We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not the worst on koh tao”

Ocean View Bungalows
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ocean View Bungalows
Ranked #118 of 139 Speciality Lodging in Koh Tao
Berlin, Germany
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“not the worst on koh tao”
Reviewed 2 October 2013

We stayed ther in a basic double bed bungalow with a fan. The hole resort looks like its just getting built. The view out of the room is straight on the construction work but its not to bad because basicly there is so much to find out on the island that you're just for sleeping in you're bungalow. The bungalows really basic, the bathrooms as well but it was all clean.
Its really quiet and located at the beach in the middle between the main beach and the pier. Its just a 10min walk to both. Only bad thing is that there is no street connection to the mainroad for scooters or cars so if you wanna go somewhere you have to use the path along the beach where all the people walking.
It's not the best you can get for this price at koh tao but its still a nice bungalow resort.

Room Tip: ask for a fan room located with the door to the beach so you getting wind about the night and its re...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Panda_Cl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2
    6
    14
    17
    17
See reviews for
1
23
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Moscow, Russia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2013

There you get what you paid for. Cheap place (400-1000 THB per night), basic rooms. You pay in the morning for each new day you want to stay here. Would you want to stay here for another day? That's depends on what exactly you need.

We stayed here for two nights. Our room was on top with a good sea view from a big terrace. For 1000 THB it's a pretty decent room. I mean, if you're travelling, you don't have to spend all day inside. It's a normal place to stay for the night, and that's all.

Yes, they have some problems with cleaning (I think, you have to ask them by yourself when you need some room service), and also there is no strongbox inside, so it's better to take all your goods with you when leaving for a day (but thievery is a rare case on Tao and Samui, as much as I know).

Also, there is no restaurant in resort (well, I didn't notice any), but I don't think I would eat there, especially when you have all the bars, caffeteries and restaurants within 2-3 minutes of walking from here to the beach.

The shower had some hot water, at least in our room. Conditioner was broken, but not the fan, thankfully.

This place really needs some work with. It could be fantastic resort, because, despite the poor room service (actually, they don't have any at all), everything is kinda great. Good location - 2-3 minutes walking from the beach with all it's bars, restaurants and fun; great view at the sea and the beach, especially at evenings.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roman S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nha Trang, Khanh Hoa, Vietnam
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2013

We got this accommodation free with our dive school, DJL, for one week. The cheapest fan rooms should have been 400B and the aircon rooms went up to 1000B.

We asked when we wanted our rooms cleaning and when we wanted new towels - the lady also does laundry at reception.

The rooms here are really basic with cold showers and a desk fan on the wall. The bed was really uncomfortable and after 3 nights we realised it was broken! I woke up with small bites all over the inside of my arms but not sure where they were from as my girlfriend didn't have any! The location here is good, though, as it is right at the end of Sairee Beach and only a short walk into town and very close to the bars and restaurants along the beach.

We were staying in Koh Tao another week but decided to look for new accommodation because this was too expensive for what you got and I would only stay here again if it was free!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mykonos Town, Greece
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2013 via mobile

The rooms are dirty and never cleaned. There is NO room service,NO clean towels,NO hot water.
The bathroom dirty and full of stains. The sheets had yellow marks.
You have only one AC power on all room!
Just a cheap and desparate night to stay.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vasilis S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Koh Tao hotels

Priekule, Lithuania
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2012

It is really good place to stay on Sairee Beach. The bungalows are uphill with the most beatuful view over the ocean. We did not have AC in the room, only fan, but it was good, especially while sleeping at night. It was amazing to sleep with the terrace door opened so we could breath the fresh island air and hear the ocean. And no mosquitos uphill!
The very bad thing - bongalow was dirty. I really hate that. No one was cleaning the floor for ages. It was full of sand everywhere- room, bathroom, terrace. No housekeeping. We had to ask to change the towels.
I'd love to go there again, but I think I want more clean place.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Virginija J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Koh Tao
0.1 mi away
No photo provided
0.1 mi away
No photo provided
AC 2 Resort
#9 of 73 in Surat Thani
70 reviews
0.0 mi away
No photo provided
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
No photo provided
0.5 mi away
No photo provided
Neptune Guesthouse Hostel
#43 of 139 in Koh Tao
83 reviews
0.2 mi away
No photo provided
Koh Tao Regal Resort
#44 of 77 in Koh Tao
234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean View Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean View Bungalows

Property: Ocean View Bungalows
Address: Moo 1 Sairee Beach, Koh Tao, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Koh Tao
Hotel Style:
Ranked #118 of 139 Speciality Lodging in Koh Tao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Ocean View Bungalows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing