We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If Heaven Was A Place On Earth”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Koh Tao Heights Boutique Villas
Ranked #3 of 77 Koh Tao B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“If Heaven Was A Place On Earth”
Reviewed 19 May 2013

We stayed here for ten days in early May as the larger part of our Thailand adventure, having read about Koh Tao Heights on Trip Advisor we eventually made the decision to book all nine nights at Koh Tao Heights. We could not have made a better decision.

The booking process is easy, but beware - there are only two villas and they are booked out months in advance (for good reason) so if you're thinking about going quit window shopping and book this place.

The villa itself is placed on the lower slopes of the mountain at the north end of the main beach boasting spectacular views of Sairee and the ocean, the pool is huge by villa standards and the outdoor area is fabulous - being surrounded by jungle it plays host to some of the local wildlife from time to time and we saw lots of birds, lizards, tree climbing squirrels and we even befriended a cat who used the lawn as a feeding spot for her kittens.

The inside is fabulous, the massive TV and lounge set are a welcome relief after a long day adventuring and are very comfortable as well as being fantastically designed and laid out. The TV has a large stash of movies on special player which is easy to use and access to lots of local and international TV stations. There is also a large kitchen with a sizeable fridge and a bathroom downstairs.

The bedrooms are excellent, the bed was the best we slept in during out entire trip and the upstairs bathroom is palatial. In addition to this the aircon unit based in the main bedroom cooled the entire house very well.

This is quite simply the best villa I have ever stayed in anywhere on earth, but I'd go further and say this is the ultimate Koh Tao holiday destination - here's why:

The two villas are owned by a gentleman named Ronan who lives in the house below the villas - but don't worry, the whole place is extremely private and you do get a great sense of isolation. You will feel like the villa is your home on the island.

The villas are managed by Caz, who is a queen among mere mortal hotel managers - friendly, a wealth of local knowledge, accommodating, approachable, helpful and able to sort anything. The locals all know her as being able to fix anything up and is well liked by everyone we spoke to - the kind of person you want on your side when in need of anything on the island. In addition to this we never felt like we were asking much of her when we needed anything which is nice when used to dealing with people who treat requests as chores. I can't speak highly enough of her and believe me when I tell you that having Caz on call makes the whole experience better.

Some things you need to know:

The villa is a short walk from the main beach, about ten minutes along a stretch of road with little road lighting so buy a torch when you arrive. We never had any issues and walked to and from the beach every night without drama.

This is NOT a hotel, nor a resort or a 'hotel villa'. It's splendid house on a tropical island you can rent for a fee each night, be under no illusions that during your stay every luxury will be afforded to you but is not there on site. However, due to the excellent management by Caz and Ronen you don't ever feel like your isolated from anything you might need, this said if you want to stay in luxury while feeling like you're in your own place and able to do your own thing (unlike most resorts on the island which are akin to tropical versions of Alcatraz) this is the place for you. If you want a swim up bar and someone to bring towels to you go else where and miss out on the fantastic experience on being able to explore the island your way. Be warned - the big resorts are remote and you'll be on their schedule if you want to go exploring or experience any of the local culture.

If you are not a competent motorcycle driver DO NOT RENT A MOPED - the people on Tao drive like they're possessed and the bike shops assume that you will crash. In actual fact it is part of their business model, they hire you the bike for 200B a day as the odds are you will crash it and they will charge you for the replacement parts - which they supply at an extortionate rate hence making the business profitable. On top of this the roads are unforgiving and people do get hurt. The villas do have mopeds available should you be brave enough to hire one, but for the love of god don't - they belong to Ronan and you'll feel bad when you crash it.

Get the breakfast burrito at least once

Manners are not verbal - many of the local staff only know the menus/products in English and don't understand please/thank you/how are you in English - when ordering food to the villa just say what you want and they'll hang up on you - don't be offended it's just how it is. A polite nod and a thank you in Thai is always appreciated.

Tipping is not mandatory but IS appreciated by the locals, they work hard for you in often really unpleasant heat so a tip in the local currency is something I highly recommend.

Don't buy western food, buy local food - it's better. Although there's a restaurant named Hippo which does the best burger on earth.

Drink Chang

Buy street food

Buy Gastrostop

Buy more street food

Take Gastrostop

Ask Caz about doing stuff before you do it - like an island mother she knows best.

Koh Tao is a mecca for diving, lounging on the beach, drinking on the beach, eating, exploring, catching long tail boats to remote bays, riding in the back of 4x4's dodging the jungle foliage, hanging with the locals, and having a GENUINE sensation of being on an island paradise rather than on a groomed resort beach where you're comfortably trapped.

If you're thinking about going to Thailand go to Koh Tao, if you're going to Koh Tao stay at Koh Tao Heights. This is the best place to holiday on Earth if you are an independent traveler, stop thinking, call Caz and book a villa, call the airline and book a one way ticket because like many people on the island - you may never leave.

I proposed to my girlfriend of many years on the edge of the pool at the villa looking out toward the beach - she said yes, although on Koh Tao at Villa Adoro is was always going to be impossible to say no.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheIntrepidKiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kohtaoheights, Manager at Koh Tao Heights Boutique Villas, responded to this review, 20 June 2013
Hi Jared and Emily,

Thank you for such a fantastic and detailed review! It is great to hear you had such an amazing experience on Koh Tao and we are really grateful for all of your advice and tips for future guests.

Proposing to Emily at the side of the pool is the highest compliment we have received - we are honoured that our villa was a special place for you.

This little Island paradise is just a plane and boat trip away - we would love to see you again in the future.

Best of luck with your wedding plans,

Warm regards,
Caz and The Koh Tao Heights Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    109
    16
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
19
69
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Lincolnshire, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights. The view over the bay is lovely, nice to sit and relax in the infinity pool having peace and quiet. The villa inside is lovely and Dani looked after us extremely well. Nice to also have a night in after travelling around Thailand, easy to order take aways via the villa mobile phone. Would recommend staying but to note it is a little walk to the beach.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Duncan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2013

We stayed in Villa Adoro for 5 nights and were very happy with the standard of accommodation provided.

The pool is beautiful and has a gorgeous view (apart from roof of the house right in front). The house itself is absolutely stunning - huge and comfortable lounge and a very comfortable bed. The bathroom was finished beautifully, although I felt the shower was a little small.

The villa is a great base for staying on Koh Tao and it is only a short scooter ride away from Sairee. We rented a scooter from RPM as was recommended to us by Dani and had no problems with that.

We weren't that impressed by the breakfasts. As they are delivered to the villa from a cafe in town, they're not 'fresh' from the kitchen and we didn't feel the standard of food was that great. The best was probably the fruit and muesli, followed by the breakfast burrito.

Overall, I was very pleased with our stay and loved the villa. I wouldn't hesitate in coming back as both Koh Tao and the villa were gorgeous.

When we were booking this accommodation it was hard to understand the slight differences between the villas. If I were to stay again I would request Villa Aristo for a couple of reasons.

1. Villa Adoro sits right next to the driveway for the two villas, which is also shared by a neighbouring house. This means that if you are inside the lounge area, or outside by the pool, you can hear people coming and going and it seems as though they're right outside the entrance gate to the villa.
2. Villa Aristo doesn't have the roof of a house blocking its views over the pool and because it sits slightly higher than Villa Adoro it receives the afternoon sun for longer.

Room Tip: Pick Villa Aristo for more privacy, better views and more afternoon sun!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Callory W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madrid, Spain
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2013

Really great place to spend some days in the beautifull island of Koh Tao. The villa is really nice with private swimming pool, and Dani is absolutely helpfull and kindly. I will stay again in this villa in the future

Room Tip: Both Aristo and Adoro villas seems to be equally beautifull. You can also check for the new pool vil...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank patan63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2013

Stayed as a couple at villa Adora in September 2012. Had booked it following reading the reviews on this site and we weren't disappointed. The villa itself and the outside space were both finished to a high standard. The infinity pool itself was a real treat with views overlooking the bay and wasn't overlooked. Being given the mobile phone was a nice gesture although think we only used it a couple of times during our stay to order breakfast. You are given breakfast vouchers at the start of your stay and just ring on a morning to place your order and it is delivered to your villa about 30mins after- would recommend the breakfast burrito!
The villa was a bit of a walk away from the main beach area, about 30mins from the start of the shops/ beachfront restaurants etc but we used this an excuse for eating more, meant it was quiet on a night and it was quite a pleasant walk and not difficult to navigate. We didn't hire motorbikes after seeing the results of a few accidents but I didn't feel that we missed out as a result of this. Plenty of taxis if required but we managed to get everywhere on foot.
We did the snorkelling trip recommended by Dani and I would have to agree with one of the other reviews that it wasn't a highlight with it being a busy touristy boat and relatively expensive. If I were to do it again I would probably get a taxi instead to one of the better snorkelling bays and spend a day on the beach snorkelling instead rather than being told when to get onto and off the boat to go to the next site.
If I went back to Koh Tao would definitely stay at the villas again and would highly recommend them to others, especially couples looking for a romatic get away.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ronen G, Manager at Koh Tao Heights Boutique Villas, responded to this review, 23 January 2013
I'm really glad you enjoyed your stay in our Villa Adoro. We aim to offer a private getaway where you can relax in the luxury of the Villa.
We have taken your comments on board, we now also offer a private long tail trip around the island as well as the snorkel tour and the private speedboat.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2013

We stayed on Koh Tao for over three weeks in Dec 2012. We stayed in three different villas all very beautiful and all with with fantastic views. We would rate them all 5 star but Koh Toa Heights, villa Adora would would be number one. As stated by others the outside space,the pool, the phone, the breakfast, the overhead fans, the all round decor and the standard of fittings,the daily clean all helped to make it a great and relaxing stay. Dani though was extremely helpful she lent us her iron for the week we were there (the villas now have iron and ironing board) she also arranged for us to hire a motorbike for the whole three and a half weeks we were on the island without us having to hand over our passports!! We are experienced travellers in Thailand we have visited yearly for the last 30 years but this was our first trip to this island and we found Dani's help and advice about the island helped with the rest of our stay. All in all 10 of 10 to Koh Tao Heights. Jamie & Helen

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jhmg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ronen G, Manager at Koh Tao Heights Boutique Villas, responded to this review, 23 January 2013
It was lovely having you stay at Koh Tao Heights, I'm so glad you enjoyed your time with us! Hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, Northern Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2012 via mobile

We stayed here in September for our honeymoon and fell in love with the place. The villas are beautiful, view is top class and pool is fab. You are given a mobile phone on arrival packed with handy numbers and lots of takeaway menus. Breakfast is delivered by takeaway and is yummy.
Only reason i have not given this 5 stars is because of the girl Dani who looks after you.
We asked her to book us a snorkelling trip which is all part of her job. The trip was awful it was a trip for backpackers on a rotten boat not for honeymooners. She should realise that the type of people staying in the villas would not appreciate a tour like that. We got in touch and told her what time we needed to leave at on our last day and she said she would arrange a taxi and meet us at the villa beforehand to check out. The taxi arrived and no sign of Dani. We needed to see her as she had our ferry tickets so we couldnt just up and leave. I phoned her and clearly woke her up from her sleep and it was mid morning. She said she would be straight up and no apologies. The taxi man was getting very irrate and said he would drive the road she uses and we could flag her down along the way. We did this and saw her on the road on her moped and the taxi man tooted his horn and she didnt stop so we had to turn and go back to the villa. My husband ran in to see her and she didnt apologise.
The guy who owns and built these villas is lovely and has done a fab job. Excellent value for money and i would definitely return.

Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Downtoearthcouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ronen G, Manager at Koh Tao Heights Boutique Villas, responded to this review, 23 January 2013
I am glad you enjoyed the Villa, the private swimming pool with the sunset view!
We have taken your comments on board, I would like to note that a private speedboat was also an option and we now also work with a long tail so we can offer a private trip around the island. In regards to the taxi and your check out, I can only apologise.
We have had many good comments and feedback about Dani, again I can only apologise if you felt this way.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Koh Tao hotels
0.3 mi away
Aminjirah Resort
Aminjirah Resort
#10 of 49 in Koh Tao
1,224 reviews
2.9 mi away
Haadtien Beach Resort
Haadtien Beach Resort
#15 of 49 in Koh Tao
1,468 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Rocks Villas
The Rocks Villas
#9 of 49 in Koh Tao
229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Monkey Flower Villas
Monkey Flower Villas
#2 of 49 in Koh Tao
333 reviews
1.4 mi away
Koh Tao Heights Pool Villas
1.3 mi away
Koh Tao Heights Exclusive Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Koh Tao Heights Boutique Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Koh Tao Heights Boutique Villas

Property: Koh Tao Heights Boutique Villas
Address: 20/8 Moo 1, Sairee Village, Koh Tao 84360, Thailand (Formerly Koh Tao Boutique Villas)
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Koh Tao
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 77 B&Bs / Inns in Koh Tao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Koh Tao Heights Boutique Villas 3*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy our two private luxury 120 sq meter fully furnished Pool Villas with their own personal infinity pools, with amazing picturesque views of Sairee Bay. Designed to ensure you have a relaxing, intimate experience. This unique resort consisting of Villa Adoro and Villa Aristo is surrounded by lush tropical jungles, coconut trees over looking the beautiful turquoise waters of Koh Tao. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Koh Tao Heights Boutique Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing