We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique and attentive”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Koh Tao Heights Boutique Villas
Ranked #3 of 77 Koh Tao B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Unique and attentive”
Reviewed 28 June 2013

My partner and I stayed at Villas Aristo and Adoro with some guests of ours while we got married on the island in June 2013. The booking process was easy and I found them to be quite flexible as we had to adjust dates. We did, however have an issue getting the appropriate rate for our final nights stay but this was worked out in person upon arrival.

We were all picked up without any issues and the Manager Caz was very helpful when one of our guests got the wrong ferry time causing her to wait 1 hour at the pier and make a second trip to pick them up. This was no issue for her but I could see other hotels getting upset with this. Caz was polite, professional and a pleasure to deal with.

The villas are well appointed and beds extremely comfortable. There are two bathrooms full kitchen and entertainment facilities.

The property is well maintained and cleaned to a high standard daily. The view is magnificent and we enjoyed sunset drinks daily. The mini bar is fairly priced and we found breakfast to be of a good standard. The burrito was a great hangover cure!

There's menus for different types of cuisine, all delivered to the villa. We did this on multiple occasions, but only found delivery of our food an issue once.

Location wise it's not too bad especially if you rent a scooter. One is available for rent for 250thb /day from the villa. It was mechanically sound and reliable. The property is about 1km north of the main Sairee Beach area and up a hill.

We met the owner Ronen once and he seemed to be a nice guy and offered us his service if we needed anything, which was nice.

On our wedding day we were surprised with balloons, flowers, fruit and a nice card, which was unexpected and appreciated.

As far as value for money goes I think that it may have been a little pricey for what it is but there was a high level of service and I have yet to find a comparable property on Koh Tao and this was my third visit.

Highly recommended and thanks for a great stay.

Room Tip: Both villas are pretty much the same but Villa Aristo has a larger lawn.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Seann_F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kohtaoheights, Manager at Koh Tao Heights Boutique Villas, responded to this review, 5 July 2013
Dear Seann,

Thank you very much for your great review. We are very happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us - it was a pleasure to have you as our guests. We aim to give a high level of service and are pleased we reached our goal. We would be delighted to see you again on your next visit to Koh Tao.

Congratulations again on your wedding and best wishes!

The Koh Tao Heights Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    111
    16
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
21
69
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviewed 23 June 2013

We stayed at Koh Tao Heights at the beginning of June. It was hassle free we were met by Caz who was friendly & helpful from start to finish.
There is no reception so you are given a mobile for any help, taxis, deliverys etc.
The room was very clean and tidy, bed was comfy, the walk to Sairee Beach was fine & took less than 10mins. However I wouldn't recommend it for Older holiday makers or Small children as the hill to get back up and the only way to Koh Tao Heights is just too steep and could be dangerous. That said a taxi is only around 200baht to take you home.
The hill is literally the only negative.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LeaChapp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kohtaoheights, Manager at Koh Tao Heights Boutique Villas, responded to this review, 5 July 2013
Thank you very much for your review. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and are glad you found our service friendly and helpful - that is our aim.

Our Boutique Villas are situated on the lower slope of a hill, but are within walking distance of Sairee beach and village - as you mentioned, we can provide a taxi service for guests and the taxi rate is much lower than other services on the island. We also offer motorbike rental, so make getting around a little bit easier.

We feel the villas are located close enough to Sairee centre for convenience, yet far enough away to feel secluded and away from the hustle and bustle.

Thank you once again for your review - we hope to see you again in the future.

Best Wishes,
The Koh Tao Heights Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2013

We met Caz by the 7-11 near the port and she organised a taxi to come pick us up and bring us to the villa. Scary ride because you sit on the back of a ute and the roads are very bumpy.

Villa was very nice. 2 big bedrooms upstairs each with an airconditioner and one bathroom. Issue with the bathroom was there wasnt a proper window but just an open fly screen. This caused the bathroom to get very hot as we closed the door to prevent the aircon from escaping. Also no aircon downstairs and only a fan but it didn't get too hot if time is given for the airconditioners from upstairs to cool the bottom level. The outside infinity pool is small but still very nice with great views. The villa being a bit further out means there are an abundant amount of mosqitoes, lizards and bugs outside.

Breakfast is given in forms of vouchers and you order it each morning and gets delivered to your door. The breakfast was very very average. The villa provides a mobile phone which you can use to place orders.

The Villa itself is about 5 minutes drive from town and poses a little inconvenience. I do not recommend walking every day as the roads are steep and very dark at night. Getting a taxi everytime you want to go out is a bit troublesome as you need to call the taxi to come pick you up. The villa provides scooter hire which is cheap and convenient but we had an issue when we returned the scooter. After we checked out we received an email from Caz indicating that there was damage on the scooters which was most likely caused by dropping the scooter. The damages added up to 1500Baht. We honestly did not drop the scooters at all or were involved in any accidents. In the end Caz was understanding and via email exchanges the charges were waived. I recommend people who hire scooters to take photos of them and note any damage before you accept them to avoid any future complications.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kennyw507
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, UK
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2013 via mobile

We stayed in in one of the villas for five nights recently on Koh Tao. The villa itself was very nice, and the pool and garden area are beautiful. Comfy bed and good air-con in the bedroom. It is about a 5 minute walk from the start of Sairee Beach, cutting through the ghost town that was Koh Tao Cabana resort. The bars and restaurants of Sairee are easy enough to get to, and we felt comfortable walking back and forth in the evening. However, it is worth bearing in mind that Koh Tao seems to be best for younger folk. Older couples, might not be too impressed with having to hop up into the back of a pick-up truck, which serves as a taxi, or walk along the unlight roads dodging scooters. We found this good fun, but it might not be for everyone.
There were, however, a few disappointments with the villa. There is only the bedroom air-con in the property, so the downstairs doesn't really cool down enough in the evening, even with the bedroom door open and all fans on. It would be useful to add a unit downstairs. The bathroom has no proper window-having mosquito wire instead. This means it gets horribly hot and we didn't want to leave the door open and have the cool air escape straight out of the bathroom. I would strongly suggest that the owners put a closing glass window in, as the room was very unpleasant.
The villa is well equipped and has a long list of films on an entertainment system if you want to spend an evening in. We watched a couple, but both had issues with the film sticking, which made them difficult to watch.
As some others have mentioned-the breakfast is perhaps slightly disappointing. I would see this as a bit of an extra, rather than expecting a great breakfast delivered specially to your door. Self catering villas rarely have breakfast, so it is to their credit that they have organised it, and the food comes from a local place called Zanzi. The options are fairly limited, and most are cooked, which would probably not arrive piping hot. We went for the fruit and toast a few times, but just got our own supplies from local shops for other mornings.
The service from the Koh Tao staff was also a little mixed. There was nobody to meet us at the ferry as they has mixed up the days, and we had to call them. They were also keen to say that assistance in booking various things could be sought. We sent a message asking about a boat trip around the island for snorkelling. There was no response at all. We just organised it ourselves-which was easy enough, but it was a shame not to have a reply when you are given a mobile phone specifically for this sort of purpose. The phone certainly worked as we used to to get in touch other times. It is also useful for organising taxis with a recommended chap called Leck, who was really friendly and reliable.
On the whole, a really nice villa and we were happy to look past the slight inadequacies.

Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Edinburghopinion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kohtaoheights, Manager at Koh Tao Heights Boutique Villas, responded to this review, 20 June 2013
Thank you for your review.

We are glad you enjoyed the villa and have noted your comments about our facilities.

The member of staff who was meant to meet you at the pier was new at the time and got the times mixed up and apologised profusely when she met you twenty minutes late.

The taxi ride can be fun when you sit outside, although guests are welcome to sit inside the pick-up truck if they prefer.

With regards to the air-conditioning, the bedrooms have a unit each, which is more than adequate for the majority of our guests. We designed our villas to be as eco-friendly as possible and we believe that installing another aircon unit would only add strain to Koh Tao's limited resources. Our Boutique villas have 2 aircon units in each bedroom and our infinity pool also uses energy when the jacuzzi is turned on.

We prefer our shower rooms to be airy and well ventilated, and it is important for moisture to escape from the building in a hot climate. Adding a glass window would mean we would need an extractor fan, which again would put extra pressure on the islands resources.

Our breakfast comes from one of the most popular cafes on the island and we are happy to support a local independent business. We are sorry that the options were not to your taste.

We did not receive a message to book any trips, however we were made aware of the request when we made a courtesy call to see if everything was ok. We provided information about our private longtail boat trip around the island, which you considered, but then decided to book separately.

We are pleased you enjoyed the service you received from our taxi driver Lek, and will pass on
your kind words to him.

Thank you once again for your comments- they are duly noted.

Best Regards,
The Koh Tao Heights Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hobart, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
131 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2013 via mobile

We booked the boutique villa for 6 nights two and a half months in advance and paid in full. Two days before our arrival we emailed them to confirm pickup only to be told our booking hadn't been registered in the system and they had no boutique villa available. Subsequently were placed in an apartment for one night then a pool villa for the remainder of the time. We were told by the owner Ronen and manager Caz that they were going "to pull out all the stops" and make our stay "out of this world" due to the mix up.

We can't honestly say this happened, despite being downgraded on the first night we still had to pay for the night of accomodation, and apart from some pieces of cake placed in the fridge and fruit in the fruitbowl of the villa no other measures were taken to make our stay "out of this world". The pool villa itself has a lovely outlook over Sairee bay, with an infinity pool making the most of the view. The design of the villa is also quite nice with a big kitchen and lounge and deck area, although as the villas are grey/black, they can get quite hot during the day, as the air conditioner is only located in the bedroom. Caz also was informative providing information about the area and also arranging scooter hire for the 6 days. Both Ronen and Caz were always friendly.

Downfalls included the access to the pool villa - it is situated about ten minutes from Sairee up an extremely steep drive. For this reason they provide two taxi vouchers a day. This only covers one trip into town unless you brave the hill and hire a scooter. I wouldn't recommend it to anyone that isn't willing to do some physical exercise to get back to the villa and even to the apartments there is the start of the steep driveway and steps. Another downfall is the reception setup. They provide you with a mobile phone to enable you to call the taxi, takeaway and Caz for any information. Although I think this is probably an attempt to make it more of a personal experience I think it probably makes it impersonal due to a delay in replies and/or return phone calls.

We thought the included breakfast is probably marketed incorrectly on the website giving the impression breakfast is personably delivered to your villa. It basically includes a small menu of nearly all egg dishes from a local cafe. You choose your option then call and order and they deliver it via scooter. For this reason by the time it gets to you it's half cold and eggs are not ideal travelling as a takeaway. We only ordered it once then actually brought our own breakfast things for the villa as we didn't enjoy it at all.

We left having mixed feelings about this place and we are not sure we would recommend or book here again.

Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank LabRat23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2013

We stayed here for ten days in early May as the larger part of our Thailand adventure, having read about Koh Tao Heights on Trip Advisor we eventually made the decision to book all nine nights at Koh Tao Heights. We could not have made a better decision.

The booking process is easy, but beware - there are only two villas and they are booked out months in advance (for good reason) so if you're thinking about going quit window shopping and book this place.

The villa itself is placed on the lower slopes of the mountain at the north end of the main beach boasting spectacular views of Sairee and the ocean, the pool is huge by villa standards and the outdoor area is fabulous - being surrounded by jungle it plays host to some of the local wildlife from time to time and we saw lots of birds, lizards, tree climbing squirrels and we even befriended a cat who used the lawn as a feeding spot for her kittens.

The inside is fabulous, the massive TV and lounge set are a welcome relief after a long day adventuring and are very comfortable as well as being fantastically designed and laid out. The TV has a large stash of movies on special player which is easy to use and access to lots of local and international TV stations. There is also a large kitchen with a sizeable fridge and a bathroom downstairs.

The bedrooms are excellent, the bed was the best we slept in during out entire trip and the upstairs bathroom is palatial. In addition to this the aircon unit based in the main bedroom cooled the entire house very well.

This is quite simply the best villa I have ever stayed in anywhere on earth, but I'd go further and say this is the ultimate Koh Tao holiday destination - here's why:

The two villas are owned by a gentleman named Ronan who lives in the house below the villas - but don't worry, the whole place is extremely private and you do get a great sense of isolation. You will feel like the villa is your home on the island.

The villas are managed by Caz, who is a queen among mere mortal hotel managers - friendly, a wealth of local knowledge, accommodating, approachable, helpful and able to sort anything. The locals all know her as being able to fix anything up and is well liked by everyone we spoke to - the kind of person you want on your side when in need of anything on the island. In addition to this we never felt like we were asking much of her when we needed anything which is nice when used to dealing with people who treat requests as chores. I can't speak highly enough of her and believe me when I tell you that having Caz on call makes the whole experience better.

Some things you need to know:

The villa is a short walk from the main beach, about ten minutes along a stretch of road with little road lighting so buy a torch when you arrive. We never had any issues and walked to and from the beach every night without drama.

This is NOT a hotel, nor a resort or a 'hotel villa'. It's splendid house on a tropical island you can rent for a fee each night, be under no illusions that during your stay every luxury will be afforded to you but is not there on site. However, due to the excellent management by Caz and Ronen you don't ever feel like your isolated from anything you might need, this said if you want to stay in luxury while feeling like you're in your own place and able to do your own thing (unlike most resorts on the island which are akin to tropical versions of Alcatraz) this is the place for you. If you want a swim up bar and someone to bring towels to you go else where and miss out on the fantastic experience on being able to explore the island your way. Be warned - the big resorts are remote and you'll be on their schedule if you want to go exploring or experience any of the local culture.

If you are not a competent motorcycle driver DO NOT RENT A MOPED - the people on Tao drive like they're possessed and the bike shops assume that you will crash. In actual fact it is part of their business model, they hire you the bike for 200B a day as the odds are you will crash it and they will charge you for the replacement parts - which they supply at an extortionate rate hence making the business profitable. On top of this the roads are unforgiving and people do get hurt. The villas do have mopeds available should you be brave enough to hire one, but for the love of god don't - they belong to Ronan and you'll feel bad when you crash it.

Get the breakfast burrito at least once

Manners are not verbal - many of the local staff only know the menus/products in English and don't understand please/thank you/how are you in English - when ordering food to the villa just say what you want and they'll hang up on you - don't be offended it's just how it is. A polite nod and a thank you in Thai is always appreciated.

Tipping is not mandatory but IS appreciated by the locals, they work hard for you in often really unpleasant heat so a tip in the local currency is something I highly recommend.

Don't buy western food, buy local food - it's better. Although there's a restaurant named Hippo which does the best burger on earth.

Drink Chang

Buy street food

Buy Gastrostop

Buy more street food

Take Gastrostop

Ask Caz about doing stuff before you do it - like an island mother she knows best.

Koh Tao is a mecca for diving, lounging on the beach, drinking on the beach, eating, exploring, catching long tail boats to remote bays, riding in the back of 4x4's dodging the jungle foliage, hanging with the locals, and having a GENUINE sensation of being on an island paradise rather than on a groomed resort beach where you're comfortably trapped.

If you're thinking about going to Thailand go to Koh Tao, if you're going to Koh Tao stay at Koh Tao Heights. This is the best place to holiday on Earth if you are an independent traveler, stop thinking, call Caz and book a villa, call the airline and book a one way ticket because like many people on the island - you may never leave.

I proposed to my girlfriend of many years on the edge of the pool at the villa looking out toward the beach - she said yes, although on Koh Tao at Villa Adoro is was always going to be impossible to say no.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheIntrepidKiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kohtaoheights, Manager at Koh Tao Heights Boutique Villas, responded to this review, 20 June 2013
Hi Jared and Emily,

Thank you for such a fantastic and detailed review! It is great to hear you had such an amazing experience on Koh Tao and we are really grateful for all of your advice and tips for future guests.

Proposing to Emily at the side of the pool is the highest compliment we have received - we are honoured that our villa was a special place for you.

This little Island paradise is just a plane and boat trip away - we would love to see you again in the future.

Best of luck with your wedding plans,

Warm regards,
Caz and The Koh Tao Heights Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincolnshire, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights. The view over the bay is lovely, nice to sit and relax in the infinity pool having peace and quiet. The villa inside is lovely and Dani looked after us extremely well. Nice to also have a night in after travelling around Thailand, easy to order take aways via the villa mobile phone. Would recommend staying but to note it is a little walk to the beach.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Duncan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Koh Tao hotels
0.3 mi away
Aminjirah Resort
Aminjirah Resort
#9 of 49 in Koh Tao
1,238 reviews
2.9 mi away
Haadtien Beach Resort
Haadtien Beach Resort
#15 of 49 in Koh Tao
1,485 reviews
0.1 mi away
Monkey Flower Villas
Monkey Flower Villas
#2 of 49 in Koh Tao
336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Koh Tao Heights Pool Villas
1.3 mi away
Koh Tao Heights Exclusive Apartments
2.9 mi away
Jamahkiri Resort & Spa
Jamahkiri Resort & Spa
#4 of 49 in Koh Tao
888 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Koh Tao Heights Boutique Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Koh Tao Heights Boutique Villas

Property: Koh Tao Heights Boutique Villas
Address: 20/8 Moo 1, Sairee Village, Koh Tao 84360, Thailand (Formerly Koh Tao Boutique Villas)
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Koh Tao
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 77 B&Bs / Inns in Koh Tao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Koh Tao Heights Boutique Villas 3*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy our two private luxury 120 sq meter fully furnished Pool Villas with their own personal infinity pools, with amazing picturesque views of Sairee Bay. Designed to ensure you have a relaxing, intimate experience. This unique resort consisting of Villa Adoro and Villa Aristo is surrounded by lush tropical jungles, coconut trees over looking the beautiful turquoise waters of Koh Tao. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Koh Tao Heights Boutique Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing