We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
kerstinlarss0n
Stockholm, Sweden

Quiet and lots of nature

4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 21 Nov 2019
Montalay resort is located in a small bay with wonderful snorkeling and excellent diving opportunities. Robert, the dive instructor, makes you feel welcome and takes you to good dive sites without any hurry both under and over the surface, everything is allowed to take time and you can really enjoy the trips. The staff is always there to help you and get you drinks or answers your questions. Since we were there on low season you must know that it is VERY quiet in Tanote bay. The restaurant and bar closes just after 8 pm and there are no other places to go. If you want more night life, do not go here. If you enjoy nature and quiet easy life, go there! We liked it very much!
Date of stay: November 2019
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
£92
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    £92
1.5 miles from Montalay Beach Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
£140
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Algotels
1.7 miles from Montalay Beach Resort
Free Wifi
Pool
View
£95
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    £95
1.8 miles from Montalay Beach Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
Cape Shark
£151
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    £151
1.6 miles from Montalay Beach Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
£56
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
    £56
1.7 miles from Montalay Beach Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Algotels
  • ZenHotels.com
    £48
  • Hotels.com
1.5 miles from Montalay Beach Resort
Pool
Beachfront
breakfast in our room
  • Agoda.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £126
  • Priceline
2.3 miles from Montalay Beach Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    £105
  • eDreams
1.9 miles from Montalay Beach Resort
Free parking
Pool
The Pool at the Koh Tao Beach Club
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
    £34
  • eDreams
1.5 miles from Montalay Beach Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
    £65
  • eDreams
3.2 miles from Montalay Beach Resort
Beachfront
Restaurant
View more hotels in Koh Tao
Reviews (828)
Filter reviews
828 results
Traveller rating
270
321
123
60
54
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
270
321
123
60
54
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
23 - 28 of 828 reviews
Reviewed 26 August 2019 via mobile

Stayed here for two nights to experience the quieter side of Koh Tao. We stayed in one of the treetop cottages which were spacious and had a nice balcony/veranda but was dirty. The sheets were washed but still had stains on them. The snorkeling, however, is great, we even saw two reef sharks on several occasions! The view from the cottage is also incredible.

The food at Montalay is a bit pricey, especially since the quality is quite poor. My partner even got sick on our last night there (only ate here during our brief stay). The service is okay as in: food gets out quick, orders are taken quickly but the staff doesn't really seem to care, barely say anything. There's an exception though, one guy (don't know his name) was super kind and welcoming!

All in all, maybe if you stay in another type of room and eat different food, Montalay could provide a decent stay. But based on our experience, we definitely don't recommend staying or eating here.

Date of stay: August 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank KimSchw
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 14 August 2019 via mobile

First beach we visited at Koh Tao and it did not disappoint. The water is clear and has some marine life. At first I was hesitant to accept the room because it’s at the hill, I thought I was booking a beach level room. But turns out great because it forced to have some exercise to go up and down 91 staircase steps exactly between the room and beach.

Staff are very nice esp Kiet who served us food day and night. He’s the most passionate staff at the hotel because he always asks and checks if everything is ok.

The room for its price is very reasonable because there is water heater, TV, coffee making things, and a good view of the sea.

Date of stay: August 2019
1  Thank Wendy V
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 10 May 2019

My friend and me spent 4 days in Montalay, 2 days in a tree top cottage and 2 in a garden cottage. The tree cottages are cute and robust and have a view on the sea from up there, but we had to climb A LOT of stairs up the hill.
The staff was very helpful and brought our luggage all upstairs. The staff anyway was very friendly and very attentive, we had several requests and they promptly solved them all! A big thumbs up to them!
The garden cottage was more spacier, no sea view anymore, but much lesser steps :-)
The restaurant offered a wide rage of food and it always looked exactly like on the photos in the menu card and we were never disappointed, all tasted really very good! Breakfast is buffet-style with American and local food, salad and fruits, also all tasty!
The resort is located on the quieter side of the island, which was great to arrive and chill first, before doing all the activities offered on the "main side" of the island, where also the pier is located. There are shuttles going forth and back several times a day for 100 Bt one way p.p.
Rent a bike only if you are a very experienced driver!!! We saw many guests who had accidents on the really dangerous steep curves (you have to cross the hill in the middle of the island to reach the other side), it looked even dangerous with the 4x4 shuttles...
We all in all had some good holidays in the Montalay :-)

Date of stay: May 2019
Thank Karina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 8 May 2019 via mobile

The hotel is situated in a small bay with a nice beach and good possibilities for snorkeling and diving.
The staff is nice, friendly and helpful, but.... there were bedbugs in our room.... two matrasses full of bugs.
When we confronted the personal, they dealt with it professionally - showing we were not the first with that problem. They offered us the washing of our clothes a d a free ride to the pier. Asking for a monetary compensation... one of us bitten all over the body, and me only bitten badly in one arm and shoulders.. they offered one night free(out of eight) after the staff checking with the responsible. The "responsible" was not present for us, because I was not any more content how they handled it.
The bugs and and the impossibility of not being able to talk to anybody who was in charge of decisions left a bad taste on our stay.
I don't know to recommend or not the hotel, they seem to have a bedbug problem.

Date of stay: April 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
5  Thank frotrik
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 12 April 2019 via mobile

First off Montalay was very gracious to change my booking dates when Agoda was not at no charge. So many thanks to their staff! They also had a free shuttle to the resort from the peir. Our first room was the treetop cottage with AC and we upgraded for a small fee to the superior room because these cottages we're run down and moldy even in the dry season it was bad. So don't even think of booking those things until they upgrade them. The superior room was perfect. Only minor detraction was the building AC was weak on really hot days. The setting is fantastic if you like to get away from the crowded side of the island. Nice gardens, pool, beach area, but the dive shop sold us on the whole experience. See my other review of the dive shop. Snorkeling right off the beach on Tanote Bay was delightful. The sand is quite coarse so def. bring good sandals. The food unfortunately was not so great. We live in North Thailand so we can say it's okay, not good. The bummer is the stand alone bar wedged in between the pool and the beach is not owned by Montalay so forget the idea of a nice romantic meal on the beach as the owner of the bar cranks up his profane repetitive music so you can't think or talk. We moved our table and chairs 10 meters away in the dark and couldn't see our food. Anyways, theres a decent Thai food eatery right on the beach 100 meters down that caters to the whole idea of romance and gets the business. The day staff is super helpful but the night staff is pretty cranky to be honest. All in all, if you follow my tips, you'll have a fantastic time for a great value!

Date of stay: April 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank mntmedia
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews