We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Minimalist, quiet spot in the hub of Sairee”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Sairee Sairee Guesthouse
Ranked #16 of 74 Koh Tao B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Minimalist, quiet spot in the hub of Sairee”
Reviewed 7 December 2012

Having enquired about the prices of various beach bungalows for 2 days, it was a massive relief to find Sairee Sairee Guesthouse - a spot on the main drag 2 streets back from Sairee beach and with proper guethouse/hotel rooms.

Although the guesthouse/restaurant is on the main road through Sairee, it was really quiet staying here.
Glass sliding doors open to a white-washed bedroom with a double bed and white linen. Washed cement floors provide for a really clean effect. The only criticism is my room had a wet cement smell every time I entered the room. But it was minor and disappeared after a few minutes.

Really nice to have a bathroom of decent size and whereby the shower head is not directly over the toilet (like in most spots i've stayed in throughout SE Asia).
Water pressure is a little dismal but the bathroom size makes up for it.

Air con and a fast rotating fan were a bliss.

My flatscreen TV didn't seem to be wired up to any channels but the guesthouse offers a basket of knock-off DVDs to peruse through should you have a quiet night in.

Staff are lovely, really laid back and fun to chat with.
The owners are French and take pride in the property.

One recommendation to management - invest in a decent coffee machine. Coffee each morning was disappointing.

All in all, I would definitely return as I loved the quietness of the guesthouse and its proximity to the beach and all other happening spots!

Room Tip: Pick a room towards the back of the property and you'll be guaranteed a sound sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank KateMWalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    62
    86
    23
    13
    6
See reviews for
9
98
15
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bonn, Nordrhein-Westfalen, Germany
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2012

A nice little hotel "downtown". Definitely not a bungalow at the beach, but you can walk/ taxi easily from there everywhere. Advantage is: You're quite close to some options for the evenings, such as drinks at the beach or a big choice of restaurants. Really enjoyed the stay, especially because of the really cool design of the rooms.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Jurgen123456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights in Oct 12. It is located very close to the beach. Rooms very clean and it had free wi-fi. Restaurant is lovely to eat in and had a great variety of food, Only thing was no cable with the tv but the hotel supplies DVD's to use. Would love to stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank EmerInDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2012 via mobile

We had 2 rooms here for 3 nights, ground floor rooms. Very modern rooms and spotless. If I went back to koh tao I would stay here again, only bad thing was power of the shower wasn't great but wouldn't put me off. Just 5 min walk to the beach. The food in the restaurant was great and there are loads of restaurants just outside too. Staff were really nice and can take DVD's from reception for your room also.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DLeeson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haifa, Israel
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2012

Pros - We stayed at the guesthouse for one night. The room was big, clean and it had free wi-fi. The service was kind, and we were given a snorkel and a mask free of charge. There are a few good cheap breakfast places nearby so food was not an issue.

Cons - mattress was extremely tough, like sleeping on a floor. There was no blanket in the room.

Bottom line - Very nice guesthouse for its price.

If you come to Koh Tao in the low season, travel by scooter to Hin Wong Bay at the eastern side of the island. Most beautiful snorkeling I've done.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tal Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights in August. It is located on the main road but noise isnt an issue as the rooms are at the rear of the building.
Rooms are decorated in a modern "urban" minimalistic style,very nice,someone mentioned marble floors,but looked more like polished concrrete to me.
A/c,fridge,tv+dvd player in room,plus courtesy water every day.
Rooms were cleaned immaculaetly and clean towels/sheets throughout our stay.
My only complaint is that our shower was no more than a drip, and when I mentioned it to the manager he looked at it,shrugged his shoulders and said he would try and sort it,it was still the same 3 days later!
Sairee beach is not for me though,pretty dirty with empty beer bottles and rubbish everywhere,plus when we were there the water is very shallow all day and you could really on get in after lunch.
My advice would be to hire a moped and discover the other beaches,my favourite being aow luek bay,bit difficult to get too,but the water is crystal clear and the snorkelling is superb,even saw a black tipped reef shark whilst i was there,

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank karlnvicky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
34 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2012

I wouldn't say there was anything at all bad about Sairee Sairee guesthouse. However, I wouldn't say anything particularly bowled me over either.
Location-wise, it's right on the busy main road, although the rooms are round the back and I didn't get kept awake by any noise.

The rooms were clean and pleasant enough and mine had both fan and air conditioning, but my aircon didn't work particularly well. Water pressure in the shower was pretty weak, but that wasn't the end of the world.

My main gripe about this place is that you have to pay cash to stay there each day - even when booking online. This wouldn't necessarily be a problem but all ATMs in Thailand charge 150 baht each time you use them, so when you factor in the amount your bank charges on top I think it was working out something like £9 in charges each time you get out £200. Even though you can live very cheaply on Ko Tao, we were charged over £30 a day for a room at the Sairee Sairee guesthouse. One guy we met here was renting a beachfront bungalow in a much nicer location for about a third of that (he just turned up and found somewhere rather than pre-booked).

Staff were friendly enough and there is a restaurant there (although can't comment on food quality as I didn't eat there - it seemed fairly expensive compared to some of the other places nearby).
It's about a 4-5 minute walk to the beach from there and there are various bars/restaurants along the paved walkway that runs all along the back of the beach (watch out for motorbikes though).
Don't think there's a pool there although the sea at Sairee beach is decent enough for swimming in (or at least it was while I was there).
Overall, Ko Tao and Sairee beach seemed like a pretty nice place to stay and I would like to go back at some point - however if I did I think I would take my chances and try and find a room on arrival for a better price rather than pre-book at a fairly high rate.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank RobbieA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Koh Tao hotels
0.0 mi away
Aminjirah Resort
Aminjirah Resort
#11 of 49 in Koh Tao
1,180 reviews
0.0 mi away
Thalassa Hotel
Thalassa Hotel
#8 of 49 in Koh Tao
466 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sensi Paradise
Sensi Paradise
#7 of 49 in Koh Tao
1,206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Koh Tao Simple Life Resort
0.0 mi away
Montalay Beach Resort
Montalay Beach Resort
#18 of 49 in Koh Tao
630 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sairee Cottage Resort
Sairee Cottage Resort
#5 of 136 in Koh Tao
585 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sairee Sairee Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sairee Sairee Guesthouse

Property: Sairee Sairee Guesthouse
Address: 30/10 Moo1, Box 7, Koh Tao 84360, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Koh Tao
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 74 B&Bs / Inns in Koh Tao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Sairee Sairee Guesthouse 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sairee Sairee Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing