We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“As good as last time!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Koh Tao
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Casas del Sol - Luxury Boutique Villas
Ranked #11 of 147 Speciality Lodging in Koh Tao
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 March 2014

This is the second time that we stayed at Casas del Sol, this time in the Villa of a Million Stars. The quality of the accommodations was as excellent as last year and we only have praise for Natalia, the manager, and her team, who respond quickly and efficiently, to any minor problem or request.

Compared with the Villa of the Green Palms where we stayed last year, the house was bigger, airier, with an even better view and with many more steps to climb! We all got our daily dose of cardiovascular exercise going up and down those cursed steps!

This year there was a serious water shortage in Koh Tao, so showers were brief but still hot and the air conditioning worked perfectly in the sultry heat.

Mr Bao and his team of drivers, Mr Mon and Mr Pon, took care of us when we were too exhausted to make the punishing 30 minute walk up from Sairee. Even though the taxi ride for 4 costs 400 baht, that is better than risking a serious accident on flimsy unreliable motorcycles (for only slightly less money per day).

We are already planning our return to Casas del Sol next year.........

If I had to make some suggestions to Natalia and Cristina to make Casas del Sol even better, it would be the following:
1) in the bigger houses, offering the possiblity of sleeping 6 or 8 people, even at a higher rate would be a distinct advantage.
2) provide the following items in addition to the current equipment: a draining board for drying crockery, an extra dishcloth, a hairdrier.
3)offer a grocery service on arrival for a limited range of preselected basic items for people to get started so they don't have to spend their first day in the local supermarket.

We loved our stay and plan to be back several times again.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank Francine L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Casasdelsol, Owner at Casas del Sol - Luxury Boutique Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2014

Thank you for your review and we were very happy to welcome you back for your second stay with us! :-)

We always welcome suggestions and have often included new ideas and changes as we have listened to our guests. We will definitely look into putting a draining board and an extra dishcloth in the villas - some of our villas feature a draining board in the kitchen already, however we will look to ensure that all villas feature this.

In regards to the hairdryer - our Manager has a Villa hairdryer ready to offer to guests whenever they need it! You only have to ask. :-)

We have limited our maximum occupancy to 4 guests per villa since we they are all 2 bedroom villas with facilities to sleep 4 people. We want to keep our villas exclusive and boutique, which is why we don't allow additional guests to sleep on the daybed.

In regards to the grocery service - we are self-catered villas, which means that we can offer a secluded getaway for those wanting privacy and peace within the comforts of a luxury home and for a reasonable rate. This means that such additional services are not possible to offer. The main supermarket is only located 5 minutes by bike from the villa, and so it is easy to buy and replenish supplies when needed.

Thanks again for your comments and review - we look forward to welcome you back again! :-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (168)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

57 - 63 of 168 reviews

Reviewed 21 February 2014

We have recently returned from a 3 night stay at Villa of Green Palms at Casas del Sol and are already planning our return…..a complete sanctuary up in the hills away from the crowds with the most amazing views!! Natalia was super helpful and on hand should you have any queries / issues….I cannot imagine what issues you could have to be honest! It is laid back luxury the villa exceeded our expectations. We spent most of our trip on Samui which has its special spots however next trip we will dedicate more time to Koh Tao as it has a lot of unspoilt beauty to explore. The Quad bike was so much fun! and we felt safer on 4 wheels than a scooter but everyone gets around on scooters….close enough to to the town of Sairee for convenience but once up at the villa you feel a million miles away, wonderful! You're a lucky lady Natalia! See you again!! JM and Tricia

Room Tip: We stayed in Villa of Green Palms which I believe is the smallest villa, all villas have amazing 180...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LobrysSurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Casasdelsol, Owner at Casas del Sol - Luxury Boutique Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2014

Sounds like you had a great time at Casas del Sol and on Koh Tao! Great to know and thanks so much for taking the time to write a review. :-)
We look forward to welcome you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2014

we stayed at the villa of green palms for 4 nights and had a really great time. the villa looks exactly as on the pictures and the view from the terrace is simply amazing! we enjoyed the location, since it is in a more quiet area of koh tao. we did not rent a scooter but still it was absolutely ok to walk to sairee beach (20min) and take a taxi back. there is a possibility to rent a quad directly at the villa, which we did to go around the island, which was also a great option. you get a free transport from/to the pier and the manager Natalia informed us about everything we needed to know before our arrival and was also a great support during our stay!

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank julia h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Casasdelsol, Owner at Casas del Sol - Luxury Boutique Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 15 February 2014

Thanks for your review!
We love to hear from another happy guest. :-)
We agree, walking down the hill to Sairee is definitely possible (pending personal preference and level of fitness), however it is best to catch a taxi back up the hill. Although we do recommend that guests hire a bike or quad when staying with us.
We are happy to know that the service and information provided to you before and during your stay was helpful and informative.
We hope to welcome you back in the future. :-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2014

Just in short: We really liked the Villa of the Full Moon and would stay there of course again.

The manager Natalia is a warm and helpful person and her service and reachability is great. The view of the Villa is like shown on postcards. :)

As described, the walk to the beach or to the next town is possible, but you should rent an ATV or a motorbike or use taxi. The Taxi is really too expensive, because the drivers on the iland knows about the hills and the walk up to the villa. So calculate the additional costs for ATV or motorbike. I am really fit, the walk up the hill is only fun for three or for times. :)

Yesterday arrived at home and missing the Villa so much. Thx for the great time, it was amazing!

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank Torsten S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Casasdelsol, Owner at Casas del Sol - Luxury Boutique Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 11 February 2014

Thanks for taking the time to write a review.
We are very happy to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and our service, and we look forward to welcome you back!
Best wishes! :-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2014

We stayed fro 2 weeks last year, and I still cannot forget this amazing place. The villas are clean, modern and with spectacular views. We stayed in The Villa of The Full Moon, and our friends at the Villa of The Rising Sun. Both villas are to die for. The only thing is that the villas are located up a windy hill, which is a joy to ride on a bike if you are comfortable riding and have experience with riding bikes in Thailand. It is not walkable from the main town, but taxis are available. To get the amazing views like these its kinda vital to be up the hill :) Loved every moment of it, and already saving my pennies for the next holiday in Casas del Sol.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank scubaluba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Casasdelsol, Owner at Casas del Sol - Luxury Boutique Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 11 February 2014

Thanks for your review for both our villas - the Villa of the Full Moon and the Villa of the Rising Sun.
We are very happy to know that you loved both villas and yes we agree and always recommend that guests rent a bike or quad-bike when staying with us in order to access our villas (and the view!) and explore Koh Tao.
We look forward to welcome you back! :-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2014

All I can say this villa was WOW! They are absoutely stunning, elegant and beauitful. Unlike most places, the villa was exactly like the photos from the website. Actually - even better! I don't think there are words to discribe the moment you see the view for the first time.

My boyfriend and I stayed in the Full Moon villas over december and it just magical. The view from the balacony was incrediable & breathtaking! We had such an amazing time & left feeling so relaxed.

The Manager, Natalia, was so great to deal with. She answered all my silly questions so fast and was there to great us and welcome us when we arrived.

We definitely can't wait to come back. It was such a perfect holiday and I couldn't recommend these villas enough!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Samme88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Casasdelsol, Owner at Casas del Sol - Luxury Boutique Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 11 February 2014

Thanks for writing a review!
We are very happy to know that you enjoyed your stay with us! :-)
We look forward to welcome you back.
Best wishes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2014

My fiancé and I absolutely loved our stay at the villa of the full moon at Casas del Sol. We stayed here for 4 nights in early December 2013 and wished we could have stayed longer. It is a very spacious villa with breathtaking views. Sunset from the balcony is magical and we made sure to make use of the pool every day. Definitely hire a 4 wheeler or scooter to get around town and discover the island. We found the manager Natalia to be very friendly and helpful as she gave us a a lot of great which made our stay more enjoyable. We'd love to go back to Koh Tao and will be staying at Casas del Sol when we do. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trish A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Casasdelsol, Owner at Casas del Sol - Luxury Boutique Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2014

Thank you so much for your review.
We are very happy to know that you loved your stay at Casas del Sol. :-)
We also love the views and incredible sunsets that can be seen from our villas and we are happy that you enjoyed them too.
We look forward to welcome you back! :-)
Best wishes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Koh Tao hotels
0.5 mi away
The Rocks Villas
The Rocks Villas
#10 of 50 in Koh Tao
239 reviews
3.3 mi away
Haadtien Beach Resort
Haadtien Beach Resort
#15 of 50 in Koh Tao
1,551 reviews
0.3 mi away
Aminjirah Resort
Aminjirah Resort
#11 of 50 in Koh Tao
1,274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Koh Tao Heights Pool Villas
3.3 mi away
Jamahkiri Resort & Spa
Jamahkiri Resort & Spa
#5 of 50 in Koh Tao
920 reviews
1.7 mi away
Naroua Villas
Naroua Villas
#16 of 147 in Koh Tao
39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casas del Sol - Luxury Boutique Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casas del Sol - Luxury Boutique Villas

Address: PO Box 70, Koh Tao 84360, Thailand (Formerly Casas del Sol)
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Koh Tao
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 147 Speciality Lodging in Koh Tao
Price Range: £121 - £219 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With stunning views of the open ocean, island landscape and tropical sunsets, Casas del Sol are four individually designed boutique villas that offer serviced accommodation in an ideal location of Koh Tao that is both central and convenient yet private and tranquil. Each villa features understated luxury with a modern tropical design that offers plenty of relaxation space in which to turn off, tune in and chill out. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing