We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fail”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Pinnacle Koh Tao Resort
Ranked #20 of 49 Hotels in Koh Tao
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fail”
Reviewed 14 February 2014 via mobile

Access to beach pool restaurant are difficult to say the least. Distance is an issue and you have to climb really steep hills to get anywhere. Its isolated by really long and steep road. Feels like a sort of prison. Also staff seems not interested to help much and rather irritated by any questions. Pool is mirky and small and bathroom water smells bad. Breathtaking view but thats far from enough considering the hundred euro paid. I want to leave here immediately.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Mike F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels-Resorts P, Guest Relations Manager at Pinnacle Koh Tao Resort, responded to this review, 21 February 2014
Dear Mike F,

Thank you for your stay at Pinnacle Koh Tao Dive Resort.

We are sorry to hear that you had a negative experience at Pinnacle Koh Tao Dive Resort.

Like many of our guests say, the location of our resort can be a blessing and a curse in the same time. Our very popular stunning sea view comes with a price and that is walking up and down the hill. Many of our guests hire ATVs or Motorbikes to cruise the island. As well we offer 4 times a day a free shuttle service to Maehaad and 2 times return to the hotel during high season. Since February we have also increased the number of rooms and as a result we have a few bungalows a lot closer to the pool and beach. The majority of our guests actually choose us, because of the location therefore it’s up to individual guests to choose their accommodation depending on their personal holiday needs. Every guest receives during the check in the information, that we provide a golf cart on request, when guests not want to walk to the beach, swimming pool, restaurant etc.

We clean our pool every morning and evening and we have a professional water treatment. We apologize if the pool was not clear that days. Our engineering team is currently monitoring the PH levels closely to avoid this problems.

We are constantly training and instructing our staff to be more customer service oriented and take better care of our guests. As Koh Tao is a small island we have very limited choice with regards to the quality of staff we employ, therefore we work hard to improve and educate the existing ones.Our staff tries to help everyone where they can, but I guess it was more an communication failure.

With regards to the water problems in the bathroom you mentioned, we are working on them but unfortunately these are mostly infrastructure related problems therefore cannot be fixed immediately. We do apologize for the inconvenience.

Thank you once again for your stay and we have taken on board all your comments which we are working on to improve.

Best regards,

Pinnacle Koh Tao Dive Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

503 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    191
    157
    76
    33
    46
See reviews for
66
276
25
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2014

The location is absolutely beautiful, stunning beachfront views.
The dorm room really is tiny, plus our cupboard had a live crab running about in it!
Was pretty warm in the room.
The restaurant was pretty overpriced and the service was a bit slow.
I was fairly unimpressed by the reception staff, I went to ask if they were able to book us a ferry to the mainland and the girl at reception was too busy eating doughnuts and seemed irritated by the questions and asked "What now?" when I asked if she could book the ferry

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gr87_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2014

We only stayed for the one night but were very impressed. The room was very good and the staff all seemed very friendly and polite. The view is fantastic from the pool terrace or your room balcony especially around sunset. There is a little public beach next door to the pool which is very picturesque but could do with a bit of a clean. We ate in the restaurant which was nice and good value. Bit isolated as many people have said but that's why we chose it. The hotel does a regular shuttle service to the pier where there is lots going on. Lost my sunglasses about 10 minutes before departure and the French barman went out of his way to help me look for them across the beach. (Found them eventually) All in all a very nice and peaceful hotel.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jack-W1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels-Resorts P, Guest Relations Manager at Pinnacle Koh Tao Resort, responded to this review, 3 March 2014
Dear Scoobysmate,

Thank you for your stay at Pinnacle Koh Tao Dive Resort and for your kind words.
Happy to hear that our French intern has helped with finding your sunglasses and great to see that you were impressed by our amazing sea view and the food in our restaurant.
Thank you again for a great review and looking forward in welcoming you back soon.

Sunny regards,
Joanna
Pinnacle Koh Tao Dive Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2014

Great views from our room which was spotless. The problem with this resort is the water. When getting dried from the shower the towels looks like you have had fake tan on !! We got round this by having to rinse yourselfe with bottle water !! The pool was the same, bikini & shorts have had to be thrown away because they will not come clean. Don't be fooled with the note in the bathroom regarding washing the clothes due to the water. THIS IS NOT FREE !! I spoke with other people on the island staying at different hotels & they did NOT have this problem.
If Pinnacle resort sorted the water out it would be fantastic but I would not recommend for this reason.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jojowoolybak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels-Resorts P, Guest Relations Manager at Pinnacle Koh Tao Resort, responded to this review, 3 March 2014
Dear Jojowoolybak,

Thank you for choosing Pinnacle Koh Tao Dive Resort for your stay in Koh Tao.
Thank you for identifying Pinnacle as a fantastic hotel except for the water issues. We have indeed some problems with the water that are now being solved. These were mostly infrastructure related problems that together with limited water resources on this part of the island made it worse and harder to fix. We do apologize for the inconvenience experienced during your stay and hope you will give as another chance in the future.
With regards to the note in the bathroom, that actually states that the water is not suitable for washing clothes and we do not recommend doing laundry in the room. We offer a laundry service (against charge) and the laundry list with prices is available in the room.
Thank you again for your feedback.

Sunny regards,
Joanna
Pinnacle Koh Tao Dive Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala lumpur
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2014

The resort is up on a hill and does not have easy access to a beach. Forget it if you don't like steep walks! We were there for the diving. Probably some of the most disappointing dives we have done in 22 years diving in Asia. Not much going on and a long drive to get to the dive shop.
The town itself reminded me very much of the set of a western movie from the 1960s. Lots of mud and people wandering aimlessly. Glad to have seen it: happy never to go back.

Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank DiveguyKL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels-Resorts P, Guest Relations Manager at Pinnacle Koh Tao Resort, responded to this review, 16 January 2014
Dear DiveguyKL,

Thank you for your stay at Pinnacle Koh Tao Dive Resort.
Like many of our guests say, the location of our resort can be a blessing and a curse in the same time. Our very popular stunning sea view comes with a price and that is walking up and down the hill. The beach is only 8 minutes walk and we do provide a golf cart on request. Since February we have also increased the number of rooms and as a result we have a few bungalows a lot closer to the pool and beach.
With regards to diving, our diving partner has a shop inside the resort so no need to travel for it. We are ensure if you used the in-house company or another. The in-house diving operator normally departs from hotel's beach but this can change due to weather conditions.
Thank you

Best regards,
Joanna
Pinnacle Koh Tao Dive Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Siem Reap, Cambodia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 January 2014

The resort was clean however looks like a Disneyland, it needs more services like the dive shop "Dive wishes" is, to fill the needs of 4star resort visitor.

The local staff was smiling and communicative but needs a little more training except the bar on the rocks waiter, very attentive french waiter who knows what he is doing.

Rooms are clean and well furnished and you can enjoy great sun rise from the bed, that you just cant see here and there.

Be prepared to walk stairs, a lot of stairsss.

Dive wishes separate review:
I made 7 dives with them and my GF the Open water scuba diver PADI course. Here you can really explore diving due to the smaller group of participants, speed boat that just keep the other "diving ferries" long distance on the back.

Friendly staff and well equipped boat with first aid including oxygen tank will accommodate your needs. If you come to Pinnacle resort do not waste time with other MASS diving companies, where there is approx 40 people on the boat.
Visited January 2014

Room Tip: Pick a room on the level of the restaurant, it is close to beach, to walk to reception desk you will...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels-Resorts P, Guest Relations Manager at Pinnacle Koh Tao Resort, responded to this review, 10 January 2014
Dear Peter P,

Thank you for choosing Pinnacle Koh Tao Dive Resort for your stay in Koh Tao.

We are pleased to see that you had a great experience diving with Dive Wishes. We thank you for outlining the pros of diving with a small company and happy to see that our colleague from the Rock bar impressed you with his service.

Thank you
Best regards,
Joanna
Pinnacle Koh Tao Dive Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2014

We stayed in the Pinnacle for this last new years' holiday for 4 nights. We've got the biggest room/chalet which was very nice and the views are amazing. I believe the views from all the rooms in the resort are amazing. The manager could give us good advice for what we requested and there is a nice little beach by the bottom of the resort. The diving wishes company charges double the price as the diving companies in the rest of the island but offers a very exclusive service with a very nice fast boast and small group - what for me was worth it paying for. Just check that looks like during winter you can get very bad (5 meters) visibility what happened to us and really put us of off to dive more.
Some critics about the hotel:
- Sewage smell. We would not feel it inside the room but it could be felt in many places around the resort. We felt the same smell in other places in the Island and in other cities we visited. Maybe a general Thailand problem?
- The water feels a bit salty. Maybe also Island infrastructure related.
- No proper nice coffee in the breakfast. The coffee in the breakfast was bad and also no trim milk and no sweetener. For the standard of the resort a nice coffee machine is something to be expected.
- The people working in the resort (besides the manager) have an attitude toward people. They give you good morning and etc but just sounds so mechanic. There were also cases of them making jokes in Thai between them in front of customers what felt not nice too. We stayed in 4 hotels in Thailand and in the others we haven't had this feeling.
Anyway the higher points compensate the lows. I would stay again if I was to go to Koh Tao again.

Room Tip: If you ask for a higher room you will stay closer to the restaurant and reception but far from the b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maralc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels-Resorts P, Guest Relations Manager at Pinnacle Koh Tao Resort, responded to this review, 10 January 2014
Dear Maralc,

Thank you for staying with us on the beautiful Koh Tao.

We thank you for taking the time to write a review. We appreciate all fair comments. We are happy to see that overall you enjoyed your stay and would come back to us. With regards to the issues you mentioned, we are working on them but unfortunately these are mostly infrastructure related problems therefore cannot be fixed immediately. We do apologize for the inconvenience. With regards to the staff behavior I assure you that our team is genuine friendly and have the best intentions. In high season they have less time to connect and communicate with our guests but they will always be polite and helpful.

Thank you again and we are happy to welcome you for your next Koh Tao visit.
Best regards,
Joanna
Pinnacle Koh Tao Dive Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Koh Tao hotels
2.9 mi away
Aminjirah Resort
Aminjirah Resort
#9 of 49 in Koh Tao
1,238 reviews
0.7 mi away
Haadtien Beach Resort
Haadtien Beach Resort
#15 of 49 in Koh Tao
1,488 reviews
2.2 mi away
Montalay Beach Resort
Montalay Beach Resort
#18 of 49 in Koh Tao
666 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Koh Tao Simple Life Resort
2.4 mi away
The Tarna Align Resort
The Tarna Align Resort
#13 of 49 in Koh Tao
237 reviews
1.0 mi away
Charm Churee Villa
Charm Churee Villa
#19 of 49 in Koh Tao
952 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pinnacle Koh Tao Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pinnacle Koh Tao Resort

Property: Pinnacle Koh Tao Resort
Address: 26/20 Moo 3, Koh Tao 84280, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Koh Tao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 49 Hotels in Koh Tao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Pinnacle Koh Tao Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pinnacle Koh Tao Dive Resort provides an island escape for the true leisure traveler and dive aficionado. Spend your days exploring the beautiful world underwater either snorkeling, or diving with our state-of-the-art dive school located within the Resort premises. Watch a spectacular sundown from the lounge bed on your room balcony, each of which provides unblocked panoramic view of the Gulf of Thailand. Our resort is located on the hidden-away June Jeau Beach and features Restaurant, Bar, BBQ Terrace and Pool, allowing you to experience true relaxation under the world famous Thai hospitality. Should you wish to explore the nightlife of Koh Tao, we offer a free drop-off service to the pier every evening. We also provide a golf cart shuttle service within the resort. All our rooms are fully equipped with mini bar, LCD flat screen television, refrigerator and air conditioning. We also offer room service and tours. Guests will find that this service-oriented resort with superb facilities and amenities provides excellent value. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Pinnacle Koh Tao Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing