We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Karina S
Adelaide, Australia

Bit older, but still a great place!!!

4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 10 May 2019
My friend and me spent 4 days in Montalay, 2 days in a tree top cottage and 2 in a garden cottage. The tree cottages are cute and robust and have a view on the sea from up there, but we had to climb A LOT of stairs up the hill.
The staff was very helpful and brought our luggage all upstairs. The staff anyway was very friendly and very attentive, we had several requests and they promptly solved them all! A big thumbs up to them!
The garden cottage was more spacier, no sea view anymore, but much lesser steps :-)
The restaurant offered a wide rage of food and it always looked exactly like on the photos in the menu card and we were never disappointed, all tasted really very good! Breakfast is buffet-style with American and local food, salad and fruits, also all tasty!
The resort is located on the quieter side of the island, which was great to arrive and chill first, before doing all the activities offered on the "main side" of the island, where also the pier is located. There are shuttles going forth and back several times a day for 100 Bt one way p.p.
Rent a bike only if you are a very experienced driver!!! We saw many guests who had accidents on the really dangerous steep curves (you have to cross the hill in the middle of the island to reach the other side), it looked even dangerous with the 4x4 shuttles...
We all in all had some good holidays in the Montalay :-)
Date of stay: May 2019
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
£38
  • Priceline
  • Vio.com
  • StayForLong
1.5 miles from Montalay Beach Resort
Pool
Beachfront
£116
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    £110
  • Agoda.com
    £98
  • Vio.com
1.5 miles from Montalay Beach Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
breakfast in our room
£62
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    £39
  • Vio.com
2.3 miles from Montalay Beach Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
£94
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    £140
  • Agoda.com
    £75
  • Priceline
1.7 miles from Montalay Beach Resort
Free Wifi
Pool
Cape Shark
£99
Fully refundable
  • Trip.com
  • Agoda.com
    £86
  • Expedia.com
    £150
1.6 miles from Montalay Beach Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
View
£72
  • Priceline
  • Vio.com
  • Trip.com
1.8 miles from Montalay Beach Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
£59
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    £47
  • Vio.com
1.7 miles from Montalay Beach Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
The Pool at the Koh Tao Beach Club
£41
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    £33
  • Expedia.com
    £48
1.5 miles from Montalay Beach Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
£60
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    £45
  • Expedia.com
    £64
3.2 miles from Montalay Beach Resort
Beachfront
Restaurant
Go to your Happy Price
  • Expedia.com
    £105
  • Agoda.com
    £89
  • Hotels.com
    £98
1.9 miles from Montalay Beach Resort
Free parking
Pool
View more hotels in Koh Tao
Reviews (827)
Filter reviews
827 results
Traveller rating
269
321
123
60
54
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
269
321
123
60
54
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
25 - 30 of 827 reviews
Reviewed 8 May 2019 via mobile

The hotel is situated in a small bay with a nice beach and good possibilities for snorkeling and diving.
The staff is nice, friendly and helpful, but.... there were bedbugs in our room.... two matrasses full of bugs.
When we confronted the personal, they dealt with it professionally - showing we were not the first with that problem. They offered us the washing of our clothes a d a free ride to the pier. Asking for a monetary compensation... one of us bitten all over the body, and me only bitten badly in one arm and shoulders.. they offered one night free(out of eight) after the staff checking with the responsible. The "responsible" was not present for us, because I was not any more content how they handled it.
The bugs and and the impossibility of not being able to talk to anybody who was in charge of decisions left a bad taste on our stay.
I don't know to recommend or not the hotel, they seem to have a bedbug problem.

Date of stay: April 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
5  Thank frotrik
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 12 April 2019 via mobile

First off Montalay was very gracious to change my booking dates when Agoda was not at no charge. So many thanks to their staff! They also had a free shuttle to the resort from the peir. Our first room was the treetop cottage with AC and we upgraded for a small fee to the superior room because these cottages we're run down and moldy even in the dry season it was bad. So don't even think of booking those things until they upgrade them. The superior room was perfect. Only minor detraction was the building AC was weak on really hot days. The setting is fantastic if you like to get away from the crowded side of the island. Nice gardens, pool, beach area, but the dive shop sold us on the whole experience. See my other review of the dive shop. Snorkeling right off the beach on Tanote Bay was delightful. The sand is quite coarse so def. bring good sandals. The food unfortunately was not so great. We live in North Thailand so we can say it's okay, not good. The bummer is the stand alone bar wedged in between the pool and the beach is not owned by Montalay so forget the idea of a nice romantic meal on the beach as the owner of the bar cranks up his profane repetitive music so you can't think or talk. We moved our table and chairs 10 meters away in the dark and couldn't see our food. Anyways, theres a decent Thai food eatery right on the beach 100 meters down that caters to the whole idea of romance and gets the business. The day staff is super helpful but the night staff is pretty cranky to be honest. All in all, if you follow my tips, you'll have a fantastic time for a great value!

Date of stay: April 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank mntmedia
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 31 March 2019 via mobile

We stayed here in Tanote bay for some quiet time and relaxation. There is not much there at all, but that was fine for us. We could hire snorkels for 50THB for the day and the snorkelling great, water calm and very quiet in terms of boats coming to the bay. The hotel was OK. We had to pay 600THB per day for air con (50% of the price of our room...) and I don’t recall having an option at the time of booking. The bed was rock solid, the sheets had stains and there were marks up the wall in the room. The towels are thin and our beach towels were not replaced during our stay. We ate at the restaurant one night and the service was abrupt. One morning we asked for coffees (we didn’t have breakfast included) and we were refused and told to wait 20 minutes. Not many endearing qualities about this hotel but if you just want a base somewhere quiet for diving or snorkelling, then it could be an option.

Date of stay: March 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank LondonDan09
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 22 March 2019

I like Tanote Bay as it is less crowded and a great place to snorkel and relax. This is NOT the party side of Koh Tao! I stayed in one of the 'treehouses' (fan bungalow across the road and up in the trees, but with a view of the sea) and really loved it. The fan was all I needed as there was a sea breeze that kept it from getting too hot and it felt very private. If you have any problem with stairs, however, the bungalows are not for you and I would suggest the hotel itself. The pool was small but nice and the food was really good!
I would stay here again.

Room tip: The bungalows are lovely but do not have a/c and you need to be able to walk up a lot of stairs.
Date of stay: March 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Ruth Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 3 March 2019

Stayed here last January, the snorkeling is great however the beach is a bit dirty because of the garbage coming from the other island. I suggest choose other months when sea is calm than January because of the sea waves that bring dirt. Rooms and food are ok too. Staff are friendly and my first time to meet hotel staff in thailand that speak very good in english!

Date of stay: January 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank kellysheer
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews