We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You get what you pay for”
Review of Koh Tao Toscana

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Koh Tao Toscana
Ranked #37 of 79 Koh Tao B&B and Inns
Reviewed 6 March 2014

We stayed at Toscana in February and our stay was ok. The staff wasn't that interested in costumer service but when we had questions they where helpful with a smile :)
The girl in the restaurant in particular wasn't too keen to help which was.. disappointing.
We where surprised when arriving at the hotel as we where under the impression that the hotel would be located closer to the beach due to a misleading description on Hotels.com
It takes about 2 min with taxi from the pier to the hotel and the price isn't cheap: 300Baht
The hotel has its own taxi though and it only cost about half the prize, something that we found helpful!:) Another plus is that you can order food up to your room from the hotel restaurant, negatives is the limited menu, lack of costumer service (sometimes) and location.
But you get what you pay for, this is a cheap hotel and at worst you can walk about 10 min each way to get to the beaches around the hotel! :)

Room Tip: Choose a room with a balcony. It's cheaper plus you get more privacy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emma Sofia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (181)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

56 - 62 of 181 reviews

Reviewed 25 February 2014

It seems that most accommodation on Koh Toa is either very expensive,luxury resorts, or cheap rooms that might have air conditioning, but are not mosquito-proofed, so it was a pleasure to find a decent mid-range hotel. The room was cool and spacious and the bathroom was fine, though the water was not consistently hot. The weather was so hot that this wasn't a problem. Any time we wanted the room cleaned we let them know in reception and the staff obliged. We found the staff pleasant and helpful, with the exception of the girl who takes the breakfast orders. Actually it's possible to get a much better breakfast, cheaper, by going to other eating places nearby. I've read what other reviewers have said about the noise from the Castle Party place across the road, and can honestly say we were not disturbed by it. The hotel is well positioned for various beaches, but it takes about 20 minutes to walk to any of them. This is not a problem in the morning or evening, but a bit gruelling at other times of the day - but then we are in our 60s! Overall, it's a decent place that we're happy to reccomend.

Room Tip: The taxi rates at the hotel are far cheaper than anywhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Twotravellingseniors
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2014

Booking made through Agoda 2 days in advance and we received confirmation via E-mail so not expecting there to be any problems. We proceeded with our trip to Koh Tao from Bangkok which was a long trip as we came via boat and bus, then paid for a taxi but when we arrived we were shocked to be told "I'm sorry but the room is not available". We were appalled to hear this as we were never told by the hotel before coming just that they double booked and lied and they were sorry. My husband was not in the best condition recovering from a broken ankle with cast so we were very annoyed and desperate in this situation as we had paid to get there via taxi not to mention ferry and bus. They said they had made arrangements for us to stay elsewhere the first night and them could come there tomorrow and we told her we had no choice but had to argue over the cost of the taxi to get there and then back and said it was not a reasonable expectation we would have to pay the fare to get here and back. She finally agreed to take us there so we didn't have to pay.

The "bungalow" they provided at
The other accomodation was manifestly inadequate for what we paid for with Agoda. The other accomodation was not compatible in any way or no pool, no air con, safety deposit box etc but they have refuse to refund this after agoda tried to negotiate with the hotel and response back to our claim. It's completely unfair and I warn everybody about booming with this place as they are unscrupulous in their dealing with customers and don't even attempt to act reasonably when considering the situation.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeeves4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2014

As on Koh Samui it seems that these days accommodation on the islands is now either very pricey (£1-200pn) or very basic (ie. rooms that are not made to keep out mosquitos!), even the sort of "bungalow" we rented by the beach previously now costs £70+pn. So, to find somewhere mid-range (about £35pn) was a real find! The rooms are spacious and clean. They're basic in as much as there is only one bed-side table - but the chair was adequate as a second. They're some of the cleanest rooms we've found out here. It would have been even better if the hotel was closer to the beach, but then they could have charged a lot more.
It is a bit away from the beaches, but the bonus is that it's peaceful. The taxi at the hotel was the cheapest we found, everywhere else it was the same price, usually about 100TB dearer. Not a lot more for one trip, but it all adds up. Alternatively, it takes about 20 minutes to walk to the nearest beach. Whilst some might have concerns about it's situation, we're happy to recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: There isn't any way of heating water in the room, so we bought an electric kettle from the super...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Twotravellingseniors
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2014

We stayed at Koh Tao Toscana for a three nights in December. Overall we were indifferent about this accommodation – we liked the location, inland but close to a small selection of restaurants within walking distance of 3 or 4 nice beaches.

The staff were friendly and informative and they gave us a choice of rooms on arrival. The breakfast was ok and the accommodation was pleasant, clean and comfortable. The pool is a nice to have but more for a dip than spending a lot of time there.

We booked in the knowledge of the presence of the Castle club and was aware that they do not publish events more than a week or two in advance. We were relieved to see they had a party the night before we arrived, but then dismayed to see they arranged another on our final night. This was more frequent than I was lead to believe.

Anyway we are of an age where we can go clubbing and decided after an hour or two that if you can beat them, join them, - at least for a couple of hours. With proof that we were staying across the road, entry was free. The club is actually ok – obviously full of goons that would be better placed on another island.

The main point is that is there is a club night on, you are getting ZERO sleep (this is not an exaggeration), when the music ends 4am, the vomiting and drunken noises continue to sunrise. For that simple reason I cannot recommend this accommodation. I would add that they could place a door in the main archway to block some of the noise – but it’s clear they can’t be bothered.

We survived, but in reality this is not what you want from a hotel on your holiday… The club is not going anywhere. I would strongly advise the hotel to agree with the club that events can be published months in advance to allow guest to make informed decisions about staying there.
I can understand the angry TA reviews. I can imagine this would be a horrible surprise. My review is not angry, but sorry guys, we paid good money to stay here and the proximity to the club is a joke…. I simply cannot recommend staying here if there is risk of a club night, outside of that it is an average offer.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WorkingChap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2014

Toscana is located halfway between Mae Haad and Chalok Baan Kao, which we thought was a great location as they're both walkable. Toscana is a great price compared to the resorts near the beaches, so since you'd be settling for a comparably inexpensive option, the 20 minute walk in either direction is not a bad deal. There is a great little restaurant next door, P'Muk, some of the best food we've had in Thailand. There is a shop down the hill for beers and snacks (cheaper than the 7 Eleven). The other good things about Toscana were: nice setup, large rooms, comfy beds, quiet (when there is no party at the club across the street), cold AC, hot shower, english TV channels, relaxing pool. The not so great things were: staff is not overly friendly, it's not overly clean, you have to ask for your room to be made and they didn't replace sheets and towels, there were power outages (it IS an island though), there was a water outage (but fixed quickly), wifi is spotty, cell reception is spotty (again, an island), 3% credit card fee and lastly, sometimes there will be a foul smell from the bathroom, but usually only for a few hours, IF the club across the street (The Castle) is having a party, you will hear the bass thumping and will have trouble sleeping (we slept with earplugs and still had a bad night). All in all, it's decent. We didn't rent motorbikes due to the overwhelmingly bad experiences tourists have with them in Koh Tao (constant ripoffs and LOTS of injuries).

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amadeus303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2014

I stayed at Toscana for 5 nights with my sister and another friend. The rooms are big and spacious and very clean. The bed was very comfortable as well. The hotel is a bit away from the main drag of Chalok Bay or Sairee, but that didn't bother me. It was only a 20 min walk away and felt safe. The staff were very friendly, smiling and helpful.

Having hot water, air-condition and free wifi was an added bonus. I missed the dreaded Castle Party across the road during my stay but have been told by my sis who stayed for 2 months that once a week she would not get any sleep due to the noise (beyond Toscana's control).

The pool area was lovely to relax in as well as the balcony for enjoying an evening drink.

Room Tip: Get a room on the first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PP01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Koh Tao hotels
0.3 mi away
Woodlawn Villas
Woodlawn Villas
#12 of 50 in Koh Tao
471 reviews
1.6 mi away
Montalay Beach Resort
Montalay Beach Resort
#17 of 50 in Koh Tao
690 reviews
0.0 mi away
Khun Ying House
Khun Ying House
#30 of 79 in Koh Tao
145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Baan Suan Ta Hotel
Baan Suan Ta Hotel
#22 of 79 in Koh Tao
98 reviews
0.6 mi away
Infinity Guesthouse
Infinity Guesthouse
#8 of 79 in Koh Tao
98 reviews
0.6 mi away
JP Resort
JP Resort
#29 of 50 in Koh Tao
203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Koh Tao Toscana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Koh Tao Toscana

Address: 12/1 Moo 3 Tambol Koh Tao | Chalok Harbour area, Koh Tao 84280, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Koh Tao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 79 B&Bs / Inns in Koh Tao
Price Range: £16 - £42 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Koh Tao Toscana 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Koh Tao Toscana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing