We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great rooms, good value for money.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ananda Villa

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Ananda Villa
Ranked #12 of 135 Speciality Lodging in Koh Tao
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
84 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Great rooms, good value for money.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2013

Not party central but a lot of great restaurants and bars near by.

Staff friendly helpful and accommodating. I lost my adapter and they lent me one for the duration of my staff free of charge.

If you want your room cleaned you just need to leave a sign on your door.

Good value for money. Pictures highly accurate. Fan rooms arn't too hot like some I've stayed in before. Well designed. Would defiantly stay again.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rose B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

211 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    82
    84
    30
    8
    7
See reviews for
16
120
25
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Willaston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2013

We were lucky to get a great rate on a brand new bungalow that would have otherwise been out of our price range a little. The staff were delightful, location great and the new bungalow lovely. We stayed on the island for two weeks starting in this villa, then moved to another bay but came back to this place as it was such a great deal.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Libbynugget
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2013

Spent 4 nights as part of a diving course. Windows, Bathroom wasn't that clean. For the price they charged we had to explicitly tell them to clean the room. It would have been expected that this was done on a daily basis without need to tell them.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Feng Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greater London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
127 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2013

I stayed for 10 nights in a fan bungalow. These are located in a quieter position than the basic and superior rooms away from the noise from Crystal Divers. Good basic double bed room with bathroom and hot shower. Expect to be joined by a gecko or two but they are harmless and keep the mosquitoes down. Use a mosquito coil at night and beware if you sit on the balcony near to dusk. You will get bitten! The staff are great and respond to any request quickly and efficiently. The rooms are cleaned on request by putting a small sign of your door. This system works well. Don't expect luxury, for this price you won't get that anywhere. The location is perfect for me close to many shops, restaurants, Master Divers and the vital 7/11. I will stay again.

Room Tip: Garden bungalows, fan or A/C are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kwb4455
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ibiza, Spain
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2013 via mobile

Stayed for 2 nts, right on the beach, walking distance from pier, easy access to restaurants and the island. Clean basic air con rooms, tv.
Left a dress in the room which I remembered about a week later, went back and they still had which I was very grateful for and surprised about.
There's a good place for breakfast right on the doorstep of the hotel.

Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Angy9999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2013

We went last fortnight as a group of six friends( 3 couples). We were off for a comfortable holiday and didn’t have any issues about the expenses. And we received more than we actually expected hotel.Booking was done from Maldivestourister.com for their good rates & it was nice that they suggested us Anantara which suited our budget & was a warm stay
We were warmly welcomed at Male airport. And then the speedboat trip to the resort took 30 min.

Upon arrival, we were welcomed by the staff, while playing some typical Maldivian music. Felt nice to have such hospitality in the place we were going to stay.

The check in was very smooth and without any havoc being created. The bellboy was a nice chap and easily handled all our baggage. We stayed in one of the Deluxe over water bungalows. Lovely big room and a great bathroom - huge bath! Terrific to be able to hop off the deck to swim & snorkel. There's lots of coral around the bungalows so the snorkeling is good.

We did a lot of snorkeling and simply love the thriving marine lives here. There is this small island between Veli and Dighu which can be easily accessed by either swimming or kayaking. This resort also provide shuttle ferry service between Veli island and Dighu island. Guests here can do islands hopping and enjoy the facilities on both islands.

Food was expensive clearly being in a resort as such, but we would not recommend taking a full board because you'd be stuck eating at the same restaurants. There were quite a few choices of restaurants here like Baan Huraa and many more which were quite delicious.

The SPA treatments were very good. We felt like dozing off to a nap just as the masseur started her work. They were simply marvelous!!

The resort is amazing....crystal clear water, pure white sand, beautiful colorful tropical fish, amazing food and choices of restaurants, over-water bungalows, first class service, friendly efficient staff, great gym, day spa....there is nothing more that we could have wished for. Would recommend it to all and will return myself soon.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ravinder S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2013

This looks very nice in the pictures, and I'm sure your stay would be nice if you book the Superior Room in the main building. On the other hand, the bungalow we booked was horrible. The room was really dark, and it looked like it hadn't been updated since it was first built. Sure, that's not a big deal when you just want a place to lay your head at night, but the kicker is that it smelt like a urinal, even after airing it out for a few hours and running the water taps for a while. When we advised the front desk, they only offered to mask the stench with room spray--no offer to switch rooms or anything. We had booked for two nights, but left after one with no refund for the unused night.

Sure, the room rate is cheap, but that price is pretty standard on the island, and you should be able to get a clean room at that. Otherwise, make sure you book a room in the main building--not a bungalow!

Room Tip: Don't book a bungalow, even for the low rate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sharon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Koh Tao hotels
1.6 mi away
Aminjirah Resort
Aminjirah Resort
#9 of 49 in Koh Tao
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,169 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sensi Paradise
Sensi Paradise
#6 of 49 in Koh Tao
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,194 reviews
0.3 mi away
Koh Tao Royal Resort
Koh Tao Royal Resort
#25 of 49 in Koh Tao
3.5 of 5 bubbles 249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Ban's Diving Resort
Ban's Diving Resort
#5 of 49 in Koh Tao
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,048 reviews
0.4 mi away
In Touch Resort & Restaurant
0.5 mi away
Charm Churee Villa
Charm Churee Villa
#19 of 49 in Koh Tao
4.0 of 5 bubbles 932 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ananda Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ananda Villa

Property: Ananda Villa
Address: 9/1 Moo 2, Koh Tao Island, Koh Tao 84360, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Koh Tao
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 135 Speciality Lodging in Koh Tao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ananda Villa 2.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Ananda Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing