We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent choice for Thai food”

The Gallery Restaurant
Ranked #4 of 181 Restaurants in Koh Tao
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$9 - US$25
Cuisines: Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Description: Gourmet Thai restaurant with a view through The Photo Gallery. Beautiful, chic, cosy and personal. We open at 12pm and remain open all day until 11pm (be aware that we may close early at 10pm if the restaurant is quiet so best to book for late sittings). Authentic Thai food with true Thai flavour using only the freshest ingredients and the finest cuts of meat. We also have a small selection of vegetarian dishes and an extensive wine and designer cocktail list. We offer you a fine dining experience in a creative atmosphere providing the highest standards for a discerning clientele. Please note that we are not a budget backpacker restaurant.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent choice for Thai food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2014

Small restaurant with delicious, fresh Thai food, plenty of fans and relatively less bugs and noise. Very clean and service was great. Even the Thai wine we drank was good, amazingly enough :)
Good options for vegetarians too. Best to book in advance.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank imnotabear .
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
imagemarine, Owner at The Gallery Restaurant, responded to this review, 4 March 2015
Great review, we do our best to control the environment, it's not always easy but I'm glad that you appreciated our efforts. Thanks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,531 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,194
    239
    72
    24
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Bristol
Level Contributor
51 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great tasty Thai food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2014

This restaurant was recommended to us and definitely did not disappoint. We shared some spring rolls, an amazing spicy fish dish, some rice and an omelette. The food was so fresh and really tasty. Good service, nice wine selection. Definitely worth a visit.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Raminoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
imagemarine, Owner at The Gallery Restaurant, responded to this review, 4 March 2015
Thanks for the review, hope to hit 5 stars with you next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014

A great restaurant in Sairee serving Thai food in more of a fine dining environment. It's very small and always busy so best to book in advance to avoid disappointment, try the curry served in the young coconut and the home made ice-cream! It is more expensive than most of the surrounding restaurants but still half the price of what we'd pay in the UK. It's worth taking a look at the actual Gallery next door too as well as checking out the Spa!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank AlanAgnew1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
imagemarine, Owner at The Gallery Restaurant, responded to this review, 4 March 2015
Thanks for the review, spot on again regarding the value that we offer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Level Contributor
84 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Extra”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014 via mobile

Resume:
Great little restaurant with a good vibe, nice owner, waitresses and great dishes for the price.

Details:
We booked a table for two on a Sunday night. Place was far from crowded but there is only a small number of tables so it's best to book in advance just in case I guess.

I took the Chef's specialty green curry chicken and wasn't disappointed. My girlfriend took the Thai clear soup which is a light soup made of meat and vegetables (not spicy). She really liked it too. We also had spring rolls as appetizer and they were really good.

Price is correct for Koh Tao as we paid 500 bahts for our dinner with drinks and tip. I would not qualify this restaurant as gastronomic or gourmet since this often means expensive. However they serve you good food compared to other tourist places on this island.

Extra: owner has a photo gallery next to the restaurant that you can visit whenever you want and he has very nice pictures.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Anth0o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
imagemarine, Owner at The Gallery Restaurant, responded to this review, 4 March 2015
What a wonderful review, thanks and please come again. Great advice to readers too.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best Thai food we have ever had in Thailand!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2014

We have been to Thailand a few times now and love Thai food but this place is extraordinary! It has the flavours and authenticity of the best street food but in a lovely restaurant setting. If you are in Koh Tao this is a must it should be number one! Just make sure you book drop them an email or call in on your first day there as the restaurant is small and intimate which is one of its winning features but on our first try it was fully booked. And now to the food!! Order the morning glory starter -yum!! We also had their signature curry it was a stand out dish and definitely worthy of being a signature - we also had a pork belly dish that was delicious - but the morning glory and signature curry are a must!! Great service too you will be happy with every aspect of your visit!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank NicolaGeorge1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
imagemarine, Owner at The Gallery Restaurant, responded to this review, 4 March 2015
Thanks for the appreciation of our efforts. We aim to be among the best eateries in the country and I am always happy when it resonates. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Gallery Restaurant also viewed

Koh Tao, Surat Thani Province
Koh Tao, Surat Thani Province
 
Koh Tao, Surat Thani Province
Koh Tao, Surat Thani Province
 
Koh Tao, Surat Thani Province
Koh Tao, Surat Thani Province
 

Been to The Gallery Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing