We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great European taste”
Review of Taste of Home

Taste of Home
Ranked #11 of 181 Restaurants in Koh Tao
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$4 - US$11
Cuisines: European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Home style western and european cuisine in a great open air location on Thailand s most wanted island, Koh Tao.
Zurich, The Netherlands
2 reviews
“Great European taste”
Reviewed 9 April 2014 via mobile

Good good food. Large portions and great Bailey...homemade. Recommended. Not the most accessible or the nicest in terms of style and decor but what it's matters... And that is food...is good! Even the goulash is good and I used to live in Hungary!:)

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Robert S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

402 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    334
    44
    14
    2
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok, Thailand
1 review
“Best food on the island….”
Reviewed 31 March 2014

I'm living on the island since 1,5 years now and every week it is Mega Wiener Schnitzel time for me to get a little "home-feeling". Uschi is unic and always friendly and the food is amazing. The location of the restaurant is beautiful and out of the crowd of sairee next to a little five shop. Please keep on going like this Uschi!!!!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DirkKlickermann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denmark
Level Contributor
70 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“D E L I C I O US - a must-taste when you're on Koh Tao”
Reviewed 25 March 2014 via mobile

After travelling around in Thailand for some weeks, we decided to go back to Koh Tao for 2 reasons:

1)The Beach
2) A Taste of Home

Always amazing food, always the best service!

Will go back to Koh Tao again next year just for Ushi's Turkish Meatballs.

Helpful?
Thank Leyla82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“very very good”
Reviewed 2 March 2014

This is a wounderful Little Restaurant. While we travel for six Months it was good to have once in a while a real Wiener Schnitzel, it was perfect.
Uschi the Owner is very nice and can help you what ever you Need. The Portions are huge, we ate one schnitzel for me and my two Kids.
The Location is very nice and the Staff also very friendly.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank scubadany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Koh Lanta
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
“Basic western food”
Reviewed 17 February 2014 via mobile

The restaurant seemed crowded and based on the good reviews, we decided to visit the place. I had Swedish meatballs and my boyfriend had German sausages. The meatballs and smashed potatoes were strangely tasteless and had too much tomato sauce in it. The german sausages were very dry and the portion surprisingly small.

The waiter was friendly. Maybe it was just an unique "bad food day" for that night, but we were left dissapointed.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank TeiTei_travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Taste of Home also viewed

Koh Tao, Surat Thani Province
Koh Tao, Surat Thani Province
 
Koh Tao, Surat Thani Province
Koh Tao, Surat Thani Province
 

Been to Taste of Home? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing