We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Dany
Calgary, Canada

Wonderful place

Review of Ananda Villa
4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 22 Jan 2024
I had the ocean view room and it was wonderful - the view is absolutely incredible. Room was clean with comfortable bed and nice high ceilings. Shower was good. Restaurant on site had a nice vibe and good food. Room was well insulated so you couldn't hear any of the outside noise. Beach in front of the hotel is nice for swimming and tanning - some days there was a lot of garbage in the water but that was everywhere on the island.
Wifi isn't that great - ok to check emails but video calls and downloading files/images was impossible. Had a bit better luck with the wifi at the restaurant.
The busy beach is just a 10 minute walk away and it was nice to be 1 min away from the ferry terminal. Great and convenient place to stay!
Date of stay: January 2024
Trip type: Travelled solo
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
£115
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Algotels
1.6 miles from Ananda Villa
Free Wifi
Pool
Pool & beach
£27
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
1.6 miles from Ananda Villa
Free Wifi
Free parking
Cape Shark
£321
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    £321
1.7 miles from Ananda Villa
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Expedia.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £50
  • Algotels
0.6 miles from Ananda Villa
Pool
Beachfront
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    £100
  • Priceline
1.4 miles from Ananda Villa
Free parking
Pool
View
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £78
  • Expedia.com
    £81
1.4 miles from Ananda Villa
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £108
  • Expedia.com
    £114
1.7 miles from Ananda Villa
Free Wifi
Free parking
The Pool at the Koh Tao Beach Club
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    £56
  • eDreams
0.2 miles from Ananda Villa
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £60
  • Priceline
0.6 miles from Ananda Villa
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £63
  • Priceline
2.3 miles from Ananda Villa
Beachfront
Restaurant
View more hotels in Koh Tao
Reviews (295)
Filter reviews
295 results
Traveller rating
131
108
37
10
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
131
108
37
10
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviews convenient location turtle dive restaurant downstairs sea view room big balcony our honeymoon cons
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 295 reviews
Reviewed 9 April 2023 via mobile

Better than expected! Saw it was a 2-3 star hotel, but a 4 star experience. Ok rooms, but the location on the beach, Breezes restaurant’s location and amaaazing food on site make it worth everything. Beside the dove shop. Big balcony. Good enough beds. Shower was good enough. Was better than I expected :)

Date of stay: April 2023
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank drdaniellemarr
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 27 January 2023 via mobile

We stayed for six days while diving with The Black Turtle Dive Centre. The price is reasonable while we paid a little extra for the sea view room. The staff decorated it for us because it’s our honeymoon.

Pros: The view and sunset. Place to hang our wet swim wear. Restaurant downstairs that opens 6:30-22:00. Convenient location and lots of restaurants, 7-11, pharmacies nearby.

Cons: Reception is not 24 hours. Shampoo and body wash bottles are made of glass so it’s easily breakable.

Room tip: Cafe de Sol serves very good pizzas. It’s worth trying.
Date of stay: January 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank 369hildaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 11 September 2021

Hands down the best service and nicest hotel staff we have had in our two months in Thailand. Staff was very helpful with our reservation and onwards journey from Koh Tao. Rooms were clean with a very nice bed and good balcony with sea view. We enjoyed our stay so much that we came back after a stay at a different hotel.
We used the dive center connected to the hotel, and it was great!

Room tip: We had a room with both airconditioner and fan which was good for sleeping
Date of stay: September 2021
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Z4842CAjuliet
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 27 July 2021

We stayed here while diving with black turtle dive. Ananda villa had a great location, on the beach, paddle boards and right across from the dive shop. The food at Breeze was fresh and everything we tried was delicious! Couldn’t ask for anything more.. We will be back!

Alice and Emily Kos

Date of stay: April 2021
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Emilykos18
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 17 November 2020

We stayed for 4 nights at this friendly, family owned and managed hotel right on the beach in Mae Haad.

Don't let it's proximity to the main pier put you off staying here.

The AC rooms are beachside, clean, modern and great value for money.

The staff are super friendly and very helpful.

The beach is very clean and the beach stretches several hundred metres down to the rocks offering lots of sunbathing and swimming options including a safe swimming area.

Ananda Villa has two great on site restaurants, Breeze and Pranees Kitchen that open from early morning to around 10pm and the area is super quiet in the evenings.

If you're looking for a friendly, relaxing and good value place to stay on Koh Tao you can't go far wrong with Ananda Villa.

Date of stay: November 2020
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank WTC71
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews