We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful View… Disgusting Water” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pinnacle Koh Tao Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Pinnacle Koh Tao Resort
Ranked #20 of 49 Hotels in Koh Tao
Dhahran, Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
82 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Beautiful View… Disgusting Water”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2014

I do NOT recommend Pinnacle Resort because the tap water (i.e. shower, sink, etc.) is disgusting. Pinnacle’s water smells like rust and even stained some of our clothes. After showering or washing our hands, we rinsed with bottled water so that we wouldn’t damage more of our clothes. The water in the swimming pool was also very murky. In fact, we could not see the bottom of the pool. Unfortunately, I have to recommend that you don’t stay at Pinnacle.

Pinnacle is built on a hill overlooking the beautiful Gulf of Thailand. The location is beautiful and peaceful. If they are able to fix their water system, then it could be a nice place to stay.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JRKSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels-Resorts P, Guest Relations Manager at Pinnacle Koh Tao Resort, responded to this review, 28 March 2014
Dear JRKSA,

Thank you for your stay at Pinnacle and for addressing the water problem.
Just like you said, we have a beautiful resort in a beautiful location, unfortunately we are indeed experiencing some unexpected water issues due to limited resources on the island that forced us to change completely our water systems. These works are currently in progress and after a proper study we are now implementing all the changes. We are happy to say that is now a matter of days until we will have again perfect clear water. In the meantime we do provide complimentary water in the rooms and I can say that only a small number of our guests were inconvenienced by that. We are sorry that you were one of them.
Thank you for the feedback and apologies for the inconvenience during your stay.

Best regards,
Joanna
Pinnacle Koh Tao Dive Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

472 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    184
    147
    69
    32
    40
See reviews for
62
261
23
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2014

Beautiful resort located on the slope of a hill. It has a million steps but great views. The bungalows are spacious, clean and cosy. The balconies offer stunning sea views and are perfect for a couple. The golf cart is great to use to go to the beach and to reception. The breakfast offered a lot of choice. The beach is small and lovely. It's the perfect place out of the busy Sairee. The sea water here will impress you with amazing colours. Perfect hidden paradise.The hotel has free shuttle several times a day so there is nothing else you might need for a perfect holiday...

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alex S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels-Resorts P, Guest Relations Manager at Pinnacle Koh Tao Resort, responded to this review, 28 March 2014
Dear Alex S,

Thank you for choosing Pinnacle resort for your stay on this amazing island.
Thank you for your time here and for appreciating our beautiful resort and this stunning location.
We do hope you will return soon.

Best regards,
Joanna
Pinnacle Koh Tao Dive Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint-Tropez, France
Level Contributor
34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2014

The resort is situated on a very steep hillside, so quite a bit of climbing is involved. It is not quite finished - the clubhouse and pool at the top of the resort are not open yet, and our bungalow still had builders rubble around it! The bungalows are air conditioned, very spacious with beautiful views out to sea. Breakfast is fine with the same beautiful views from the restaurant. The little beaches below the resort are charming with a couple of small beach bars/restaurants. The bay at Chalok Baan Kao is just a short (but steep) walk away. Here you will find all the backpackers, vibrant beach bars and plenty of restaurants plus shops, banks, etc.
The swimming pool doesn't look very inviting. It was a brown colour most of the time. Over our ten day stay we didn't see a single person using the pool. Beware of washing any clothes by hand - the tap water has a brown tint which will stain and won't come out!
This is a fairly expensive resort, but good location and very relaxed.

Room Tip: If you want to pay the extra for a bungalow, they are lower down, so generally closer to the beach...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jonthediver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels-Resorts P, Guest Relations Manager at Pinnacle Koh Tao Resort, responded to this review, 28 March 2014
Dear Jonthediver,

Thank you for your stay at Pinnacle Koh Tao Dive Resort and for taking the time to review your stay.
We are pleased to see that you have identified the pros of our location and facilities and we offer our sincerest apologies for the swimming pool condition. As you have been informed we are facing some water problems that are now in process of being fixed. Rest assured that for your next visit our water will be crystal clear and we will welcome you with a very inviting swimming pool.
Thank you again and hope to see you back soon.

Best regards.
Joanna
Pinnacle Koh Tao Dive Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2014 via mobile

Access to beach pool restaurant are difficult to say the least. Distance is an issue and you have to climb really steep hills to get anywhere. Its isolated by really long and steep road. Feels like a sort of prison. Also staff seems not interested to help much and rather irritated by any questions. Pool is mirky and small and bathroom water smells bad. Breathtaking view but thats far from enough considering the hundred euro paid. I want to leave here immediately.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Mike F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels-Resorts P, Guest Relations Manager at Pinnacle Koh Tao Resort, responded to this review, 21 February 2014
Dear Mike F,

Thank you for your stay at Pinnacle Koh Tao Dive Resort.

We are sorry to hear that you had a negative experience at Pinnacle Koh Tao Dive Resort.

Like many of our guests say, the location of our resort can be a blessing and a curse in the same time. Our very popular stunning sea view comes with a price and that is walking up and down the hill. Many of our guests hire ATVs or Motorbikes to cruise the island. As well we offer 4 times a day a free shuttle service to Maehaad and 2 times return to the hotel during high season. Since February we have also increased the number of rooms and as a result we have a few bungalows a lot closer to the pool and beach. The majority of our guests actually choose us, because of the location therefore it’s up to individual guests to choose their accommodation depending on their personal holiday needs. Every guest receives during the check in the information, that we provide a golf cart on request, when guests not want to walk to the beach, swimming pool, restaurant etc.

We clean our pool every morning and evening and we have a professional water treatment. We apologize if the pool was not clear that days. Our engineering team is currently monitoring the PH levels closely to avoid this problems.

We are constantly training and instructing our staff to be more customer service oriented and take better care of our guests. As Koh Tao is a small island we have very limited choice with regards to the quality of staff we employ, therefore we work hard to improve and educate the existing ones.Our staff tries to help everyone where they can, but I guess it was more an communication failure.

With regards to the water problems in the bathroom you mentioned, we are working on them but unfortunately these are mostly infrastructure related problems therefore cannot be fixed immediately. We do apologize for the inconvenience.

Thank you once again for your stay and we have taken on board all your comments which we are working on to improve.

Best regards,

Pinnacle Koh Tao Dive Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2014

The location is absolutely beautiful, stunning beachfront views.
The dorm room really is tiny, plus our cupboard had a live crab running about in it!
Was pretty warm in the room.
The restaurant was pretty overpriced and the service was a bit slow.
I was fairly unimpressed by the reception staff, I went to ask if they were able to book us a ferry to the mainland and the girl at reception was too busy eating doughnuts and seemed irritated by the questions and asked "What now?" when I asked if she could book the ferry

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gr87_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2014

We only stayed for the one night but were very impressed. The room was very good and the staff all seemed very friendly and polite. The view is fantastic from the pool terrace or your room balcony especially around sunset. There is a little public beach next door to the pool which is very picturesque but could do with a bit of a clean. We ate in the restaurant which was nice and good value. Bit isolated as many people have said but that's why we chose it. The hotel does a regular shuttle service to the pier where there is lots going on. Lost my sunglasses about 10 minutes before departure and the French barman went out of his way to help me look for them across the beach. (Found them eventually) All in all a very nice and peaceful hotel.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jack-W1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels-Resorts P, Guest Relations Manager at Pinnacle Koh Tao Resort, responded to this review, 3 March 2014
Dear Scoobysmate,

Thank you for your stay at Pinnacle Koh Tao Dive Resort and for your kind words.
Happy to hear that our French intern has helped with finding your sunglasses and great to see that you were impressed by our amazing sea view and the food in our restaurant.
Thank you again for a great review and looking forward in welcoming you back soon.

Sunny regards,
Joanna
Pinnacle Koh Tao Dive Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2014

Great views from our room which was spotless. The problem with this resort is the water. When getting dried from the shower the towels looks like you have had fake tan on !! We got round this by having to rinse yourselfe with bottle water !! The pool was the same, bikini & shorts have had to be thrown away because they will not come clean. Don't be fooled with the note in the bathroom regarding washing the clothes due to the water. THIS IS NOT FREE !! I spoke with other people on the island staying at different hotels & they did NOT have this problem.
If Pinnacle resort sorted the water out it would be fantastic but I would not recommend for this reason.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jojowoolybak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels-Resorts P, Guest Relations Manager at Pinnacle Koh Tao Resort, responded to this review, 3 March 2014
Dear Jojowoolybak,

Thank you for choosing Pinnacle Koh Tao Dive Resort for your stay in Koh Tao.
Thank you for identifying Pinnacle as a fantastic hotel except for the water issues. We have indeed some problems with the water that are now being solved. These were mostly infrastructure related problems that together with limited water resources on this part of the island made it worse and harder to fix. We do apologize for the inconvenience experienced during your stay and hope you will give as another chance in the future.
With regards to the note in the bathroom, that actually states that the water is not suitable for washing clothes and we do not recommend doing laundry in the room. We offer a laundry service (against charge) and the laundry list with prices is available in the room.
Thank you again for your feedback.

Sunny regards,
Joanna
Pinnacle Koh Tao Dive Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Koh Tao hotels
2.9 mi away
Aminjirah Resort
Aminjirah Resort
#10 of 49 in Koh Tao
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,160 reviews
0.7 mi away
Haadtien Beach Resort
Haadtien Beach Resort
#16 of 49 in Koh Tao
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,369 reviews
1.0 mi away
Sensi Paradise
Sensi Paradise
#6 of 49 in Koh Tao
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
The Tarna Align Resort
The Tarna Align Resort
#13 of 49 in Koh Tao
4.5 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
1.0 mi away
Charm Churee Villa
Charm Churee Villa
#19 of 49 in Koh Tao
4.0 of 5 bubbles 932 reviews
1.9 mi away
Ban's Diving Resort
Ban's Diving Resort
#5 of 49 in Koh Tao
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,035 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pinnacle Koh Tao Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pinnacle Koh Tao Resort

Property: Pinnacle Koh Tao Resort
Address: 26/20 Moo 3, Koh Tao 84280, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Koh Tao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 49 Hotels in Koh Tao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Pinnacle Koh Tao Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pinnacle Koh Tao Dive Resort provides an island escape for the true leisure traveler and dive aficionado. Spend your days exploring the beautiful world underwater either snorkeling, or diving with our state-of-the-art dive school located within the Resort premises. Watch a spectacular sundown from the lounge bed on your room balcony, each of which provides unblocked panoramic view of the Gulf of Thailand. Our resort is located on the hidden-away June Jeau Beach and features Restaurant, Bar, BBQ Terrace and Pool, allowing you to experience true relaxation under the world famous Thai hospitality. Should you wish to explore the nightlife of Koh Tao, we offer a free drop-off service to the pier every evening. We also provide a golf cart shuttle service within the resort. All our rooms are fully equipped with mini bar, LCD flat screen television, refrigerator and air conditioning. We also offer room service and tours. Guests will find that this service-oriented resort with superb facilities and amenities provides excellent value. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, TravelUp, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Pinnacle Koh Tao Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing