We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good but very busy”
Review of Porto Bello Bistro

Porto Bello Bistro
Ranked #21 of 183 Restaurants in Koh Tao
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Good but very busy”
Reviewed 11 August 2014 via mobile

This restaurants location is in the walking street og Sairee Beach. We got the last table. The waiter was very busy and therefore didn't have time for welcoming us in the right way. We ordered two pizzas, one calzone and one with parm ham and rocket salat. The Calzone was average-good. The parma ham one was exelent. My recomendation is to be there in hours where the restaurant is not completely full. It's not a candle-dinner restaurant. But the food is good.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank PeterHansen74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

797 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    410
    241
    73
    38
    35
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leiden
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Delicious”
Reviewed 7 August 2014

Very trendy restaurant, always busy! You can make a reservation when coming with a group, otherwise it will be hard to get a table. The antipasti starter plate for 2 is truly amazing!!! Great pizza as well.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Rvd24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
1 review
“Awful service and had to wait too long for the food. Waste of time and money!!!”
Reviewed 6 August 2014

We waited over an hour after ordering for our waiter to inform us they did not have bolognese sauce (not sure what Italian restaurant runs out of bolognese sauce)! So my partner changed his order to a pizza. After waiting another 40 minutes our food came and my partners pizza was not what he ordered. Our waiter was extremely rude and unpleasant from the beginning. There was no apology for our wait or the wrong food. I would not recommend going here! Waste of time and money!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jspence93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Very poor”
Reviewed 6 August 2014

We opted for a change from thai food and what a mistake we made. The place looks busy but don't be fooled. Service is terrible, we were not even greeted or shown to a table, it was just a casual glance to a vacant table as if to point for us to sit down over there. No one approached us to take our order, we had to actually call someone over. We ordered bruschetta, garlic bread, lasagna and a pizza..... All were abysmal. Bruschetta was the best of a bad selection, everything was tasteless. Luckily there was no service charge and we didn't feel the food or staff deserved a tip. Disappointing.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank leewalton007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leigh on sea
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Favourite resturant on the island ”
Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

This was our favourite resturant during our time in Ko Tao. The Brie starter is incredible well worth a try, me and my friends loved the different pastas.

The owner was very helpful not just with the food but also with advice about Thailand.

A great resturant if you want something other than Thai food :)

Helpful?
Thank Hollyk93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Porto Bello Bistro also viewed

Koh Tao, Surat Thani Province
Koh Tao, Surat Thani Province
 
Koh Tao, Surat Thani Province
Koh Tao, Surat Thani Province
 
Koh Tao, Surat Thani Province
Koh Tao, Surat Thani Province
 

Been to Porto Bello Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing