We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and service!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Montalay Beach Resort
Ranked #18 of 49 Hotels in Koh Tao
Reviewed 2 July 2012

I was led to this resort by complete and utter accident, when I decided to push my last date in Koh Tao by an extra day right before boarding my ferry. I walked out of the pier, suitcase in tow, when a gentleman right outside convinced me to give Montalay a shot. The brochure seemed enticing, but what nailed it for me was the free taxi ride to the rather far off part of the island which would have cost me a fortune So, I excitedly hopped onto the taxi and was greeted by a beautiful 600 baht cottage, basic, non AC but well appointed. Shared bathroom though.

The snorkeling there was fantastic, the beach was not too crowded and was filled with interesting people from all over. Not the best beach, but having such a pleasant resort next to it made up for the otherwise poor swimming experience (very shallow water - for better swimming visit ao leuk!). The staff was very helpful; besides being always courteous, I left a few things at my hotel room before leaving and they very kindly couriered it back to me. The free wifi was tremendously convenient too. The food in the resort was average, a little too westernised for my liking, but that seems to be what most of the guests like. A little pricey too, but I think the quality makes it worth it. Killer pancakes though!

I'd love to revisit this resort!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Darshan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (678)
There are newer reviews for Montalay Beach Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

292 - 298 of 678 reviews

Reviewed 2 July 2012

only negative point is that we couldn't get the fan to stay straight, thing must've been broken, we should've asked them to have a look at it, but we didn't so, can' t blame hotel for that. So it was a little hot at night. (but fresher than the bungalows i think) It' s so calm on tanote bay, no music on the beach, no other things that would ruin your day or night. Snorkeling is right in front of beach, saw about 20 species of fish i had never seen. The restaurant of montalay deserves the baseline 'fine dining', it's delicious and you can have both thai or western food, served beautifully and very politely, still no loud music, just enjoying calmth. ( it's a bumpy, adventourous road from the pier, not for the easily scared, they'll pick you up for free, and ask 100 bath pp to take you back to the pier on one of their 'shuttle bus' hours, otherwise you pay 400 bath to be driven when you want it) paid 1000 bath for fan room, breakkie not included.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EmilieD3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2012

This is one of my favorite places I've stayed in southeast Asia. We stayed in an economy bungalows for 600 baht, which was a pretty amazing value. The room was very nice, and the whole resort is beautifully landscaped, private, and peaceful.

Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Jennifer A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2012

We had already spent 4 days doing our diving course on Sairee beach so we were looking for a quiet (but not entirely dead) place to relax for a few days. If you have similar needs, are a flashpacker or family with kids I’d recommend Montalay as a great resort.

TANOTE BAY
In terms of vibe, Tanote bay is the middleground between the busy parts of Koh Tao (like Sairee Beach) and the backwaters (like Hing Wong bay). We enjoyed the fact that we had all the comforts and facilities of modern rooms, air conditioning, pool area, diving and kayak rental, a handful of places to eat - but without the crowds, late-night partying, or trash on the beach that the more touristy areas are prone to. However the highlight of Tanote has to be the outstanding snorkeling - we spotted way more than on our diving trips including reef sharks, triggerfish, porcupine fish, aneomes with pink skunk clown fish, wrasse, angelfish and parrotfish galore. If you don’t dive but still want to experience the underwater treasures of Koh Tao – spend a few days in Tanote and you wont come away disappointed.

After checking out a few of the resorts on Tanote we picked Montalay as it was the only resort on Tanote with a pool – and both the pool and grounds were perfectly maintained (we were let down by green pools, unkempt grounds and trash piles in other resorts on Koh Tao).

We stayed in Montalay’s hotel-like "superior" rooms. Although they don't quite have the romance of the bungalows, they are sleek, functional, spotlessly clean and have the best bathrooms we found had in Thailand (with an actual glass shower cubical - no wet floor). Slightly off-season the superior fan rooms were 800baht. Initially we opted to pay the extra 800baht (so 1600 altogether) to have the add-ons of air-conditioning (they just give you the remote to operate it) and breakfast. After 2 days we “downgraded” to no air-conditioning (i.e. hand the remote back) and no breakfast and found this much better value for money as you don’t really need the air-conditioning in the rooms which are naturally very cool (and weirdly enough we still had air-conditioning at night, not sure if this was a mistake but we weren’t going to complain).

In my opinion Montalay’s breakfast is not worth they money – whether included in your room price or paying 200 baht upwards in the restaurant. For half the price you can pop over to Diamond resort’s restaurant on the beach. In general Montalay’s meals are rather pricey but you do have a few other options if you want to save money. The one meal we did have (the burger) was fantastic, but Diamond offer better value for money overall. Family Tanote bay resort’s food didn’t impress.

Tip – stock up on drinks and snacks before you get the taxi to Tanote so you don’t need to go back into town. And hire a bike in town if you want to get around the island as taxis to and from Tanote are pricey (although be warned you need a quad or off-road bike as the roads are in shocking condition).

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank hatter08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2012

I was there 2 nights for a short break. The way to get to the resort it was really amazing road with exciting experience. But when you get to the resort so cool....Basic all facilities were there for you. There are room as building and private villa. The room condition was great fan or AC on request dealing with the price. Staffs were friendly. Snorkeling was just 5 steps walk from beach to the ocean and you could see that is amazing fishes underwater. It is similar to Maldives whereas you can see the fishes underwater but only sand was coarse. Try to walk up early you can see good view sunrise . Food was nice try steam fish with lemon sauce. There was chill out bar in the night as well.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Darika S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2012

We stayed there for 4 nights. It is located in Tanote Bay which was quite a trip to get there but they have shuttles to pick you up and drop you off (for 100 Baht) at the harbour. The bay is shared by 5 hotels and it was very peaceful and quiet.

The rooms were pretty basic, we've had better for less money. Still, it served its purpose and we didn't spend much time in the room anyway. Also the prices for foods and drinks are a little higher than on the mainland. We ate in the Hotel restaurant the first night and it was fantastic! One of the best meals I've had in my 4 week trip to Thailand and worth every penny. The other nights we tried the restaurants from the other hotels which were a lot cheaper but not as good. We had breakfast included and it was yummy and very big portions.

The reason why we chose this hotel is because people said that the snorkeling was great. They were right. We've been snorkeling in Australia and Egypt before. The corals weren't as colorful but the fishes were and there were plenty of them. Also: We saw a big stingray (which scared the crap out of us) and a huge turtle which playfully swam around us for at long time. You might want to get there a little earlier before it gets too crowded and scares the turtles and stingrays away. So for us it was a very good trip.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Kleimi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2012

My Husband and I stayed 5 nights in this Resort because we booked it through agoda in advance.
First off all, in our Jungle cottage was a permanent stench of sewage water 24 hours a day noticeable. We told the reception 3! times, nothing happend. They offerd us to upgrade to an a/c room in the new hotel building near the road. But we didn't come half around the world to stay at a beautifull and quiet beach, to end up in concrete palace, with windows facing away from the beach towards the dirt road in front. Plus we did not plan on spending all in a sudden 3 times as much as we planed on something we don't even want. So we stayed where we were. All together we have to say that in our opinion, and we were not the only ones, the big hotel buildings and the futuristic looking dive school in the resort did not quite fit in with the rest of the bays natural look. The prices in the resorts own resaurant are another thing which we did not like. At least twice as expensive compared to other resaurants in the bay, but unfortunatly not even as good. We had one breakfast and one dinner there, and the rest of the time we went somewhere else (Poseidon, Family Resort, Diamond). Last but not least, the dive boat of the Resort is parked right in front of the beach, and the engines are on most of the time out of some reason. We did not even bother going to the reception again to complain, because the were already looking at us strange. So we deatl with the permanent irritating background accustic as we tried to relax on the beach, which was really annoying. Bottom line, the bay is beautiful and there is lots to see in the water around and the tropical garden in the resort is very nice, thats why we gave 2 points. But next time we would definitely stay somewhere else, since there are apparently enough other options in Tanote Bay.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Irma V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sornkanok, Manager at Montalay Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2012

Thank you for your comments and we're so sorry to heard that your experience was not yet satisfied as it should be, however it is important to note that we couldn't found any record of your stay as Agoda's guest. According to our database, we don't have any 4-5 nights reservation from Agoda happened in April 2012 (during ur stay). But we would be more than willing to clarify every comments:

Cottage Room - Since we can't find your record so this is quite difficult for us to improve in specific room but we plan to have big maintenance schedule in May 2012 which should cover all your concern.

Restaurant - we sincerely accept that our price is higher than the other restaurants on the bay but we offer the better food quality and the better ingredients. As well, our price is not much different from the other quality restaurant on the island.

Thank you for your compliment about our garden and the beauty of the beach. Anyway, please allow us to serve you as our guests once again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Koh Tao hotels
2.3 mi away
Aminjirah Resort
Aminjirah Resort
#11 of 49 in Koh Tao
1,250 reviews
1.5 mi away
Koh Tao Simple Life Resort
1.8 mi away
Haadtien Beach Resort
Haadtien Beach Resort
#15 of 49 in Koh Tao
1,512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Thalassa Hotel
Thalassa Hotel
#7 of 49 in Koh Tao
526 reviews
2.2 mi away
Pinnacle Koh Tao Resort
Pinnacle Koh Tao Resort
#23 of 49 in Koh Tao
507 reviews
1.5 mi away
Ban's Diving Resort
Ban's Diving Resort
#6 of 49 in Koh Tao
2,269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Montalay Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Montalay Beach Resort

Address: 53 Moo 3, Tanote Bay, Koh Tao 84280, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Koh Tao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 49 Hotels in Koh Tao
Price Range: £24 - £53 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Montalay Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Montalay Beach Resort is a small to medium size hotel, locate in the eastern part of Koh Tao (Turtle Island) called "Ao Tanote". It is a beautiful secluded bay and is a great place for snorkeling and diving. Ideal for families with children or couples to chill and relax. All rooms, cottages and suites are close to the beach and nestled amongst the trees. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Expedia, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Montalay Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing