We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
sandyanne1970
Hartley Wintney, United Kingdom

Poor customer service...

2.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 18 Jan 2020via mobile
We arrived early and was given our key to a Eco cottage which we thought was lovely. Spent some time at the gorgeous bar Lai Beach and decided to stay another night and upgrade to another sea view room for the second night. We had a slight fall off our bike earlier in the day and asked if we could change room as the double bed was tiny and sharing would be a problem due to bruising - we paid the extra 400bht. My sister explained that she wasnt very well and had some breathing problems.

The rude man on reception gave the bell boy the key for a seaview cottage. This cottage was so far away from the beach and in the treetops with no path, dirty and not far too many steeps. My sister's breathing was awful.

We traipsed back down again to reception.

I then explained we needed a room closer to the amenities. We were told only one available right next to the bins and carpark area. The room had twin beds and I was miffed as at least 4 other ones were empty. Gave up requesting anything as he was so rude ... Not one member of staff seemed to give a hoot... Miserable lot.

Rough night sleep, mosquito bites, noisy fan, cochroch in shower room, dusty tissues.... cold pool..

I am not normally a person who complains ... The location is lovely and it would of been great.
Date of stay: January 2020
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
  • Expedia.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £50
  • Algotels
1.5 miles from Montalay Beach Resort
Pool
Beachfront
  • Expedia.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £115
  • Hotels.com
1.5 miles from Montalay Beach Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £121
  • Hotels.com
1.7 miles from Montalay Beach Resort
Free Wifi
Pool
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £63
  • Hotels.com
1.1 miles from Montalay Beach Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
View
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £77
  • Hotels.com
1.8 miles from Montalay Beach Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    £99
  • Priceline
1.9 miles from Montalay Beach Resort
Free parking
Pool
The Pool at the Koh Tao Beach Club
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £56
  • Hotels.com
1.5 miles from Montalay Beach Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £64
  • Hotels.com
1.7 miles from Montalay Beach Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Expedia.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £60
  • Hotels.com
1.5 miles from Montalay Beach Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    £64
  • Priceline
3.2 miles from Montalay Beach Resort
Beachfront
Restaurant
View more hotels in Koh Tao
Reviews (826)
Filter reviews
826 results
Traveller rating
268
321
123
60
54
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
268
321
123
60
54
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
19 - 24 of 826 reviews
Reviewed 3 January 2020 via mobile

Hello,
I went there with my family (because we are not in the Hotel) and we were at the beach. The restaurant is really good !! And it’s not too long so I really recommend it ! Thank you for your hospitality !

Date of stay: January 2020
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank lucygregoire
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 21 November 2019

Montalay resort is located in a small bay with wonderful snorkeling and excellent diving opportunities. Robert, the dive instructor, makes you feel welcome and takes you to good dive sites without any hurry both under and over the surface, everything is allowed to take time and you can really enjoy the trips. The staff is always there to help you and get you drinks or answers your questions. Since we were there on low season you must know that it is VERY quiet in Tanote bay. The restaurant and bar closes just after 8 pm and there are no other places to go. If you want more night life, do not go here. If you enjoy nature and quiet easy life, go there! We liked it very much!

Date of stay: November 2019
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kerstinlarss0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 26 August 2019 via mobile

Stayed here for two nights to experience the quieter side of Koh Tao. We stayed in one of the treetop cottages which were spacious and had a nice balcony/veranda but was dirty. The sheets were washed but still had stains on them. The snorkeling, however, is great, we even saw two reef sharks on several occasions! The view from the cottage is also incredible.

The food at Montalay is a bit pricey, especially since the quality is quite poor. My partner even got sick on our last night there (only ate here during our brief stay). The service is okay as in: food gets out quick, orders are taken quickly but the staff doesn't really seem to care, barely say anything. There's an exception though, one guy (don't know his name) was super kind and welcoming!

All in all, maybe if you stay in another type of room and eat different food, Montalay could provide a decent stay. But based on our experience, we definitely don't recommend staying or eating here.

Date of stay: August 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank KimSchw
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 14 August 2019 via mobile

First beach we visited at Koh Tao and it did not disappoint. The water is clear and has some marine life. At first I was hesitant to accept the room because it’s at the hill, I thought I was booking a beach level room. But turns out great because it forced to have some exercise to go up and down 91 staircase steps exactly between the room and beach.

Staff are very nice esp Kiet who served us food day and night. He’s the most passionate staff at the hotel because he always asks and checks if everything is ok.

The room for its price is very reasonable because there is water heater, TV, coffee making things, and a good view of the sea.

Date of stay: August 2019
1  Thank Wendy V
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 10 May 2019

My friend and me spent 4 days in Montalay, 2 days in a tree top cottage and 2 in a garden cottage. The tree cottages are cute and robust and have a view on the sea from up there, but we had to climb A LOT of stairs up the hill.
The staff was very helpful and brought our luggage all upstairs. The staff anyway was very friendly and very attentive, we had several requests and they promptly solved them all! A big thumbs up to them!
The garden cottage was more spacier, no sea view anymore, but much lesser steps :-)
The restaurant offered a wide rage of food and it always looked exactly like on the photos in the menu card and we were never disappointed, all tasted really very good! Breakfast is buffet-style with American and local food, salad and fruits, also all tasty!
The resort is located on the quieter side of the island, which was great to arrive and chill first, before doing all the activities offered on the "main side" of the island, where also the pier is located. There are shuttles going forth and back several times a day for 100 Bt one way p.p.
Rent a bike only if you are a very experienced driver!!! We saw many guests who had accidents on the really dangerous steep curves (you have to cross the hill in the middle of the island to reach the other side), it looked even dangerous with the 4x4 shuttles...
We all in all had some good holidays in the Montalay :-)

Date of stay: May 2019
Thank Karina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews