We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Epic!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Montalay Beach Resort
Ranked #18 of 50 Hotels in Koh Tao
Reviewed 3 July 2013

First of Thailand is above all amazing and once you experience it for yourself it truly makes for wonderful stories to tell. Some friends, that I just met, and I were so pumped on doing a diving course we didn't really review anyone but ended up at the perfect place with the perfect people. I could say timing or fate? But what we had out of the diving instruction and how it accommodated to us was purely unbelievable. We did a advanced course and saw moray eels, scorpion fish, blue dot rays, cuttle fishes, and so much more on our night dive as well. I would say this place is definitely the place to come to because its a more secluded part of Koh Tao, when being taught how to dive you don't have a million other people with you, great equipment, amazing staff, amazing teachers who care about what you are doing, a beautiful beach that you could do some epic free diving and rock jumping off, be safe and look at where your landing, and just the overall vibe of the place was outstanding.
Montalay is one of those places you say: "Thank you for the memories and all the good times!"

Room Tip: Didn't stay in a room but when you dive the accommodation is included in the price which I would...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julianloyola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (683)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

234 - 240 of 683 reviews

Reviewed 25 June 2013

This place is something straight out of a dream! We had a stunning time here. It is really beautiful and set in the jungle. Make sure to walk up the hill and listen to some Thai Reggae at "Jah Bar." Massaman Curry was to die for. The accommodation is simple but clean. I would take a jungle cottage if you want to feel lost in time!

Room Tip: Jungle Suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LunaSwart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2013

We stayed at Montaley beach for 12 nights and had a thoroughly good time. Our room was spacious and very clean with a good bathroom and excellent balcony with glorious views over the sea. Breakfasts were good although the eggs on the buffet were always cold......even when we went down very early!

The swimming pool was always clean and a pleasure to swim in.

The beach is lovely with mostly soft sand and some areas that are shaded by trees. Snorkelling was enjoyable. The hotel transfer service from the port is interesting as you travel in the back of a pick-up truck!

Unfortunately, the hotel restaurant is fairly expensive for dinner, compared to other restaurants just a few steps along the beach.

Some of the staff were friendly and helpful but, unfortunately, others seemed that they "couldn't care less".

We hope to return to Koh Tao and will definitely stay at Montalay again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marjory1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2013

Stayed at Montalay for 5 nights. At first, I felt apprehensive from the negative comments about staff attitude on TA. I have to say, yes sure, some of the staff can be gruff but nothing more so than what I have experienced on other holidays. That said, more warmth and friendliness never hurts the business! Given it was low season, Montalay seemed pretty full so the facilities and quality of the resort seem to speak for themselves.

ROOM

Booked a Superior room, which are the newer rooms. Splendid for the price we paid. Great design, large bed, regularly changed towels, clean toilets, soap and shampoo provided, flat screen TV with surprisingly crisp resolution, HBO HD, FOX movies etc. Balcony overlooks lush greenery and a glimpse of the sea. My room was right in front of the Wifi router so connection speed was pretty decent. Wifi drops rather frequently but I found that if I refreshed my wifi signal, the connection comes back on easily.

Note that the resort is built on a rather steep slope so the nearest rooms - Superior- require a bit of a walk up a steep slope (you will see pics of this slope on other reviews). Some of the cottages are even further up the slope. There are stairs next to the slope so that may make the climb a bit easier. There is also no phone in the rooms so all requests have to be made at reception, which can be a real bother given the steep climb. This made it hard to order room service, massages or request for housekeeping. You only get 2 complimentary bottles of water every day. Extra 1.5L of water is available at reception for 30THB, cheapest in Tanote Bay that I have come across. Alternatively, get a 6L (54 THB) bottle from 7-11 at Koh Tao pier.

RESORT

The pool was a welcome respite from the sea. Several deck chairs positioned around the pool meant that there was always a deck chair available. Deck chairs were also available on the beach. However they are rather uncomfortable as they aren't full loungers. Some guests chose to skip over to the other resort on the left of the beach for their full length deck chairs.

Massages can be requested for from reception. 350THB for 60min of thai massage in their new, clean, spacious, airconditioned room was very enjoyable. The oil massages were more expensive at 650THB/hour. Masseuses goes home by 7pm, which is a bummer because we usually like to get our massages at night in order to maximise sun-catching time!

Breakfast was substantial. Food was pricer by about 20-40THB per dish. Menu was limited. I didnt try out the food at Montalay. Instead, we preferred the food from the other resort on the left (Family Tanote Bay) to the diners on the right of Montalay. Beware the old ketchup bottles at FTB though. Gave me food poisoning.

DIVING and SNORKELLING

Initially we considered diving with Master Divers due to the positive reviews on TA but we realised that getting to and from the dive centre from Montalay by cab (and on your own expense) was going to be too much of a hassle. We eventually chose to dive with Montalay at 1800THB for 2 dives with all equipment.

Diving was amazing at Shark Island. The amount of fish was impressive. Some of the best dives I have done in a while. Art, our dive guide, was friendly and helpful. He also gave us use of the fins for snorkelling at no extra charge for the duration of our stay! :)

I noticed that Montalay also had 2 airconditioned classrooms for those interested in taking their PADI dive license. Equipment was also well-maintained. I would recommend Montalay dive centre.

Snorkelling can be done right off the beach. The entire bay is filled with plenty of marine life! One will not be disappointed. This was also the reason we chose to stay at Tanote Bay instead of Sairee or other beaches. I sighted a blue-spotted ray, garoupas, triggerfish, angel fish, baby reef shark, and tons of other fish. Snorkelling round the headland on the left of the beach (in front of FTB) and on the right of the beach was in my opinion better than right in front of Montalay. It is also easier to get into the sea from those areas away from the shallow coral.

If you are looking for R&R, seclusion and great snorkelling, Montalay is the place to be. Would return.

Room Tip: Superior rooms are the newer rooms. First floor rooms are closer to the reception and beach if you d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank flover81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2013

We stayed at Montalay for 3 nights and it was everything we expected. The location is stunning with perfect snorkling and beach. Our room was immaculate and modern. The location is remote but the hotel offers a Taxi service (which is an experience!) The food was really good. Kiat one the employees at the hotel was really helpful and arranged a private longboat trip for us around the island. We were picked up from the beach and taken to lots of snorkling hotspots, safe to say that the beach at Montalay was one of the best for snorkling which was a bonus! All in all a great place to stay for a few nights of complete relaxation and escape.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Louise H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2013

Good Points:

1. pretty location.
2. ok for snorkeling.
3. nice poll.
4. clean resort.

Bad Points:

1. Expect to pay 4-5 times the going rate on everything: A main course can cost up to 550 baht without rice! a bottle of water costs 30-40 baht (depending on who sells it to you), a mini market is available but prices are identical to the restaurant.

2. I left my beach towels on my chair at the pool while going for a quick look at the beach (10 mins) when i got back both my towels had been removed and a was told i had to pay 1,000 baht fine. WHEN TRYING TO EXPLAIN WHAT HAD HAPPEN THE GUY AT RECEPTION KEPT LAUGHING AT THE FACT I HAD TO PAY AN EXTRA 1,000 BAHT TO THE HOTEL AND WAS VERY RUDE.

3. To get out of the resort (taxi service) will cost you a minimum 300 baht (2 people). I was told by a Montalay employee (at the pier before booking) that it takes 20 mins to walk to Sairee Beach but it will actually take you 1 hour and 50 mins each way!

4 some rooms have a shared bathroom/shower this is not mentioned when asking about rooms/rates before you get to the resort.

5. very bad internet 40sec - 2mins per page load you'll give up after a while.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank jon s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2013

We have stayed at the montalay during our diving course of the budha view. I would recommend anyone who is given the choice between the montalay and budha view to go to budha view, unless you have a high appreciation for solitairy. As the only real plus is the location, which is far from the towns at koh tao. Also the bay at which the resort is located is excellent for snorkling, as long as you be careful around the rubbish (lots of broken glass) on the beach.

The room we stayed in was covered with spots of smashed bugs and during our stay we have een our share of bugs (lucky no spiders though). Positive point is the abundance of butterflies at this resort, which almost compensates the other less appealing aspects (the filth).

As such we considered the location very good, however due to the lesser hygiëne and bugs we were not able to relax as planned.

If you go to the montalay or anywhere in koh tao, be sure to go diving as the sea live is amazing!

Dus niet echt geweldig, maar heeft zn sterke punten.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ML_and_JV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Koh Tao hotels
2.3 mi away
Aminjirah Resort
Aminjirah Resort
#11 of 50 in Koh Tao
1,264 reviews
1.8 mi away
Haadtien Beach Resort
Haadtien Beach Resort
#15 of 50 in Koh Tao
1,532 reviews
1.5 mi away
Koh Tao Simple Life Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Thalassa Hotel
Thalassa Hotel
#7 of 50 in Koh Tao
534 reviews
2.0 mi away
Charm Churee Villa
Charm Churee Villa
#19 of 50 in Koh Tao
965 reviews
2.2 mi away
Pinnacle Koh Tao Resort
Pinnacle Koh Tao Resort
#23 of 50 in Koh Tao
509 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Montalay Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Montalay Beach Resort

Address: 53 Moo 3, Tanote Bay, Koh Tao 84280, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Koh Tao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 50 Hotels in Koh Tao
Price Range: £24 - £52 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Montalay Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Montalay Beach Resort is a small to medium size hotel, locate in the eastern part of Koh Tao (Turtle Island) called "Ao Tanote". It is a beautiful secluded bay and is a great place for snorkeling and diving. Ideal for families with children or couples to chill and relax. All rooms, cottages and suites are close to the beach and nestled amongst the trees. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Expedia, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Montalay Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing