We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best (non-party) budget accomodation on koh Tao.”
Review of Hin Wong Bungalows

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Koh Tao
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hin Wong Bungalows
Ranked #114 of 147 Speciality Lodging in Koh Tao
Reviewed 12 September 2011

This place is so beautiful and peaceful. 10 basic bungalows with fans only and ensuite cold water showers, scattered on a small hill, overlooking the bay and just a minutes walk to a small sandy beach with a really chilled bar and great people. The snorkelling is amazing! Some of the best we've ever seen and certainly the best on Koh Tao.
Service in the restaurant can be slow sometimes but the food is superb and the portions are enormous. Well worth the wait!
We came here for two days and were made to feel so welcome that we stayed for two weeks. 10 out of 10.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank notmiles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (57)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

33 - 39 of 57 reviews

Reviewed 19 July 2011

Hin Wong Bay is on the east coast of Koh Tao. Hin Wong Bungalows is pretty much the only thing located there. There is one other place at the fork in the road called View Rock Resort, but in my opinion, Hin Wong Bungalows is way better.

This is a gem of a place if you are looking for off-the-beaten-path tranquility. There are a mere 10 bungalows which are pretty basic and fan only -- there is no air conditioning at all here in case you need to know this. All bungalows have a porch and I think all of them have ocean views as well. Some have hammocks which are delightful!! Up until the big storm in March 2011 there was no real beach there... but now there is. It is small, but it is there, along with a lovely little beach bar that the owners' sister Mol built in 2011. Great place to relax, have a beer or cocktail and meet chill people.

I have stayed there twice now. Once in the summer of 2010 and once in the summer of 2011. You can swim from the cove where the beach is or climb on the rocks and find your own private spot.

The family that runs the place is a delight!! Tao and her husband Tep are really great people and the environment is always calm. They are very accommodating and sweet as pie! They have a great restaurant serving breakfast, lunch and dinner (real bacon at breakfast too, YUM!!). The most fantastic REAL FRUIT shakes you'll ever have too.

The taxi rides to town can get expensive. Taxi drivers charge 400 Baht each way because of the bad road and GINORMOUS hill. Doable on a moped and many do it. Two people cannot share the moped at the steepest points so one of you will HAVE TO get off and walk it. The bungalow place does a ride into town twice daily for 150BAHT which is very reasonable.

The rates when I was there last month were as follows: 500 Baht for one night only. 350 Baht per night after that. If you stay longer than a week it's 300 Baht per night.

If you're looking for tons of people and a thriving party scene go to Sairee Beach. Hin Wong Bay is for people who are looking for something remote and unique. You will meet lovely people there. One of the great things about it being so small is you can meet the other guests staying there or the daytrippers who come to snorkel.

OH!!!! The whole reason I love staying here is that they have THE BEST snorkeling on the island. THE BEST. Truly amazing stuff and I have tons of underwater pictures and videos from my stay there. They rent snorkel masks and fins very cheap.

This place is awesome! I paid a couple of different taxi drivers to take me to other parts of the island to see different accommodations. If you're on a tight budget this is the best place you will find anywhere on the island.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
27  Thank BostonStacey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Michel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Laura Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: April 2017, travelled solo
Thank Valentine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Claudia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: December 2016, travelled with friends
1  Thank Chloé A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Koh Tao hotels
1.2 mi away
Montalay Beach Resort
Montalay Beach Resort
#17 of 50 in Koh Tao
690 reviews
2.8 mi away
Koh Tao Tropicana Resort
Koh Tao Tropicana Resort
#33 of 50 in Koh Tao
325 reviews
2.7 mi away
Koh Tao Bamboo Huts
Koh Tao Bamboo Huts
#36 of 147 in Koh Tao
143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
JP Resort
JP Resort
#28 of 50 in Koh Tao
203 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hinwong Apartments Dive and Snorkel Resort
1.6 mi away
In Touch Resort & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hin Wong Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hin Wong Bungalows

Address: Hin Wong Bay, Koh Tao, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Koh Tao
Hotel Style:
Ranked #114 of 147 Speciality Lodging in Koh Tao

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing