We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb”

The Gallery Restaurant
Ranked #6 of 202 Restaurants in Koh Tao
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$6 - US$36
Cuisines: Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Gourmet Thai restaurant with a view through The Photo Gallery. Beautiful, chic, cosy and personal. We open at 12pm and remain open all day until 11pm (be aware that we may close early at 10pm if the restaurant is quiet so best to book for late sittings). Authentic Thai food with true Thai flavour using only the freshest ingredients and the finest cuts of meat. We also have a small selection of vegetarian dishes and an extensive wine and designer cocktail list. We offer you a fine dining experience in a creative atmosphere providing the highest standards for a discerning clientele. Please note that we are not a budget backpacker restaurant.
Reviewed 9 August 2014

Firstly, you need to reserve at least a day in advance, the reason being it's very small only eight tables and secondly the food is fantastic. This is defiantly a must visit if you ever visit Koh Tao.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank leewalton007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
imagemarine, Owner at The Gallery Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2015

Great review, great advice although there are now 9 tables and The Gallery Wine Bar is now open with plenty of seating giving a great place to have a drink while waiting for a table to become available. Thanks.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,618)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

757 - 761 of 1,619 reviews

Reviewed 8 August 2014

We booked Gallery on the basis of sparkling Tripadvisor reviews and to be honest, while the service, food and atmosphere were all fine, would struggle to put the experience head and shoulders above any other Thai food.

Our starters were lovely and the fish dishes we both chose were certainly spicy and beautifully-presented, but there wasn't the 'wow' factor we'd perhaps expected.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank LondonPhilC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
imagemarine, Owner at The Gallery Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2015

Thanks for the review. Our aim is to create traditional gourmet Thai food. We avoid fusion and try to stick to authentic family recipes. Sorry that it didn't hit the spot with you, the best way to eat Thai food is to share a selection of dishes, let us help you next time to see if we can give you the wow factor that most of our visitors enjoy every day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2014

Not only does this place serve the best Thai food we tried on the island, it also has an interesting art gallery next door as well as massage rooms upstairs that have the best masseuses we found in the area!

Thank Peter M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
imagemarine, Owner at The Gallery Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2015

How about a classy cocktail bar serving designer cocktails and exclusive wine and honey wine produced right here on Koh Tao? Done it, The Gallery Wine Bar is now in full swing, come back and check it out. Thanks for an awesome review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2014

The Gallery certainly offers some nice dishes - the Photographers favorite of fish in a curry sauce is excellent and the presentation of the curry in the young coconut shell is hard to beat. Tablecloths and the small size of the establishment all add to the charm. But if on a budget or for take out, I'd have to say that you can get just-as-excellent Thai food right down the block for less than half the cost. But this other restaurant, although highly rated, will not be as charming.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank travelingandkids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
imagemarine, Owner at The Gallery Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2015

Very interesting points, thanks for taking the time. I agree with most of what you said expect that the two dishes you mention, "ChuChi Pla Krapong" and "Hor Mok Maprao On" cannot be purchased "right down the block" or anywhere else on the island. Neither does anyone else have there own fishing vessel to ensure fresh sustainably caught fish, just small points but worth a mention. However I will reinforce your point, if budget food is what you are after then by all means head on "down the block", the freshness and quality that we go to great lengths to achieve has no value for value comparison. Thanks for sharing.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2014

Me and my partner went here for her last night in Koh Tao, We went as a treat due to the higher price but it was more than worth it. Great setting and very fresh food. I would recommend the curry in the coconut. Also make sure you have a look around the gallery itself, they had some awesome pictures up

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank MrTravelPants86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
imagemarine, Owner at The Gallery Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2015

Booom, just what we are looking for and by far the most common phrase that we hear in The Gallery restaurant "Best meal we had in Thailand", pity that they don't all write on here. I'm very grateful that you have as this is what we want to give you all.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Gallery Restaurant also viewed

Koh Tao, Surat Thani Province
Koh Tao, Surat Thani Province
 
Koh Tao, Surat Thani Province
Koh Tao, Surat Thani Province
 

Been to The Gallery Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing