McGurk

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank c00c00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Casasdelsol, Owner at Casas del Sol - Luxury Boutique Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2012

Thanks for your detailed review.
As detailed in your review - the experience of Koh Tao is an adventure and we always explain to guests before they book that they will need to hire some form of transport when exploring Koh Tao and when accessing our villas - which is all part of the fun as you say!
Some guests actually do walk the hill up and down to and from our villas - but not during the hottest parts of the days - and it all depends on the choice and fitness of the people. However we do encourage renting transport as it is a far more comfortable choice and it also means that you have the independence to explore the rest of the island.
In regards to payment - PayPal is the only option available to us here in Thailand as it is secure, quick and reliable.
We are very happy to hear you had a great time with us and that we lived up to your expectations. We hope to welcome you back in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2012

Staying at the Villa of the Full Moon for four nights was a lovely way to end our Thai trip, if something of a contradiction. With the splendid views, the minimal, open floor plan, the functional, polished concrete floors and private seclusion the location allows, you could be forgiven for thinking this is going to cost a fortune.
This is not to say that there are no distractions to upset the idyllic setting. First off the location is not for everyone, it is some 10-15 min's up a lesser known road from Sairee Beach centre that may be a challenge for those less intrepid, especially at night or if you are trying to get up by moped or quad with two of you on board. Taxis therefore become necessary and on Koh Tao they are very expensive by Thai standards, and therefore limit how often you tend to leave the villa.
The other drawback is that this is also a relatively new part of Thailands tourist path so "normal" conveniences and amenities may not be available at all times. Water is limited on the island and should be used conservatively. Power is also limited, it can (and did) go off quite frequently. We were assured this was unusual and would be fixed and I have no reason to doubt that. Ants can be a problem if you are not thorough in cleaning up (remember you are essentially in the middle of a jungle). The low ledge on the balcony and steep drop down the side of the hill that the villas are built on also requires a degree of common sense and perhaps sobriety that may preclude small children from staying here.
All that aside, the spectacular views out across Koh Nangyuan alone are worthy of a stay at Casas del Sol and VOTFM. If you are looking for something out of the hubbub, raw but still with a degree of class on Koh Tao this may be what you're looking for.

Room Tip: Villa of the Full Moon probably has the pick of the views at Casas del Sol
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matthew S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Casasdelsol, Owner at Casas del Sol - Luxury Boutique Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2012

Thanks for your detailed review.
Great to hear that you thought we were great value for money and that the villa is splendid as you say.
Everything you detail in your review is outlined very clearly to prospective guests in our emails. We always hope that the guest making the reservation will pass on this information to their other friends who are staying with them.
Your comments about Koh Tao in general are very true - it is a hidden gem and and an adventurous destination in Thailand - it is not like the overdeveloped islands of Phuket and Samui. This is what makes Koh Tao such a desirable destination for many people. However we are only a very small island and all the locals are trying to create a sustainable environment in which there is enough water and reliable electricity. Our villas are wired to a private generator so that we provide the most reliable electricity on the island. The problem of the electricity cutting out several times during your stay was fixed immediately after your departure.
Most guests come to Koh Tao for adventure and so they embrace the fun of traveling around the island on bikes or quad-bikes. Our villas are only located 5 minutes by bike from the main town of Sairee which isn't far at all. The benefit of this is that our villas are lovely and quiet. Those resorts located in Sairee suffer from the noise of people and parties all night long. It all depends what you prefer.
We are happy that you enjoyed the spectacular views and the style of our villas.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2012

Casas del Sol is fantastic! We stayed a family of four (parents and two boys (4 and 12 years) in Villa of the Full Moon. In general, we love to stay at quiet locations, and do not fancy big resorts. Therefore, Villa of the Full Moon was perfect for us. If daily cleaning service, petit fours on the bed pillow provided by afternoon room service and concierge is your preferred way of living, then don't stay at Casas del Sol. But if you love a location 2nd to none, excellent pre-arrival and on-site service provided by Christina and Patricia, stunning villas and breathtaking views, then do. There is a nice sea breeze at night, and combined with the big sliding doors the need for A/C in the living area obsolete.

We were picked up by taxa when arriving with the Lompraya ferry from Chumphon - complimentary. Lovely Patricia introduced us to the apartment and we were good to go. The road from Sairee beach is challenging, but that's the price you pay for staying in a quiet location. I would rather do that and then select when I want action and business than staying at a busy place and have to leave my apartment to find quietness. When you're on your own, taxis are 400 baht/one way to go to Sairee or Mae Haad. Relative expensive, but our only option having a 4 year old kid and a wife who doesn't want to drive a scoter or motorbike. Do hire a quad-bike if you want your own transportation, as it is the safest option. The smaller scooters will not be able to climb the road with two persons.

The apartment worked well with two kids. It is our responsibility to make sure the kids don't fly over the small wall and into the jungle or jump the 5 metres down from the swimming pool, and Christina did tell us beforehand, that some people don't like to bring kids because of the lack of safety fence and similar. For us, it was no issue at all. Just tell your kids to take care and have an eye on them ;)

Bao is a taxi driver, who runs a lot of services for Casas Del Sol, and whenever I called him he never took more than 5-10 minutes to show up. A great guy and very helpful. speaks English too ;)

The pictures on their website is 100% true, and if I ever to go Koh Tao again, I'll stay at Casas Del Sol.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jfravn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Casasdelsol, Owner at Casas del Sol - Luxury Boutique Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2012

Thank you for your review!
I'm very happy that your family enjoyed your stay so much at our villa and that it was perfectly suited to your needs and wants. As you know, we go to great lengths to explain exactly to guests what to expect from our villas and Koh Tao before they make a reservation, so it's great to hear that our email correspondence and explanations were helpful and accurate for you.
We look forward to have you stay with us again in the future. ;-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2012

It was an super great experience to stay with Casa Del Sol!

I have to say thanks again to Christina and Patrica for their perfect arrangement! They are really sincere and helpful since I did start to contact them on web until the last minute when we're checked out.

Living in Million Stars with a very high comments from my companions. We have a memorable holiday here with the up to trend interior design and the quality natural environment.

You will find all the villia's pictures on web are so realistic by your arrival. Space is one of the element makes me feeling relax here!


We will come again by next holiday!

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank littlerocky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Casasdelsol, Owner at Casas del Sol - Luxury Boutique Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2012

Thanks for taking the time to post about your experience at Casas del Sol. It is great to hear that you were very happy with the service and the Villa of a Million Stars.
We hope to have you back here in the future!
Safe Travels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2012

After searching for accomodation in Koh Tao for our honeymoon, I wasnt loving any hotels/resorts I could find. Then I accidentally stumbled upon Casas del Sol and knew it was the perfect place! From teh first moment of being picked up from the port to arriving at our villa, the service was impeccable. I always get slightly nervous before opening the door to any accomodation praying in real life it looks exactly like it does in the pictures and Villa of Full Moon did not dissapoint. My husband was blown away, as was I. The view was to die for! The villa was beautiful in every possible way. So spacious and the value for money was second to none. The service provided by Christine, the owner/manager, about where to buy food, hire motorbikes and where not to do either was so helpful. We loved our little private sanctuary and would highly recommend to anyone travelling to Koh Tao who is looking for pure luxury and privacy! Love, love, love!

Room Tip: Villa of Full Moon was INCREDIBLE!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Courtney R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Casasdelsol, Owner at Casas del Sol - Luxury Boutique Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2012

Thanks for the taking the time to write your review!
It always makes us feel great when we hear such positive feedback and to know that we helped you have a great honeymoon. ;-)
We are constantly trying to improve our villas and maintain a high standard that our guests expect, so your review makes me feel like we are achieving that.
Thanks again and we look forward to welcoming you back here in the future. ;-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2012

My partner and I stayed at 'Villa of the full mon' for 3 nights and after having travelled many destinations around the world, this would have to be my favourite for a variety of reasons. Privacy, location, 6 star accomodation and access to some of the most beautiful beaches in Thailand (by boat/ scooter or Quad)

As we walked through the front door the view took my breath away and the villa was just as stunning as the photos, if not better.

It was probably one of the most romantic places a couple could stay because if you dont want to wear clothing or swimwear, it wouldn't matter as no one can see...

An unbelievably magic sunset, your own private pool which stays the perfect temperature all the time and self-cleans, so your stay is undisturbed.

Amazing value to top it off! We will definately be returning and would recommend this as superb.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Angela M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Casasdelsol, Owner at Casas del Sol - Luxury Boutique Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2012

Thanks for your review!
We always love to hear positive feedback! I am happy you enjoyed your time here so much, and I look forward to welcome you back again.
You know we will look after you! ;-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Koh Tao hotels
0.5 mi away
The Rocks Villas
The Rocks Villas
#10 of 50 in Koh Tao
239 reviews
3.3 mi away
Haadtien Beach Resort
Haadtien Beach Resort
#15 of 50 in Koh Tao
1,551 reviews
0.3 mi away
Aminjirah Resort
Aminjirah Resort
#11 of 50 in Koh Tao
1,274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Koh Tao Heights Pool Villas
3.3 mi away
Jamahkiri Resort & Spa
Jamahkiri Resort & Spa
#5 of 50 in Koh Tao
920 reviews
1.7 mi away
Naroua Villas
Naroua Villas
#16 of 147 in Koh Tao
39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casas del Sol - Luxury Boutique Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casas del Sol - Luxury Boutique Villas

Address: PO Box 70, Koh Tao 84360, Thailand (Formerly Casas del Sol)
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Koh Tao
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 147 Speciality Lodging in Koh Tao
Price Range: £121 - £219 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With stunning views of the open ocean, island landscape and tropical sunsets, Casas del Sol are four individually designed boutique villas that offer serviced accommodation in an ideal location of Koh Tao that is both central and convenient yet private and tranquil. Each villa features understated luxury with a modern tropical design that offers plenty of relaxation space in which to turn off, tune in and chill out. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing