We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“heaven on earth”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Koh Tao
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Casas del Sol - Luxury Boutique Villas
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“heaven on earth”
Reviewed 14 June 2013

clean, big, modern villas with outstanding views! Great place to stay. You can rent quad bikes directly from the villa owners which makes it safe and simple :) Will never forget our stay in Casas Del Sol and will do my best to go back soon :)

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kasiekok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Casasdelsol, Owner at Casas del Sol - Luxury Boutique Villas, responded to this review, 21 June 2013
Many thanks for your review!
We are very happy you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcome you back in the future. ;-)
Best wishes!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    132
    21
    5
    0
    0
See reviews for
27
86
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 June 2013

We arrived at Casas Del Sol 3 days after our wedding, and needed a quiet place to unwind and relax. The Villa was absolutely beautiful with 2 rooms and a stunning open plan lounge / kitchen / outdoor areal, well designed and it had all the add ons that made it special. We played our own music, made our own cocktails and enjoyed our own slice of paradise :)


We spent 3 days here, enjoying the island and surroundings, the view was lovely and we enjoyed the pool immensely in the evenings. We also hired a taxi when needed but got a scooter straight away - the hills are not for the faint hearted though - make sure you or your partner knows what they are doing! The location, up on the hill overlooking Sairee Beach and Ko Nangyuan is absolutely beautiful, if somewhat difficult to get to.

Sadly we do think a few simple extra's could make the stay that much more enjoyable - providing your guests with some coffee / tea would be nice, and a bottle of drinkable water would be nice in the fridge - especially seeing as you cannot drink the tap water. Having just come off a boat, we really just wanted to relax the moment we arrived and enjoy our villa - however we had to leave immediately to get water, and related. We do realise it is self catering, but this is a simple guest service that we have been offered always - or perhaps offer guests the option of shopping to be done for them before arrival?:) We really think that would be a big plus.
One last point, the pool is cleaned weekly, so it means the water is screaming of chemicals, we found it a tad irritable and a downside to what could have been a perfect place.
We would definately come back, but do feel there are just as many luxury style places you can enjoy that offer the same or more for your buck - however if you want privacy and a beautiful villa to unwind in - this is a perfect option.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tarryn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Casasdelsol, Owner at Casas del Sol - Luxury Boutique Villas, responded to this review, 20 June 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are very happy to know that you enjoyed part of your honeymoon at our villas.

I do have to apologise if you did not receive your complimentary bottles of water in the fridge upon your arrival. We always provide guests with a supply of cold water in the fridge upon their arrival, along with various other supplies such as body soap in the bathroom and dishwashing supplies in the kitchen and so on. I wish you had mentioned something to my manager as she would have happily provided you with the cold water which our housekeeping staff should have provided you with.

In regards to the swimming pool - the pool is actually cleaned automatically yet silently twice per day - several hours in the morning and several hours in the afternoon - by the pool cleaning unit (that is actually visible in the photos on our website). In addition to this the pool is then cleaned once every three days by staff along with the complimentary housecleaning services. I agree with you that a pool that has too many chemicals is horrible, which is why we keep our chemicals low and continually clean the pools. If you felt that the chemicals were too high, we could have fixed this for you, if only you had mentioned this to the manager who would have been very happy to help. Our management staff are always available to any guest for anything they require at anytime.

I feel that during your stay the few minor details that you felt were lacking were omissions by my staff that we will look into and I apologise that this happened. However as you point out we are semi self-catered villas, which we clearly state on our website and in all email communications; this means that we do provide limited services and supplies in order for guests to have their privacy and tranquility in a private villa on the island. Thus if guests are looking for resort services with daily housekeeping and food room service then we do recommend that guests look into staying at a resort.

We have had many happy guests to date who have been looking to stay in a private villa and thus have been very happy with the high standards of our villas and services that we have provided.
Best wishes for your future travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2013

Casas del Sol is perfect place for nice relaxing holiday. Natalia the manager was very helpful and she gave us perfect guide on arrival. She is also great host and nothing is too much to ask.
We stayed in Villa of Green Palms with two bedrooms, large living room and swimming pool, which was just perfect for us with only few steps away from the road. As a group of three we had enough space and we couldn’t ask for more. Modern design, beautifully view and peaceful jungle surrounding made our stay amazing and very relaxing.
Villa is only few minutes away from the Sairee Village in walk able distance, but with steep roads so renting a quad bike or scooter would be highly recommended. Taxis from and to the villa are also available – Best Regards for Mr. Bao who was our driver for most of the time. We also hired quad bikes from the Villa, they are great fun and safer/easier option for inexperience drivers, also great way to discover the Island.
Long story short we had great time and we would love to comeback for more :)

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dynys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Casasdelsol, Owner at Casas del Sol - Luxury Boutique Villas, responded to this review, 18 April 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review about your stay at Casas del Sol.
We love to hear that you enjoyed your stay at our villas and on Koh Tao!
We look forward to welcome you back in the future.
Best wishes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2013

From the moment we stepped into the Villa of the Rising Sun we were amazed!! The views are unbelievable and the villa itself is gorgeous. The photos on the website don't do this villa and the views justice - it is far better in person.
My husband, myself and a friend stayed here for 5 nights in March and the stay was the absolute best stay of our trip (and we did spend a lot more money to stay in 5 star resorts on Samui and in Bangkok which were no where near as good as this villa). The villa is huge, with the largest day-bed I have ever seen. We spent many hours lounging on this day-bed with the views, and jumping in the pool.
Everything explained to us prior to our stay was accurate. We knew exactly what to expect in regards to the road coming up the hillside to the villas, and to be honest, after one trip on a scooter with my husband we found it no problem at all and actually lots of fun. You don't get these views anywhere else on the island, and you definitely won't get these views without having to drive up a hill.
Natalia the manager was welcoming and warm! She greeted us on our arrival and was always available when we had questions and provided lots of helpful local info about the island.
We much preferred to stay in a private villa and have our own privacy and comforts of home. By far, this was the most relaxing and stylish stay during our trip to Thailand. I will be recommending this villa to anyone going to Thailand!

Room Tip: The Villa of the Rising Sun is amazing! However I am sure the other different villas are also just a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sparkerL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Casasdelsol, Owner at Casas del Sol - Luxury Boutique Villas, responded to this review, 10 April 2013
Thank you very much for your review!
We are very happy to know that you enjoyed your stay at Casas del Sol. All our villas are unique and gorgeous, however the Villa of the Rising Sun is our largest and most indulgent villa and it is great that you loved it so much.
We look forward to welcome you back in the future!
Best wishes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Balmain, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 April 2013

A group of us stayed at the Villas of the Rising Sun and Green Palm for 5 nights. The villas are in great condition with much care given to materials, design and decoration. The location, up on the hill overlooking Sairee Beach and Ko Nangyuan is absolutely beautiful, if somewhat difficult to get to. You will need to either depend on taxis or renting a quad or scooter to get to and from the town. The villas are all quite large, adding to the airy scenery.

We enjoyed the air conditioning in the bedrooms to assist with sleeping, and made frequent use of the villa's private pool.

Natalia, the current property supervisor, was quick to respond to issues, and helpful in recommendations and check-in/check-out.

While certainly more expensive than other options on Ko Tao, this is a good luxury option, delivering great valued for your travel dollar.

Would recommend to a friend!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Casasdelsol, Owner at Casas del Sol - Luxury Boutique Villas, responded to this review, 9 April 2013
Thank you for your review.
It is great to hear that you thought that Casas del Sol villas are great value for money and well-maintained.

The access to our villas is up a hillside as is well detailed in these reviews and in all email correspondence with guests. However we are only located 5 minutes by bike away from the main town of Sairee, so you are close but far enough to have privacy and tranquility. Most find the bike / quad-bike ride up the hill not difficult as it is definitely one of the better roads on Koh Tao.

Our manager has great attention to detail and is very service-orientated. As we explain prior to guest reservations and on our website, Casas del Sol are self-catered villas, so we offer all the comforts you require as well as the privacy of your own home. Although we do offer twice weekly complimentary housekeeping services (pending length of stay), and our manager is always available for help, advice and recommendations.

Best wishes on your future travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
177 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2013

The most amazing experience we had in Thailand! We tried villas for the first time over hotels/ resorts and will not be looking back, Casas Del Sol was an amazing experience, one we hope we will enjoy again in the close future.
Natalia the manager was fantastic, always going above and beyond what is required and made sure we had everything we needed! Thank you Natalia!!!!
We loved the adventure of getting to our villa every night on our 125cc scooter and we loved the fact we had the entire island to choose from for breakfast, lunch and dinners - although we did stay in for dinner on so many nights as the view is so amazing - you don't want to miss the sunset from the deck!
We loved the location, it was perfect for what we wanted!
The interior of the villa was beautiful!
We didn't want to leave and could have moved into the villa to stay permantley!
Thank you for making our trip so amazing!!!

Room Tip: Just stay at Casas Del Sol! it's amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nicky m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Casasdelsol, Owner at Casas del Sol - Luxury Boutique Villas, responded to this review, 9 April 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review.
Great to hear that you had such a fantastic time at our villa! It sounds like you definitely embraced the adventure of Koh Tao and appreciated the nature of the island. The sunset views are definitely one of a kind from our villas.
We hope to welcome you back in the future!
Best wishes! ;-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2013 via mobile

What a beautiful spot. We visited Koh Tao a few years ago and loved the pristine and peaceful island, but now the main strip is becoming more and more developed and with tourists arriving by the boatload, this little corner in Koh Tao was exactly what we needed to remind ourselves of this island's charms. Stunning views, your own privacy, great rooms and design finishes, and easy getting to and from the action of the main strip. Could not picture a better place to stay in Koh Tao. English speaking staff was extremely helpful too.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emma L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Casasdelsol, Owner at Casas del Sol - Luxury Boutique Villas, responded to this review, 9 April 2013
Thank you for your review!
Yes, the main town of Sairee has definitely become a busy little strip. Casas del Sol located 5 minutes bike ride from town up a hillside means that we offer a quiet private sanctuary for those who want to be away but not too far from the busy-ness and buzz.
We hope you return to Koh Tao again in the future and we would be very happy to welcome you back at Casas del Sol.
Best wishes!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Koh Tao hotels
0.3 mi away
Aminjirah Resort
Aminjirah Resort
#10 of 49 in Koh Tao
1,214 reviews
0.3 mi away
Monkey Flower Villas
Monkey Flower Villas
#2 of 49 in Koh Tao
328 reviews
3.3 mi away
Haadtien Beach Resort
Haadtien Beach Resort
#15 of 49 in Koh Tao
1,437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
The Tarna Align Resort
The Tarna Align Resort
#13 of 49 in Koh Tao
220 reviews
3.3 mi away
Jamahkiri Resort & Spa
Jamahkiri Resort & Spa
#4 of 49 in Koh Tao
849 reviews
1.8 mi away
Koh Tao Heights Pool Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casas del Sol - Luxury Boutique Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casas del Sol - Luxury Boutique Villas

Property: Casas del Sol - Luxury Boutique Villas
Address: PO Box 70, Koh Tao 84360, Thailand (Formerly Casas del Sol)
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Koh Tao
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 139 Speciality Lodging in Koh Tao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With stunning views of the open ocean, island landscape and tropical sunsets, Casas del Sol are four individually designed boutique villas that offer serviced accommodation in an ideal location of Koh Tao that is both central and convenient yet private and tranquil. Each villa features understated luxury with a modern tropical design that offers plenty of relaxation space in which to turn off, tune in and chill out. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing