We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Accomodation on Koh Tao”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Chalisa Villas

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Chalisa Villas
Ranked #5 of 74 Koh Tao B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
“Best Accomodation on Koh Tao”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 December 2012

Let me start by saying I wish the Alila Villa was my house. The villa is lovely inside with plenty of space. The private plung pool was amazing as well and the location is great. Belynda was such a fantastic host, everything that we could have possibly needed was catered for. I intend to go back and stay here again. LOVED IT!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Loie_Lamb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    156
    21
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
61
56
3
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level Contributor
48 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2012

My friend and I came to Koh Tao for (what else) diving. Staying at Alila was possibly the best choice we made on our trip. Belynda arranged taxi pickup for us and Kung met us at the villa to give us the lowdown. Belynda really thought of everything to make the villa your home away from home: a cell phone was provided to reach Belynda and Kung and to make local calls; delivery menus were available; a binder full of recommendations of pretty much everything you need to know about your stay on Koh Tao, including restaurant recommendations; fully-equipped kitchen; magic box with lots of movies & tv shows; the list goes on. The villa is beautiful and is as pictured on Agoda - the beds are comfortable, as is the enormous couch, and there is an outdoor area with a patio set, hammock, lounge chairs, and plunge pool. There is a safe in the villa, which is not noted on the Agoda listing. The villa is about a 5 minute walk away from the Sairee beach main strip and a 10 minute walk away from the beach, far away enough from the buzz to enjoy island life but close enough that you don't need to rent a scooter. There is a convenience store directly across the villa. All in all, I can't imagine any other accommodations that could even come close to beating Alila, bang for buck. The impeccable service was what I personally valued the most - we emailed Belynda at 11:30pm the night before our arrival and Belynda answered within 5 minutes. Unbelievable!

Restaurant Tip: Barracuda was the best restaurant we visited, fresh seafood being the main fare. As for Thai food, we got sucked in by Su Chilli and mainly ate there. Zanzi had very good sandwiches (may I add these were all Belynda's recommendations for which we were very thankful).

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mellymelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bayreuth, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2012

We stayed 4 nights at Alila Villas and it was just amazing. Belynda helped us with everything. She organized my diving course, our tickets back to Bangkok, the motorbike rent and so on... The house itself is really huge, especially for just 2 persons. It has a great outdoor area with the small pool and the hammock. You also get a phone with which you can order food and call Belynda whenever you want. All in all was Koh Tao just perfect.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Madlen J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Koh Tao
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2012

We stayed in the 1 bedroom villa for 4 nights in October 2012. Belynda, the owner, was incredibly helpful from the moment I booked. It was my boyfriends birthday whilst we were staying and belynda planned an amazing day for him, from a snorkelling trip through to private chef and even a birthday cake. I wouldn't have been able to do any of this myself and Belynda made it all possible. It was a fantastic day!

The Villa itself is very clean, modern and spacious. The outdoor area is really great, the hammock was lovely and the pool was great to have a dip in to cool down. The location is a 10 minute stroll from Sairee Beach, this meant it was in a great quiet stop but close enough to the action.

I would highly recommend the villa, to couple, family, or friends .... you wont be disappointed!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leighmcd26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2012

I stayed in Alila Villas with three friends and we had a great time! It is perfectly situated, 5 min walk to town and beach and 5 mins to the Ferry. There is a little shop just round the corner and the restaurants deliver within 20 mins to the villa! The pool is perfect for cooling down in, and the seats/ hammock around the pool make it a lovely place to relax. Belynda is extremely helpful and knowledgable of the island and helped us rent out a jeep for a day, and helped us book our snorkling expedition. She also helped massively with our journey back to Bangkok. The Villa itself is clean and is suitable for everyone. With two big double bedrooms, a big lounge and a kitchen the Villa is very spacious and safe with lockable gates. We are definitiely staying there again!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Imy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poulton le Fylde,Lancashire, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2012

The villa is situated within 5 minutes’ walk from the main town/beach and is about a 5 minute drive from the port. There is a local shop selling groceries, drinks and toiletries next door to the villa.

The villa is perfect for everybody; a couple, 2 couples, a family or a group of friends. I went with a couple and a young child (20 months old) which worked really well. The villa is very secure with 2 locked gates. It has a plunge pool which is great for a cool down. There is a table and chairs under a canopy next to the pool for those who require shade. The villa itself has a large lounge and kitchen area, 2 big bedrooms - both with double beds, a bathroom with a shower and toilet and a spacious secure terrace with a small gate. We stayed at the villa for 10 days, it was cleaned every 3 days when we were also given clean towels.

Belynda (landlady) was brilliant and very helpful. We couldn’t have asked for anybody better. She gave us a mobile to contact her on if we needed anything.

We will definitely stay here again if we return to Koh Tao. I will be recommending Alila Villas
to anybody I know visiting the island.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LivSimmons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aarhus, Denmark
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2012

Dear Belynda.
My family and me stayed at your villa in 10 days, and we loved it.
Your villa are perfekt for a family holiday, two rooms and a lovey little pool.
Thank you very much for all your help,

Peter, Denmark

Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank ph1842
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Koh Tao hotels
0.8 mi away
Aminjirah Resort
Aminjirah Resort
#10 of 49 in Koh Tao
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,181 reviews
2.5 mi away
Haadtien Beach Resort
Haadtien Beach Resort
#17 of 49 in Koh Tao
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,406 reviews
1.6 mi away
Sensi Paradise
Sensi Paradise
#6 of 49 in Koh Tao
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Monkey Flower Villas
Monkey Flower Villas
#2 of 49 in Koh Tao
5.0 of 5 bubbles 322 reviews
2.5 mi away
Jamahkiri Resort & Spa
Jamahkiri Resort & Spa
#4 of 49 in Koh Tao
4.5 of 5 bubbles 825 reviews
0.7 mi away
Ban's Diving Resort
Ban's Diving Resort
#5 of 49 in Koh Tao
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,086 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chalisa Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chalisa Villas

Property: Chalisa Villas
Address: Sairee Village, Koh Tao 84360, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Koh Tao
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 74 B&Bs / Inns in Koh Tao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chalisa Villas are a family-run establishment, hidden in an old coconut plantation amongst other homes and privately owned villas. We are a perfect retreat for couples, families or friends wanting to enjoy the tranquility of island life combined with spacious living at a reasonable price. Our resort consists of two holiday villas. Each villa has two bedrooms, kitchen, own private pool and out door patio providing a balance of comfort, luxury and style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Chalisa Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing