We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cancel.!”
Review of Koh Tao Hillside

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Koh Tao Hillside
Ranked #111 of 148 Speciality Lodging in Koh Tao
Reviewed 22 December 2013

We booked the "suite" for 4 nights and cancelled after seeing the room. We paid for one night (cancellation fee) they refused to pay us back. When entring the lobby they already tried to charge the full amount for 4 nights before even asking form of payment. (Took card details from prebooking). Anyhow, no door for the toilet, lowsy Room maybe 10sqm, no table on the balcony, dirty floors, dirty surfaces all over, the Wood used for the terrace is worst condition, almost in danger of collapsing. Old tv. The employees is very friendly though. All over 1/10.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Frank230783
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (241)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

85 - 91 of 241 reviews

Reviewed 14 December 2013

Having read previous reviews had mixed feeling before we arrived, phone reception from the pier and they sent transport immediately. All the staff have been exceptionally friendly and helpful. Having read the reveiws it was no surprise that the hotel is on a steep slope. We booked a standard room which was a bit on the small side but clean and comfortable, if larger room required book deluxe or sea view.
Stunning views from the restaurant possibly the best on the island. We paid 200 bht for a buffet breakfast which was great value for money. We ate in the restaurant a few of the nights and was not disappointed with thefood or srvice.The hotel is at the top of the island transport provided 3 times a day or it is just 10 minute's by motor cycle to the busier centre. They have an affinity pool with decking and sun beds to die for you can easily just spend your day there chillin out. If you decide to stay here do not be surprised by the steepness of the resort, hope you enjoy it as much as we did.

Room Tip: Standard room small you will get what you pay for.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Plagegarcon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KohTaoHillside, Manager at Koh Tao Hillside, responded to this reviewResponded 18 December 2013

Dear Plagegarcon,

Warm greetings from all of us from Koh Tao Hillside Resort.

We thank you for your recent stay with us and for the kind comments you have shared here at Tripadvisor.
Your comments towards our Team Members and the food gave all of us a great boost of confidents and motivation.
The Standard Rooms undergo currently a renovation step by step to expand the living space and we are hope this will bring more comfort for the guest to visit us.

I look forward to welcome you again during your next visit in Thailand.

Best regards
The Koh Tao Hillside Resort Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2013

I used, as many times in the past, a famous site to book 2 deluxe bungalows for my friends and I in this hotel. We were supposed to pay on arrival, no pre payment.
However, this hotel has decided differently - why follow a contract?- and thus took the full amount of money from my bank account. Obtaining them to reimburse me took me a month, to get in the end a refund less than what they took from me.
And they wouldn't hear anything. Hence I believe the words thiefs, unethical, malevolent and criminals do apply here.
Koh Tao Hillside, No thank you very much. Would prefer to sleep on a beach.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Foudinguette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KohTaoHillside, Manager at Koh Tao Hillside, responded to this reviewResponded 21 November 2013

Dear Foudinguette,

I apoligize for any charges that may have occured wrong in your case.

Please let me clarify to you that we have not taken any money from your bank account. If any charges occured, they were charged from your credit card.
Refunds usually take about 14 bank working days since it is the banks internal procedure. Refunds will not done to the bank account, but refunded to the ones credit card, since the charges occured there.

To clarify, we did a mistake in charge you before you checked in and I sincerely apologize for this mistake, thiefs usually keep what they steal, but we do refunds as soon as we get noticed.

Sincerely
Koh Tao Hillside Resort Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2013

Perfect location at the north end of sairee beach, the place to be for a relaxing holiday. Small village nearby with nice and cool shops n bars. Staff was very friendly and helpful, also in extraordinary situation, thank you very much again Marvin, you made our stay a holiday to remember. I can highly recommend the ressort, grüße aus deutschland, birgit

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Karsten S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KohTaoHillside, Manager at Koh Tao Hillside, responded to this reviewResponded 21 November 2013

Dear Karsten,

Warm greetings from the team of the Koh Tao Hillside Resort.

We thank you very much for your stay with us and are delighted to read that you had such a great time with us.

We all hope you will pay us a visit on your next trip to Thailand.

Best regards
The Koh Tao Hillside Resort Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2013

The most spectacular thing about Hillside is the view. It also makes the whole thing worth it. Hence, the namesake. At first we were worried the steep pathways to get around would be a drag but it wasn't so bad. Our room was comfortable and clean, complete with a small lizard or two and the staff made us feel welcome. A nice breakfast was included. It was only 20 minutes walk to Sairee beach for the restaurants and beach but we scootered around anyway. Hillside made a good homebase away from the hectic parts of the island.

Room Tip: Make sure your room has a good view because that's the whole point of this place.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Karenzo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KohTaoHillside, Manager at Koh Tao Hillside, responded to this reviewResponded 21 November 2013

Dear Karenzo,

Very warm greetings from all of us at the Koh Tao Hillside Resort.

Thank you very much for your stay with us and the kind comments to share with other travellers here on tripadvisor.
As you stated correct, as the Resort name says, we are on a hillside, steep walkways, but also with a view to die for, especially during a private dinner by the Sea, or some market fresh BBQ at our recently opened Sea Shore Restaurant.

My Team members were particullary happy to hear that you were felt welcome.

I look forward to have a chance to welcome you, if you plan to spend your next vacation in Thailand again.

Best regards
Koh Tao Hillside Resort Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2013

We stayed for 6 nights and had a great time, although after reading the other reviews here were nervous on arrival
The good,
Quiet individual bungalow pole houses nestled into the hillside jungle with amazing sea views, the 2 restaurants, reception and the pool share the same spectacular view.
The staff were fairly helpful although we didn't have much to do with them, the one lunch and one dinner we had were both not at all bad, and the long island iced teas were good.
The room was a nice 3 star room with a good super-king bed, nicely furnished good size and comfortable.
The bad,
It is over 1km down a steep hill to Sairee beach….. Easily fixed by hiring a scooter at around 200 bart a day
Don't underestimate the stairs, you only need to read the other comments to know it is built on a steep hill with stairs everywhere…. This is where the amazing views come from.
You only get 1 key per room, they keep the only other key and will let you in if you don't have your key….but they are not available from 11pm until 6am.
The beach is very small and not ideal for swimming, as some have said there is broken glass on the beach, it is not new glass…. most of it has been polished smooth by the sand (I don't know why they don't just pick it up, probably only a couple of hours work to clean their little beach, there is no other access to the beach so if they cleaned it, it should stay clean

Tips,
Pay the extra as we did for a larger "deluxe sea view villa, they all have balconies and impressive sea views, the smaller bungalows look very small and garden view makes no sense in this setting.
Hire a scooter for 200 bart a day or pay about the same for each trip in taxis which are always in front of the resort and the trip to town and beach isn’t an issue.

Room Tip: Take a deluxe sea view Villa for great views a a good sized room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tony B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2013

We stayed at Hill Side for 6 nights and had a ball. We reserved a deluxe villa which was pretty basic but was clean and had everything we needed. The view was sensational and we spent many nights drinking a sundowner while watching paradise evolve.
In regards to other reviews stating there are bugs and lizards everywhere, this is the tropics and Hillside is located among some awesome vegetation. So expect nature to pop in once and a while. We arrived at the hotel with aero-spray but soon figured out that just setting the air conditioner at 21 degrees kept most things out.
The hotel is located on a hillside hence it's name. Yes, there are lots of stairs but we didn't mind the extra exercise to walk off the extra calories we seem to consume while on holiday. What we didn't really like was the fact the hotel is situated about a ten minute walk out of town. It is quite a hilly walk which we did appreciate on our morning runs but walking it in the dead heat of the middle of the day was not much fun. However, it would have been easier if we had caught a taxi ($200B) or hired a scooter. I would not recommend this hotel to older people, families with children or unfit people. Those who want to get a bit of exercise during a holiday would love this hotel.
Check in was friendly but we asked a lot of questions. I would recommend they put some information in the rooms about rules and policies such as when reception closes and what to do with laundry.
We enjoyed the restaurant and it's friendly staff. They have a happy hour from five and do a mean long island iced tea. Spring rolls were good too.
The little beach in front of the hotel was OK, but we came to the hotel for the view rather then the beach, so it did not bother us. It did find glass on it as other reviews claimed but the glass was sea weathered so I guess it may have come from the sea. No sharp edges but still should have been picked up by staff.
Tip: bring binoculars if you have them. There is a dive spot just off the resort and we had fun watching the divers.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tjstorck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Koh Tao hotels
0.3 mi away
Dusit Buncha Resort
Dusit Buncha Resort
#25 of 50 in Koh Tao
373 reviews
0.1 mi away
Aminjirah Resort
Aminjirah Resort
#11 of 50 in Koh Tao
1,284 reviews
0.1 mi away
Thipwimarn Resort
Thipwimarn Resort
#46 of 50 in Koh Tao
236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Thalassa Hotel
Thalassa Hotel
#8 of 50 in Koh Tao
541 reviews
2.4 mi away
Montalay Beach Resort
Montalay Beach Resort
#18 of 50 in Koh Tao
692 reviews
2.6 mi away
Woodlawn Villas
Woodlawn Villas
#10 of 50 in Koh Tao
475 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Koh Tao Hillside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Koh Tao Hillside

Address: 19/1 Moo 1, Koh Tao 84360, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Koh Tao
Hotel Style:
Ranked #111 of 148 Speciality Lodging in Koh Tao
Price Range: £21 - £136 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Koh Tao Hillside 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Koh Tao Hillside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing