We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful secluded resort”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Montalay Beach Resort
Ranked #18 of 50 Hotels in Koh Tao
Reviewed 12 October 2012

Stayed here with my partner September 2012 for 4 nights.

When we were picked up by the hotel from the pier & driven here, I will not lie, I felt worried!!

The drive to the hotel was literally down VERY steep looking dusty track roads & I felt scared that we would be confined to the resort & unable to get a scooter to explore Koh Tao.

Luckily my boyfiend is very good at riding scooters/motorbikes so after he had coaxed me into it, we booked a taxi the next day to Mae Haad to go rent a scooter & we conquered the roads just fine!

The rooms were clean & spacious. The maids were in daily with clean towels, coffee/tea sachets & complimentary bottles of water, which we thought was a nice touch.

The food in the restaurant was nice, we ate there numerous times, The staff were ok, but there was one staff member who stood out & we often chatted with, Kiat (one of the waiters) he was such a lovely guy!

The infinity pool was lovely (free pool towels are available, another nice touch) overlooking the resorts own shingle beach.

There is a nice beach bar open on a night where you can get cocktails & chill on the dimly lit up beach!

The sea was the best, as the snorkelling was terrific!! A couple that we met saw a turtle! You can hire snorkels, goggles & flippers for 200 bahts from the hotels own diving centre.

We really appreciated the seclusion of Tanote bay, it was so private & serene, we drove around the whole island & we thought we had definitely made the best choice resort wise after all!!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Melissa2529
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (683)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

273 - 279 of 683 reviews

Reviewed 10 October 2012

After spending a few nights is busy Sairee Beach area, we looked for somewhere quieter with a nicer beach and some snorkelling. Montalay was the perfect choice. The beach is extrodinarily beautiful, the atmosphere is quiet but the hotel was quite full the whole time so it doesn't feel too remote or secluded. The rooms are a 5 star level and very beutiful (we stayed in a deluxe room), the room patio is great, looking at the ocean. You can rent snorkelling equipment for just 100 bht a day and the snorkelling itself is amazing! you should however be ready for high prices at the restaurant and there aren't many other options unless you want to take a 20 min taxi to Sairee Beach (we didn't). All in all - a wonderful experience and great value for money.

Room Tip: the cottages seem very high up, only take one if you don't mind the climbing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank gili m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2012

We stayed on the montalay for 3 nights. First of all- if you're looking for a beautiful picturesque cove than this is the place for you. It is also a great spot for snorkeling.
The hotel has great rooms, clean & comfortable, nice staff and a great massage.
The food is not cheap but good.
If you're looking to party this is not the place. It is 10 min ride from sairee beach, you'll pay about 400 baht both ways per person. Another thing there are only 2-3 restaurants on the beach and only one shop so take this under consideration.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Rotem_hor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2012

we arrived to the hotel after a bumpy ride in steep hills to the east side of the ko-tao.
the place is nice with a swimming pool right on the ocean.

the beach itself is quite small and secluded with only a few other hotels near by.
so for night light you'll have to take a taxi to the sairee beach which is packed with resturnats and bars and really nice.. (about 20 min ride).

the hotel was OK, though we did got dirty sheets and towels at first which were replaced after we asked. no safe in the room.

i kind of enjoyed the quiet and private beach after a day but i wouldn't mind being a little closer to sairee beach.

they have a nice diving club, but since it's a small place they don't go every time to dive or only once a day.

the room walls are quite thin, so you can hear other rooms or children.

service was OK, but not more. we didn't got too much info or help when we asked on weather or other stuff, and just pointed to the computer near by.

Room Tip: ask for a lower room if you don't want to climb too much. (closer to the beach).
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank eyaledri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2012

Montalay was a brilliant find for us - it's perfect if you want to stay in the less-touristy side of the island away from Sairee. It's takes around 15/20 minutes by car to get to Tanote Bay from the pier but you can arrange for a free pick up with reception. It's a bit of a hairy ride over the (very) steep hills (a good proportion of the roads aren't paved) but it was good fun bumping about on the back of the Hylux and the views are stunning.

The resort itself is very well run and has one of the best restaurants in Tanote, although you do pay slightly more for the quality, as you would expect. Free beach towels are available from reception, and you can also book a taxi ride over to Sairee for a day trip which costs around 150bht pp (approx £3) at set times throughout the day, which rises to 200bht for non-scheduled outward/return trips. Staff are friendly and attentive and everything's kept clean and tidy.

There's a great stretch of beach literally on the doorstep which is brilliant for snorkelling (we saw some black tip sharks) and you can rent snorkels for the day from the diving school next door for around 50bht. The beach is gravelly rather than sandy, so it's good to make use of the resort's deck chairs. There's also a cocktail bar that pops up on the beach at night, with little citronella lamps to keep the mozzies away.

Room-wise, we opted for the slightly cheaper rooms without a/c, which I think was a mistake in hindsight as we didn't really get one good night's sleep over the five nights we stayed. The main reasons: the oscillating ceiling fan was fairly noisy and the breeze from it would wake us up everytime it brushed over us (but it was too hot to turn it off altogether); there's no way of blocking out the lights from the corridor; the bathroom windows are just mesh, so you can hear everything that goes on in the corridor as though it's in your room. Also, our room (109) was right next to the rooms where the cleaning equipment / staff quarters are, so there's lots of banging around and chatting going on from around 7.30am.

That said, others may get on much better with this arrangement, and I've still rated the resort highly because it really is a fantastic place in a great location - lack of sleep wasn't an issue when we were chilling out for most of the day anyway! And the rooms themselves were spacious and well designed, if a little bare. Bed was comfy too.

Highly recommended.

Room Tip: For the extra cost, the rooms with a/c might allow a better night's sleep, or the very a least a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Jenwise1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2012

We spent a week in the resort in August and it was a pleasant experience. The resort attracts a broad range of guests from families with young children to couples of all ages and large groups of friends. We had a free pick-up after our ferry trip from Koh Samui. The final stretch of the road leading to the resort was very steep and pot-holed in some areas but the discomfort of the jerky ride was short-lived. Montalay is on the eastern side of the island, which is quiet and with few resorts. This is not the place to go to for partying but as taxis are readily available, we did not feel isolated. It’s the perfect place for a relaxing break. In general, the staff were very friendly.

We had a cottage with a/c. It was great for privacy and was immaculate. However, it was also smaller than expected with no wardrobe space. The en-suite bathroom was on the large size given the size of the rest of the room. The a/c broke down one evening and we went to report it at 10:30pm but the only staff member we could find repeatedly told us that no one was on duty and that nothing could be done. As it was quite hot that evening, we were not pleased and could not believe that no manager was contactable outside normal working hours. We braced ourselves for the unpleasant conversation we would have with Reception the next morning but to our relief, a maintenance person turned up half an hour later and all was well. The deck in front of the cottage was a welcome additional space to sit in and read. Mosquitoes were very active between 5 and 7pm and were enormous and very vindictive! The resort had only one mosquito coil to give to us so mosquito repellent is strongly recommended if you want to sit outside your cottage or the other restaurants along the beach (the communal areas in Montalay resort were mercifully mosquito-free). The area allocated to the cottages is lovely, quiet and very green. Going back to the size of the room, we were advised that the cottage had 24sq.m of floor area vs 36sq.m for the rooms in the new wing. The grounds were beautifully maintained with an army of cleaners beavering away the whole time.

Breakfast was included in our package and although the selection was decent (some cooked food, fresh fruit, yoghurt etc.), it was almost exactly the same every day so by the 4th day, we would have really welcomed new options. The a la carte menu for lunch and dinner had a good selection and prices were reasonable but again, it became a bit repetitive after a few days and we were relieved to find some other restaurants along the beach.

The resort is located on a nice beach that has a cosy feel to it but is not big enough for beach runs. The beach and the water are both very clean. The sand, though not of the white, fine talcum variety, is golden and soft enough. The snorkelling in the bay is exceptional with crystal clear water and an abundance of coral and fish. A baby black-tipped reef shark has elected residence there so divers can at least claim to have seen one shark during their stay! The dive centre on the premises is well-organised, with friendly staff and the equipment is in good order. We enjoyed diving with them even though we were disappointed by the large number of boats on the popular dive sites. We counted 8 in one spot, which would be equivalent to around 200 divers! I would have preferred to watch the marine fauna and flora rather than tanks and wetsuits but this seems to be unavoidable given the size of the island and number of dive locations.

We tried their massage services but the standard was disappointing. The masseuses turned out to be the resort waitresses! Finally, a free WIFI service is available throughout the resort but it can be a bit erratic. There were a couple of days when we had to wait for a few hours to get a connection but it was, on the whole, a small inconvenience.

Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
6  Thank Vavangue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2012

The room is big and the price is fair enough. Everything is perfect, especially the traditional thai foods, really delicious. Just that the massage I think is over price and the staff skill is not good enough. So is better not take any of these package. Snorkeling near the beach is fun too. And overall the staff are quite friendly and provide high quality of services.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank bachseng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Koh Tao hotels
2.3 mi away
Aminjirah Resort
Aminjirah Resort
#11 of 50 in Koh Tao
1,264 reviews
1.8 mi away
Haadtien Beach Resort
Haadtien Beach Resort
#14 of 50 in Koh Tao
1,532 reviews
1.5 mi away
Koh Tao Simple Life Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Charm Churee Villa
Charm Churee Villa
#19 of 50 in Koh Tao
966 reviews
2.2 mi away
Pinnacle Koh Tao Resort
Pinnacle Koh Tao Resort
#23 of 50 in Koh Tao
509 reviews
1.5 mi away
Ban's Diving Resort
Ban's Diving Resort
#6 of 50 in Koh Tao
2,309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Montalay Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Montalay Beach Resort

Address: 53 Moo 3, Tanote Bay, Koh Tao 84280, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Koh Tao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 50 Hotels in Koh Tao
Price Range: £24 - £55 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Montalay Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Montalay Beach Resort is a small to medium size hotel, locate in the eastern part of Koh Tao (Turtle Island) called "Ao Tanote". It is a beautiful secluded bay and is a great place for snorkeling and diving. Ideal for families with children or couples to chill and relax. All rooms, cottages and suites are close to the beach and nestled amongst the trees. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Expedia, Cancelon, HotelsClick, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Montalay Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing