We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely time”
Review of Ananda Villa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ananda Villa
Ranked #16 of 139 Speciality Lodging in Koh Tao
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Lovely time”
Reviewed 12 July 2013

We stayed in the bungalows here, and had a great time. They were very clean and extremely close to the port / restaurants / shops / the beach. WiFi was good near reception and the guesthouse rooms, we were unable to access it in the bungalows. Right on the path that brings you to what seems to be the main area of Koh Tao.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 123_n_4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    83
    88
    30
    9
    7
See reviews for
17
123
26
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Canada
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2013

Can't say enough about this terrific hotel. Was booked in by my dive company. So glad they picked it. Hotel is clean, quiet and next to the beach. Excellent restaurant across the path. Nice staff. Loved the balcony - very peaceful. Short walk to SeaTran. I will stay here next time I'm in Koh Tao and I recommend it highly to anyone taking a trip there.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Miutravels61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Germany
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
Reviewed 26 June 2013

I stayed 3 times already at Ananda and I highly recommend it.
We always take the same room that is really good rate amazing view, clean and super comfortable.
The staff is really good, sweet and helpful.
The restaurant is also really good.
I will def go back.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GR-FR-Travelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sebastopol, California
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2013

We got booked here through TAT up in Bangkok. Never go to a tourist information place, its a complete scam!! This place turned out to be nice even through we were paying way more then we should have been through TAT. It is a great location, right next to restaurants, shops, and the ferry pier. The restaurant that is part of the hotel, is amazing! soo cheap and the best thai food we had in Koh Tao. The staff is really friendly and helpful. I would stay here again. We got a fan room the first few nights. Not bad, basic, had a nice porch. We upgraded to a aircon room for an extra 500bht. Kinda pricey, but the room was beautiful! One of the nicest rooms we stayed in throughout our month in Thailand. Dark wood, comfy king size bed, so clean, fridge, flat screen, fan, closet, porch. Anyway, this is a nice place, check it out!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sunshinedaydream22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uxbridge
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2013

This is a fantastic place directly on the beach and very close to the pier at Mae Haad-maybe only 50 metres away. The village shops and bars are on your doorstep.

I stopped in the room on the top floor which had direct view of the beach front from the bedroom window- there is also a balcony were you can sit and watch the sunset.

Eveything in the room was to a good standard and everything worked very well. Air con was fine and there is a massive ceiling fan as well.

You will struggle to find a better place than this on Koh Tao. I'd definatley like to stop here again.

There is a very nice restaurant next door (think is owned by the same people- which is very good and very cheap. This was the best Thai food we ate during our stay.

Sairee village which is now probably bigger than Mae Haad village is about 20 minutes walk- however you can get all you need in Mae Haad.

Room Tip: the best room is the most expensive one - but you not going to get a view like that everyday
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Whorse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2013

We stayed in Ananda Villa while doing our PADI with Crystal Dive. It was literally right next door to the dive school so hugely convenient for us and it's also a 2min walk from the ferries coming in from Koh Samui and going out to Chumphon on the mainland. It's about a 15min walk from the main part of town but there were still plenty of restaurants and bars nearby. The room was clean and spacious and incredible value. We ended up extending our stay by an extra 3 days. Definitely a good find on Koh Tao.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lhtrips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2013

Not party central but a lot of great restaurants and bars near by.

Staff friendly helpful and accommodating. I lost my adapter and they lent me one for the duration of my staff free of charge.

If you want your room cleaned you just need to leave a sign on your door.

Good value for money. Pictures highly accurate. Fan rooms arn't too hot like some I've stayed in before. Well designed. Would defiantly stay again.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rose B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Koh Tao hotels
1.6 mi away
Aminjirah Resort
Aminjirah Resort
#10 of 49 in Koh Tao
1,223 reviews
1.1 mi away
Koh Tao Simple Life Resort
1.6 mi away
Montalay Beach Resort
Montalay Beach Resort
#18 of 49 in Koh Tao
660 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Thalassa Hotel
Thalassa Hotel
#7 of 49 in Koh Tao
501 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sensi Paradise
Sensi Paradise
#8 of 49 in Koh Tao
1,239 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ban's Diving Resort
Ban's Diving Resort
#6 of 49 in Koh Tao
2,198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ananda Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ananda Villa

Property: Ananda Villa
Address: 9/1 Moo 2, Koh Tao Island, Koh Tao 84360, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Koh Tao
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 139 Speciality Lodging in Koh Tao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ananda Villa 2.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Ananda Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing