We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Pinnacle Koh Tao Resort
Ranked #22 of 50 Hotels in Koh Tao
Reviewed 11 November 2012

We had a great stay here and it was the highlight of our honeymoon!
We were picked up from the pier and after a slightly scary 4WD ride we came to this beautiful location.
We stayed in a hotel room at the top of the resort. The room was spacious, bathroom nice and it opened onto a balcony with sun loungers and the most amazing view possible. It was really good value for money.
Being so far up the hill, it was a steep and sweaty walk back up in 30 plus degrees but it was great exercise and although I was too proud to ask for one, there was a golf cart if you really wanted transport. There were also torches in the rooms so if you went out at night, you could see down paths, to the beach/ next bay etc.
The restaurant was expensive but the staff were nice and the food was good. I got a free massage voucher on arrival and the woman hurt her hand so I was offered a free dinner at the restaurant instead which was lovely. The breakfast were ample and delicious. Best of our holiday by far.
The pool was beautiful and it was so nice lying on the loungers and looking out at the sea and spotting turtles.
There was good snorkelling right off the beach. Although there was a lot of dead coral, there was some regenerating and there were loads of fish, clams, christmas tree worms to be seen. I even saw a cuttlefish!
We also went to the resort next door (can also book from pinnacle) and went on a snorkelling trip on a longtail boat around the island. A great experience.
To the person who reviewed Pinnacle on October 31st or anyone who reads it and will be swayed by what they said, I would dissagree that its just for old people who want to lounge around all day (but if you want to go to nightclubs, don't stay here).
We are young and stayed here for 4 nights. The walking up and down the hills was certainly active! There was the beach right there to swim and snorkel. And, the people who reviewed it may not have noticed but there was a track (about a 5-10min walk) to the next door bay. Here there were a few more resorts, a large long bay for walking, heaps of waterfront bars and restaurants and lots of people. We went there most days and in the evenings for dinner/drinks. From here I think it would be relatively easy to get to town and you could probably access pinnacle from this bay if you wanted to motorbike. There is a small superette right next to the resort. It is also really easy to get longtail boats anywhere and I don't know why you would want to go to town everyday anyway when you are staying at such an idyllic location.
Although, we couldn't always find the staff (which was occasionally frustrating given the climbing involved to get anywhere/heat), we found staff to be really friendly and helpful and the manager was eager to keep us happy and cared about our opinions.
I would definitely reccommend this resort to anyone and I would love to go back one day.

Room Tip: If you don't mind steep climbs, the hotel rooms at the top offer brilliant views but if you pref...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
33  Thank NZKate_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (522)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

250 - 256 of 522 reviews

Reviewed 10 November 2012

we had a really good time at this resort and the staff have taken good care of our family. The resort was offering a good discount during this low season so it was also a good value for money.
near by they also have a few resturant that you can eat but the quality was not as good.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
32  Thank heinberg m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2012

Upon seeing pictures we were taken back, the scenery is gorgeous, the bungalows lovely too and booked a superior bungalow, nice in size and layout, more expensive than we would normally pay but it was lovely on reviews.

We got picked up in a 4x4 from the port and the journey to the resort explained why. Once turning off the main road for the 1.5km trip up hill to the site it was clear that only mountain goats and 4x4 drivers could make this tripconsisting of some of the most extreme road inclines you could imagine.

Once on the resort not much changes, its all very steep needing to call reception to send a car to get you or be soaked in sweat from the climb.

Once at reception the cost to town is a shocking 200 baht per person per journey, so a weeks stay will cost your average couple an extra £80 for a five day just in transport costs.

When you approach the staff they merely shrug there shoulders when there is no night manager available to talk to.

We paid £320 to stay here for 6 nights and if we get a refund we won't be staying the duration, i sure as hell would not recommend this to anyone who enjoys seeing a place as there is nothing here for miles unless you part with even more hard earned cash. Great if sitting on site is your thing however, being under 60 and active it would be nice to get out and about without crippling your budget on transport as there is no way any scooter you hire would make it up those hills.

Avoid at all costs

A very unhappy, dissatisfied traveller!

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank L1saHizzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels-Resorts P, Guest Relations Manager at Pinnacle Koh Tao Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2012

Dear L1saHizzy

Thank you for taking the time to write a valuable review on our resort. We appreciate your willingness to share your experiences with us and regret to hear that your stay with us was not satisfactory.

In order to provide our guests with the fantastic view over the sea the resort had to be built on a hillside. As a result there are indeed steep hills and steps within the resort, however as you mention, we do offer a free convenient shuttle around the resort. Many of our guests are very satisfied with the setting and find the experience of staying at Pinnacle Koh Tao Dive Resort a highly memorable one.

Again, we are sorry to hear that your trip did not meet your expectations and we wish you a pleasant onwards journey.

Sincerely,
Guest Relations, Pinnacle Koh Tao Dive Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2012

We have been here several times and stayed at vaious small locally run resorts. This resort establishes new standard of hotel here with amazing location that you can view the beautiful sea of southern Thailand. The room meets international standard, services is excellent but the staff can still improve their English. One note: make sure you and your friend are healthy to go up and down the hill even thouhg they have a shuttle bus for you to move around.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
31  Thank Joe s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2012

Iy you really want to view the sea from the Gulf and its amazing sunset in the evening, come to this resort. The way they build this resort you can witness the sea view from the morning till sunset. Great location but make sure you are health to go up and down the hilly terrain even though they have a shuttle to take you around. night life is about 15 minutes away. great resort at reasonable price and a lot cheaper than those in Samui and Phuket.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
30  Thank michael s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2012

We found this resort fassinate with the sea view and sits on top of a hill over looking the sea. It is a couple who wants privacy. The night life and other local resturants is about 10 min.ride. The room is brand new and still in a very good condition. The management and staff are very friendly. The buffet breakfast is exceptional and plentyful.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
33  Thank nicklas w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2012

We found this resort in Koh Tao to be a real good value for the money. The property is only 15 minutes away from the pier, located in a nice quiet environment, comfortable room, and good food. The staff can barely speak English but were very helpful. The view of the sea from our own balcony was just stunning. we can just swim and snorkeling right infront of the resort.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
34  Thank Aleski E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Koh Tao hotels
2.9 mi away
Aminjirah Resort
Aminjirah Resort
#10 of 50 in Koh Tao
1,323 reviews
2.4 mi away
Koh Tao Simple Life Resort
1 mi away
Sensi Paradise
Sensi Paradise
#9 of 50 in Koh Tao
1,314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Charm Churee Villa
Charm Churee Villa
#19 of 50 in Koh Tao
980 reviews
1.9 mi away
Ban's Diving Resort
Ban's Diving Resort
#7 of 50 in Koh Tao
2,468 reviews
0.9 mi away
Jamahkiri Resort & Spa
Jamahkiri Resort & Spa
#4 of 50 in Koh Tao
953 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pinnacle Koh Tao Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pinnacle Koh Tao Resort

Address: 26/20 Moo 3, Koh Tao 84280, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Koh Tao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 50 Hotels in Koh Tao
Price Range: £33 - £64 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Pinnacle Koh Tao Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pinnacle Koh Tao Dive Resort provides an island escape for the true leisure traveler and dive aficionado. Spend your days exploring the beautiful world underwater either snorkeling, or diving with our state-of-the-art dive school located within the Resort premises. Watch a spectacular sundown from the lounge bed on your room balcony, each of which provides unblocked panoramic view of the Gulf of Thailand. Our resort is located on the hidden-away June Jeau Beach and features Restaurant, Bar, BBQ Terrace and Pool, allowing you to experience true relaxation under the world famous Thai hospitality. Should you wish to explore the nightlife of Koh Tao, we offer a free drop-off service to the pier every evening. We also provide a golf cart shuttle service within the resort. All our rooms are fully equipped with mini bar, LCD flat screen television, refrigerator and air conditioning. We also offer room service and tours. Guests will find that this service-oriented resort with superb facilities and amenities provides excellent value. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Pinnacle Koh Tao Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing