We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Montalay Beach Resort
Ranked #17 of 50 Hotels in Koh Tao
Reviewed 6 April 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here. All the staff were friendly and helpful and the food was good. (Perhaps a little more choice at breakfast e.g. range of cereals and milk). Drinks we found a little too expensive though! The resort is by the beach and is fairly quiet. If you like parties and shops this is not the place to go, stick to the west coast. We like quieter places with few shops and had a great time here. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matt D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (690)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

194 - 200 of 690 reviews

Reviewed 4 April 2014

I was very satisfied with Montalay. We were returning to Koh Tao after visiting 10 years ago and knew we wanted to be on the side of the island away from Sairee Beach ( this is the party beach area of Koh Tao) as we had last time - snorkelling from the shore is good here. We stayed for 5 nights in the standard room and also a standard bungalow ( both with fan, not AC). This place is super value for money.The rooms in the building are large, big windows, balconies, modern looking. The bunglaows are a bit more breezy but older - my husband actually liked them better. Both had flat screen TVs with several English channels including HBO. The restaurant had really good food - not gourmet, but thoughtfully prepared and portion size is generous - we didn't bother eating anywhere else. Staff are very helpful and friendly.They run daily scheduled taxi service to a couple of locations on the island which is convenient. There is massage service on site, they have a playroom for kids and a dive school. Having the pool is such a bonus - the water was rough for a couple days during our stay so snorkelling visibility was low, and lots of debris was floating around the sea - no problem, we just lounged poolside. Once the weather changes, the snorkelling in Tanote Bay is lovely and coming back to a cold beer by the pool is a great treat. This is the place to go if you are looking to relax, lounge, and have days filled with pool - snorkel- snooze - read- eat - repeat and dont want to break your bank account. Its not a party place and there is no shopping etc around - for that take a taxi to the other side of Koh Tao when you need to.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank B T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2014 via mobile

It takes time to get their and we had about 5 near-death experiences then we felt like being in paradise. The beach is perfect for chilling the water perfect for snorkelling and there is even a Rock for jumping. The restaurant was ok but a bit expensive. Be sure to visit a grocery before you head to the resort. Water and something to eat. The are just perfect. Big, clean and with a nice balcony.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
2  Thank Umut B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2014

Absolutely worth the price paid(22€/night). A bit far from the centre but a good place to stay for a couple of nights. The breakfast is relatively expensive, so make sure it's included in your booking.

Nice little pool by the restaurant and the beach, good variety of coral and fish when snorkeling straight from the beach.

Room was very clean and spacious even with an extra bed, bathroom was modern.

If you get tired of the restaurants menu you can visit the next hotel just 5 minutes walk away.

Part of the road from the center to the hotel is quite bad, so keep that in mind when renting a scooter. The taxi is not that expensive.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Oskari H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2014

The Montalay Beach Resort is in a great location if you want a quiet relaxing stay the beach is great for snorkelling although the waves increased during our stay making it less good. The rooms are nice and well appointed I would have preferred a higher one which would have had a balcony and a view however our garden room was fine for the price. The taxis from the resort charge 100B each way for the journey to Sairee beach area although this is ok I don't think they should charge for the return trip to the ferry ( collection was free). This resort is not for those wanting nightlife or lots of choice of restaurants bars etc as there are only 4 other places you can walk along the beach to. Although the food was nice at the resort we mainly chose to eat elsewhere because of the poor service. There was just no organisation or system in the restaurant, my partners meal arrived 50 minutes before mine and we were not alone in this meals were frequently delivered to the wrong table. I understand that food is freshly cooked and things do not always arrive at exactly the same time but the other places on this beach offered better service and managed to get things right. The staff were not very friendly and everything semed to cause them to go into a blind panic if they could just get this right it would greatly improve the experience of those staying here. The pool beach and rooms are great so it was such a shame - maybe a manager is needed?

Room Tip: Higher beach facing rooms would be better than the "garden rooms"
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank susie186220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2014

Hotel is very nice and comfortable. Cheerful and not crowded beach with a reef, you can barrow snorkelling equipment and arrange a one day snorkelling trip at the reception desk. It's placed at the the end of a hilly! road that takes about 10-15 min motorbike/scooter ride to Ko Tao Pier. Nice pool by the restaurant. Friendly stuff, a peaceful place worth to recommend.

Room Tip: from a higher floor you can get a better view at the bay
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LeeHoWwa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2014

NIce view, nice pool, nice room and at the beach! Almost nothing bad to say about this hotel. The only "bad" thing was, that there aren't that many restaurants and stores at Tanote bay, so you will have to take a taxi or scooter to go somewhere else.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Oonacivi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Koh Tao hotels
2.3 mi away
Aminjirah Resort
Aminjirah Resort
#11 of 50 in Koh Tao
1,274 reviews
1.5 mi away
Koh Tao Simple Life Resort
1.8 mi away
Haadtien Beach Resort
Haadtien Beach Resort
#15 of 50 in Koh Tao
1,551 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Thalassa Hotel
Thalassa Hotel
#8 of 50 in Koh Tao
537 reviews
2.1 mi away
Charm Churee Villa
Charm Churee Villa
#19 of 50 in Koh Tao
970 reviews
2.2 mi away
Pinnacle Koh Tao Resort
Pinnacle Koh Tao Resort
#23 of 50 in Koh Tao
512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Montalay Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Montalay Beach Resort

Address: 53 Moo 3, Tanote Bay, Koh Tao 84280, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Koh Tao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 50 Hotels in Koh Tao
Price Range: £24 - £56 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Montalay Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Montalay Beach Resort is a small to medium size hotel, locate in the eastern part of Koh Tao (Turtle Island) called "Ao Tanote". It is a beautiful secluded bay and is a great place for snorkeling and diving. Ideal for families with children or couples to chill and relax. All rooms, cottages and suites are close to the beach and nestled amongst the trees. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, HotelsClick, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Montalay Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing