We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Our favorite stay in Thailand”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Baan Talay Koh Tao

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Baan Talay Koh Tao
Ranked #40 of 137 Speciality Lodging in Koh Tao
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
2 reviews
“Our favorite stay in Thailand”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2013

Gorgeous setting, reasonably priced, wonderful staff, genial and involved owner, completely relaxing. That pretty much sums up our 5 days at Baan Talay.

We called Devrim when we arrived from the ferry and in 5 minutes we were on the resort's truck heading to our hut. After a long train ride and ferry crossing, we were so very happy to see our accommodation. We loved that it was far away from the noise and party atmosphere and that the bungalows aren't crammed right on top of each other like many other places on the islands. The outdoor shower connected to our hut was awesome. Taking a completely private shower and being able to look up at the stars was fantastic. It was also great to sit out on our covered deck or lay in the hammock after a long day of scuba training. Both the staff and Devrim were more than accommodating to our needs. We'd absolutely stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dreamlessleep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newheavendiveschool, Owner at Baan Talay Koh Tao, responded to this review, 21 September 2013
Thank you for your lovely review, it's a very nice feeling for us when people enjoy our resort. We believe in our policy of enjoying our days without too much stress or expectations, it's good to hear that our guest enjoy the beautiful natural environment that is offered and appreciate the effort that has gone into keep Baan Talay looking like a tropical garden rather than a hotel.
I hope you enjoy your future dives and hopefully come back to visit us again.
All the best, devrim.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    54
    20
    16
    13
    3
See reviews for
3
65
13
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
brighton
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2013

We turned up at the divers school to a very moody owner, Devrim who had said I had made a mistake when I told him I had a room booked, when I showed him the email stating the confirmation he didn't offer an apology, he just said there is another hotel that may have somewhere to stay - which he took us to (and it wasn't suitable).

A rubbish start to our honeymoon!

He did call round some more hotels for us but we had to ask him to do this as he wasn't that upfront in offering us this.

So I would triple check that he has a room to rent before going there

Room Tip: didn't end up staying.
See more room tips
Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank undeuxtrois
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newheavendiveschool, Owner at Baan Talay Koh Tao, responded to this review, 21 September 2013
I hope you enjoyed your honeymoon..
Devrim.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Pole, Alaska
Level Contributor
89 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2013

Very nice resort - small and personal. Tucked away in a little cove away from the hustle and bustle of the main Koh Tao touristy locations. Owner is a very nice guy who runs a dive school on one of the main beaches. Other resort staff are nice and friendly as well.

The little private huts up here are hidden away in the jungle and really nice, clean, romantic and well appointed. Good value for your money. Not a big party spot that's for sure, but if you're looking for a nice little getaway from the main drag, this is it. Access to the rest of the island is available by shuttle (on the back of the resort's pick-up truck), but I definitely recommend renting a scooter if staying here - but only if you're already comfortable with one, because the little dirt roads into the resort can be pretty steep, rough and tricky to navigate unless you know how to ride it properly... wouldn't recommend when slippery after the rain.

The restaurant is pretty good. View is beautiful, perched high up on the hills overlooking the ocean, but food is only average. We took some great photos from here.

There is access to a rocky beach down bellow, but its quite a steep walk and not really worth it. There are 2 nice thatch umbrellas and chairs down there for you to sit (usually completely alone due to its difficult to reach location, which can be nice), but the water access is very rough and rocky. If you can get into the water without getting all bruised and cut up from the surf slamming you into the huge rocks, then the snorkelling right there is very good.

Its a nice spot.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CaptainFancyPants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2013

This place is amazing ! The views are gorgeous and there is a variety of accommodation to choose from. The staff are all extremely helpful and accommodating and the restaurant served some of the best food we'd tasted all holiday. This resort is beauty within nature and we came away feeling very relaxed, inspired and extremely happy with our choice. There is so much nature around you and the Ocean is only a few minute walk from the accommodation. I would highly recommend this resort and will definitely be staying again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2013

This resort is real luxury within nature. There is a variety of different types of accommodation to choose from. The location is idyllic and you are surrounded by beauty and the nature of Thailand. The sea is just a 5 minute walk from the accommodation and the entire resort, including the beach, is very private and calm. It's a great place to really relax, it's so quiet here ! This resort is a very peaceful place and the staff could not be more helpful. There is a fantastic restaurant and bar 'on site' with amazing views over the Ocean whilst you eat the gorgeous food they serve. There is transport daily to the partner diving school just down the road and the yoga classes on offer etc. I completely agree with all the other positive reviews of this resort. The owner and all the staff were extremely friendly and helpful. I loved this place and will definitely be returning.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Behiye A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2013 via mobile

This hotel could be good for some people, but it was not the right fit for us. My wife and I were excited to stay here and partake in the yoga and some diving. MAKE SURE YOU READ THE WEBSITE CAREFULLY! This resort is very remote and there are few shuttles throughout the day. The dive shop and yoga studio is a good 20 min.+ drive on treacherous road. The most frustrating part was that the shuttle didn't even line up with the one yoga class they had going on a day you have to take the shuttle and then wait a couple of hours for the class to start. Huge disappointment from the moment we arrived.

The Baan Talay was the second stop on Koh Tao during our stay and after seeing the steep path to the water, the boulders that you need to cross to access the water, the lack of yoga, and the effort required to get out of the resort, we decided to return to our previous resort after about 30 min... No problem, no hard feelings, right?

Wrong.

The real kicker was when we dealt with the owner/manager upon leaving. While we were ultimately able to get some of our deposit back, it required a lengthy and at times hostile conversation that didn't make anyone's day better. A great example of our interaction is the response written to RonanBzH from the owner here on TripAdvisor.

If you are seeking isolation and decent accommodations, this could be a good choice for you. More likely, you will see that this place is not as advertised. This could indeed one day be a decent resort, but there are plenty of other wonderful places to stay in Koh Tao. Don't get into a frustrating stay with this place.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Brian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newheavendiveschool, Owner at Baan Talay Koh Tao, responded to this review, 3 August 2013
So I had to respond to this review, I think this is a problem with making your decision from trip advisor. Any one can make a review, like this guy, who stayed at our place for only 30 minutes !!!
To write such a negative review after staying in a place for only 30 minites in my opinion is not on.
Just a few facts here to calarify some points from his review.
Our resort is only 10 minutes away from the dive school/yoga, where this chap gets the 20+ minutes from is just Misinformation .
We have daily yoga classes at our dive school and hold retreats at the resort. You will be able to find this information, if you read the website. There are free transfers to the diving and yoga from the resort.
Like this reviewer states it is good to know what you want before choosing any location for your holidays. Our resort is for nature lovers, we have lt the island's nature intact you can see that if you read some reviews from our guest that actually stayed at the resort.!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2013

Baan Talay is an amazing place to stay if you are after somewhere to completly chillout for a few days, with it's beautiful views in a very peacful part of Koh Tao.
My wife and I stayed here for four nights whilst I did my Open water course at their dive centre (The New Heaven dive school).
I was collected every morning by the complementary resort taxi at 8.30am and dropped back every evening at 6pm.
We ate at the resort every evening and we would genuinely say that it was some off the tastiest and reasonably priced food that we ate during our whole stay in Thailand. The staff are very friendly and always there if you have a problem.
The bungalows are simple yet full of character and have breathtaking views of the Ao Leuk bay and with the day bed on the balcony, it provides a great spot to relax after a hard days diving.
As amazing as the place was we felt that four days was long enough to stay there as we wanted to experience the rest of the island. If you're not diving you can feel a little isolated, as the nearest town was an expensive taxi drive away and if you are thinking of hiring a scooter, be sure of your ability as the roads are very steep and unmade to the resort.
Another thing is that to get to the beach you have to scramble over the rocks but they do provide sunbeds on the rocks at the waters edge.

Room Tip: We stayed in a seaview suite which was worth the little extra money for the views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joe and Chloe D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Koh Tao hotels
1.0 mi away
Montalay Beach Resort
Montalay Beach Resort
#18 of 49 in Koh Tao
4.0 of 5 bubbles 634 reviews
0.9 mi away
Mountain Reef Beach Resort
Mountain Reef Beach Resort
#44 of 137 in Koh Tao
4.0 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
0.5 mi away
Coral View Resort Thailand
Coral View Resort Thailand
#46 of 137 in Koh Tao
3.5 of 5 bubbles 231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Sai Daeng Resort
Sai Daeng Resort
#12 of 74 in Koh Tao
4.0 of 5 bubbles 43 reviews
0.2 mi away
POP Villas Koh Tao
POP Villas Koh Tao
#17 of 137 in Koh Tao
5.0 of 5 bubbles 19 reviews
0.9 mi away
Tanote Villa Hill
Tanote Villa Hill
#22 of 74 in Koh Tao
3.5 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baan Talay Koh Tao? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baan Talay Koh Tao

Property: Baan Talay Koh Tao
Address: Moo 3 | Aow Leuk Bay, Koh Tao 84360, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Koh Tao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 137 Speciality Lodging in Koh Tao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Baan Talay Koh Tao 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Eco resort for nature lovers, nestled in the tropical forest, with access to first class snorkelling amongst beautiful coral reef. Yoga classes and courses available on scenic open-air sala. Authentic Thai food served throughout the day, peaceful, secluded and natural environment. Amazing location in the gulf of Thailand. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Baan Talay Koh Tao reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing