We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not as good as we expected”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Pinnacle Koh Tao Resort
Ranked #23 of 49 Hotels in Koh Tao
Reviewed 1 May 2013

We stayed in the Pinnacle resort at the beginning of April. Once we arrived in Koh Toa we were picked up by the resort representative which was a nice surprise. The view from the hotel is amazing as its overlooking the ocean. We then checked into our room and to our surprise our view was overlooking waste land and we could only barely get a glimpse of the sea. We then went to the reception and we found the lady in reception very unhelpful. She grunted at us when we requested to be moved and was very unapproachable throughout our stay. We spoke with an English speaking worker there and he eventually got us a room with a nicer view. On that evening we found out that the hotel was picking up hotel guests in the town at 8PM so we were hoping to catch a lift in with them. When we called down to reception at 7:30PM we were told that the shuttle service had left and we would have to pay if we wanted to go in the town. We decided that we would go, but when we got in town the worker who dropped us off drove around the corner and was in fact collecting guests so they had clearly lied to us just to make an extra few Baht. We spoke to reception the next day about this and the English speaking worker eventually told us that they wouldn't be charging us and apologised for the taxi driver. The hotel is nice but I feel its very overpriced for its location and the lady in reception was extremely unhelpful. I would not recommend staying here.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Gary1984_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels-Resorts P, Guest Relations Manager at Pinnacle Koh Tao Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2013

Dear Gary,

Thank you for staying at Pinnacle Koh Tao Dive Resort and we apologize if your stay was not as enjoyable as you hoped.
I can only apologize for the receptionist's behavior and lack of flexibility. The person that you have mentioned does not have the best English skills therefore I think her attitude came across worse than she intended. I can say that she is no longer part of the Pinnacle team at the moment. We are looking to offer better customer service therefore we have employed better qualified staff in reception with better English skills. I am happy to hear that the English speaker in the reception managed to assist and help you change room.
With regards to the shuttle service we advise our guests to book the below timings as they are free of charge.:08:30am, 12:00noon, 18:00pm and one return from pier only at 20:00pm. Any other timings are chargeable. I understand that you went to the pier at 19:30pm and you used our shuttle. We normally use our contracted taxi driver for the pick up at 20:00pm therefore we do not send the car from the hotel as the taxi is already at the pier. On this occasion and because of your booking we have asked our driver to do the pick up as well since he was there already. I do apologize if this was not explained clearly to you but I am happy that my colleague apologized next day and did not charge you in the end.
Many of our guests love the location of the hotel as it offers the privacy they need and being on a high hill gives us the amazing views that you have mentioned.
Thank you again for your comments and I do hope you will give us a second chance to prove that we are working hard at improving our guest's experience.

Best regards,
Joanna
Pinnacle Koh Tao Dive Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (507)
There are newer reviews for Pinnacle Koh Tao Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

209 - 215 of 508 reviews

Reviewed 30 April 2013

This is a resort that looks much better in reality than in the photos on the websites. The bungalows, the garden, the pool and even the restaurant looks much better. We were very happy with our choice. The breakfast was good and the staff very friendly. The girls in the restaurant were smiling all the time and even though they don’t speak much English they still made us feel welcomed. We decided not to use the golf cart that they offer and we were just fine climbing the stairs up and down. I think people exaggerate when they mention the stairs. They are not that bad.
The location is perfect. Quiet, peaceful, relaxing can describe it best. You are away from the party zone and the average age of guests coming here is around 28-35 I would think. It’s a mixture of nationalities which is quite nice.
We had booked a hotel room but upgraded on arrival. The hotel room was nice but the bungalows are nicer, larger and I guess you feel that you are in Thailand more when you stay in a bungalow. Do give it a try!
Questo hotel e' il posto perfetto per una bellissima vacanza, si merita i soldi, e' ben situato, tra l'altro la stanza era incantevole e vi raccomando a tutti di fare un salto...!!!

Room Tip: Choose a bungalow...it will make you feel like a VIP!!!
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
22  Thank Stefania A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels-Resorts P, Guest Relations Manager at Pinnacle Koh Tao Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2013

Dear Stefania,
Thank you for staying at Pinnacle Koh Tao Dive Resort and for taking the time to write such a nice review.
I have passed your feedback to the team and especially to the restaurant staff that impressed you with their hospitality.
Thank you again for your kind words and we hope to welcome you again soon.

Best regards,
Joanna
Pinnacle Koh Tao Dive Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2013

Once arrived in Koh Toa by a catamarn, we were picked up by the resort representative. On the way up, the road was quite winding and a bid scary from a possible accident from opposing vehicles due to the narrow road. Once we got there, we saw this amazing view of the sea that was not from any typical resort. What a fantastic view. The rest of the stay was just as enjoyable - good breakfast, swimming, and watch the sun set. This could be one of our best places ever stay for such a price.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
27  Thank TomG366
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels-Resorts P, Guest Relations Manager at Pinnacle Koh Tao Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2013

Dear Tom,

Thank you for staying at Pinnacle Koh Tao Dive Resort and we are happy to hear you have enjoyed your time here.
Indeed the trip to the resort is quite a ride but it's all worth while once you get here. The road is challenging because it is steep but is one of the best on the island as it is paved unlike many other that are still dirt roads.
Thank you again for your stay at our resort and we hope you will return soon.

Joanna
Pinnacle Koh Tao Dive Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2013

We heard so much about this place for good scuba dive lessons. Finally, we made it here and stay at this wonderful resort with just amazing view of the sea. This is a very unique resort sitting on top of a hill that you can watch the sunset the whole afternoon. The bungalow was surrounding by plenty of tropical plants but going up and down the hill was a bid difficult unless you use their shuttle bus. At the end of our stay, we wish it could have been our first day here.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
28  Thank CarolineS450
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels-Resorts P, Guest Relations Manager at Pinnacle Koh Tao Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2013

Dear Caroline,

Thank you for your stay at Pinnacle Koh Tao Dive Resort and for your positive comments.

We are pleased to hear that you have enjoyed our great views of the sea and our tropical garden. Unfortunately climbing the stairs is the price to pay for these amazing views but as you said the golf cart is always available if you don't feel like walking. We always encourage our guests to use it as much as possible.
Thank you again and we are looking forward in welcoming you in the near future.

Joanna
Pinnacle Koh Tao Dive Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2013

My boyfriend and I have spent 5 nights at this wonderful hotel and felt we had to write a brief review...

The only negative thing we really took any notice of from previous reviews was the location of the hotel. We were a little worried as we like to have a choice of places to eat, and (as my boyfriend is diabetic) little shops/7-11 close by incase we need snacks but we found this isn't actually a problem at all. Turn left at the dive shop and go down a path and through the next door hotel until you're on chalok Baan kao beach (literally 5-10mins stroll) and you've got dozens of restaurants on the beach, or cut back through any hotel (we found buddah view to be the most straightforward route) and you're right in the village with more restaurants, shops, pharmacies, bank, ATM etc.

Pinnacle also offer a complimentary shuttle service 3 times a day (8.30am, 12 and 6pm) to the pier in Mae haad where there's lots to do (and also a short walk from there up to sairee), and there is one free return shuttle from the pier at 8pm.

The manager (Joanna) is so lovely and bends over backwards to help, as do the rest of the staff, everyone seems so happy.

Breakfast (which was included in our deal) was lovely with a lot of choice. That was the only meal we ate at the resort each day though so I can't comment much more on the food, other than unfortunately it did look quite overpriced In comparison to neighbouring restaurants which is a shame.

If you eat in chalok Baan kao we strongly recommend chaiyann (I think it's called!!) it doesn't look much but the staff are lovely and the food gorgeous (and cheap).

Overall this is one of the best hotels we've ever stayed in and would love to come back!

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
28  Thank hayley_rebecca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels-Resorts P, Guest Relations Manager at Pinnacle Koh Tao Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2013

Dear Hayley,

Thank you very much for choosing our resort for your stay on the beautiful island of Koh Tao. We are very happy to hear you had a wonderful experience.
Thank you for taking the time to write such an informative review. We are sure our future guests will find it very useful.
Indeed our restaurant prices may seem higher at first glance than the neighboring small restaurants but I just wish you had tried our dishes as in my opinion quality certainly justifies the price. We also encourage our guests to eat Thai food and currently our "Eat Thai" promotion with meal deals that include 1 drink for lunch and dinner is proving to be very popular.
Thank you again for your kind words and we are looking forward in welcoming you again soon.

Best Regards,
Joanna
Pinnacle Koh Tao Dive Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2013

I loved everything about this resort. Got to the room and was very big, lots of room and very clean. Had a beautiful view from our room overlooking the pool and sea.

The pool was lovely and big and the view from the pool and sun loungers was outstanding. Got to watch a lovely sunset on a sun lounger.
Had a small beautful beach next to it, and a shop in the resort. Everything you need around you. I absolutley loved my stay here.
Was a shame I only got one night there as i was travelling Thailand.
Lovely island would go to this resort again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
27  Thank Raiseen1991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels-Resorts P, Guest Relations Manager at Pinnacle Koh Tao Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2013

Dear Raiseen,

Thank you for your stay at Pinnacle Koh Tao Dive Resort.
We appreciate you taking the time to express what a wonderful time you had. We are happy you enjoyed our pool and beach and of course the best sunset view.
We are looking forward in welcoming you here again and hopefully next time for longer.

Thank you
Joanna
Pinnacle Koh Tao Dive Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2013

I don't usually write reviews, but this place was such a find! Just came back from Koh Tao and the beginning of March proved to be ideal. You don't need to look for anywhere else to stay apart from here. The staff was very competent and always ready to help, convenient, lovely rooms, great price for what you get, fresh food and an unexpectedly great location. I absolutely fell in love with the view, just realised as I got back that I took around 150 photos only from my balcony. A special thanks to Oana (hope I didn't misppelled your name ), you were so helpful and always managed to find time for our queries. Thank you for all the travel suggestions and for being so friendly. Will definitely recommend it to our friends and hope to come back soon.

Enjoy the view!

John from a very cold Plymouth

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
33  Thank John V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels-Resorts P, Guest Relations Manager at Pinnacle Koh Tao Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2013

Dear John,
Thank you for taking the time to write such a great review about our resort. It is clear that you love our amazing views as much as we do here at Pinnacle Koh Tao Dive Resort.
We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay and our staff made you feel welcome and they enriched your experience here.
We are looking forward in welcoming you and your friends in the near future.

Thank you
Joanna
Pinnacle Koh Tao Dive Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Koh Tao hotels
2.9 mi away
Aminjirah Resort
Aminjirah Resort
#9 of 49 in Koh Tao
1,250 reviews
0.7 mi away
Haadtien Beach Resort
Haadtien Beach Resort
#15 of 49 in Koh Tao
1,512 reviews
2.2 mi away
Montalay Beach Resort
Montalay Beach Resort
#18 of 49 in Koh Tao
678 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Koh Tao Simple Life Resort
1.0 mi away
Charm Churee Villa
Charm Churee Villa
#19 of 49 in Koh Tao
962 reviews
1.9 mi away
Ban's Diving Resort
Ban's Diving Resort
#6 of 49 in Koh Tao
2,270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pinnacle Koh Tao Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pinnacle Koh Tao Resort

Address: 26/20 Moo 3, Koh Tao 84280, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Koh Tao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 49 Hotels in Koh Tao
Price Range: £36 - £72 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Pinnacle Koh Tao Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pinnacle Koh Tao Dive Resort provides an island escape for the true leisure traveler and dive aficionado. Spend your days exploring the beautiful world underwater either snorkeling, or diving with our state-of-the-art dive school located within the Resort premises. Watch a spectacular sundown from the lounge bed on your room balcony, each of which provides unblocked panoramic view of the Gulf of Thailand. Our resort is located on the hidden-away June Jeau Beach and features Restaurant, Bar, BBQ Terrace and Pool, allowing you to experience true relaxation under the world famous Thai hospitality. Should you wish to explore the nightlife of Koh Tao, we offer a free drop-off service to the pier every evening. We also provide a golf cart shuttle service within the resort. All our rooms are fully equipped with mini bar, LCD flat screen television, refrigerator and air conditioning. We also offer room service and tours. Guests will find that this service-oriented resort with superb facilities and amenities provides excellent value. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Pinnacle Koh Tao Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing