We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Faultless”

The Gallery Restaurant
Ranked #4 of 181 Restaurants in Koh Tao
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$9 - US$25
Cuisines: Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Kids, Local cuisine, Romantic, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Description: Gourmet Thai restaurant with a view through The Photo Gallery. Beautiful, chic, cosy and personal. We open at 12pm and remain open all day until 11pm (be aware that we may close early at 10pm if the restaurant is quiet so best to book for late sittings). Authentic Thai food with true Thai flavour using only the freshest ingredients and the finest cuts of meat. We also have a small selection of vegetarian dishes and an extensive wine and designer cocktail list. We offer you a fine dining experience in a creative atmosphere providing the highest standards for a discerning clientele. Please note that we are not a budget backpacker restaurant.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Faultless”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2014 via mobile

We turned up without a booking and were managed to seated for dinner. Not only was the food was outstanding and cooked to our tastes (Mine like rocket fuel and my wife's merely shown a chilli) the service was great also. We were not rushed at all even when it came close to the people who'd booked the tables time. Loved it so much we've booked in for our last night on the island.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mc466444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
imagemarine, Owner at The Gallery Restaurant, responded to this review, 6 March 2015
Beautiful, glad we managed to get you in, thanks for coming, coming back and for the great review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,534 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,197
    239
    72
    24
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Very good thai food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2014

The Gallery is definitely one of the top restaurant of Koh Tao.
The thai food is modern and very good. Prices are correct, it's higher than the majority of the restaurants but the food is so much better... (still the price is less than a european restaurant of course).
The cocktails are amazing !
The service is very good as well.
It's better to book as there's only a few tables.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Margot K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
imagemarine, Owner at The Gallery Restaurant, responded to this review, 6 March 2015
Spot on about the prices, and generally great review, thanks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
33 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Thai food with a little twist”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2014

Reading the reviews on the Gallery, why not give it a try. Arrived at the restaurant around 6 in the evening without a reservation, but we were happily shown a table as they had tables reserved from 8pm on wards. Good choice of main courses, recommend the deep fried white snapper along with seafood and chicken served in a coconut (chef special).
Try it, you will not be disappointed.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank davbu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
imagemarine, Owner at The Gallery Restaurant, responded to this review, 6 March 2015
Thanks for the review, sorry that the service let you down, we are always teaching, learning, evolving and trying to improve. Glad you enjoyed it though.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing food and staff.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2014

Franzie from The Place recommended The Gallery to us. We arrived at around 8 and luckily got a table. I would book a table next time, it's very popular. Everywhere on Koh Tao is relaxed and The Gallery is not different. The service was brilliant and all the staff are really friendly. We met Chris the owner who is a photographer and his Gallery is next door, well worth a look inside, some truely stunning pictures. We made our order with a little advice and we were not disapointed, the food was to die for. The Thai white wine was really nice too.

You have to eat here.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank James D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
imagemarine, Owner at The Gallery Restaurant, responded to this review, 6 March 2015
Thanks to Franzi for sending us so many lovely customers from The Place. Glad you guys enjoyed it at The Gallery, thanks for the review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A lovely little place ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014 via mobile

Book early to avoid disappointment. The food was great, all cooked fresh so you can say the level of spice you want. The staff were so friendly and attentive, finding out about you and making recommendations. I even had a massage after and it was the best I have ever had (I've had many many many!).

Helpful?
Thank Heather B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
imagemarine, Owner at The Gallery Restaurant, responded to this review, 6 March 2015
Great review, thanks so much for taking the time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Gallery Restaurant also viewed

Koh Tao, Surat Thani Province
Koh Tao, Surat Thani Province
 
Koh Tao, Surat Thani Province
Koh Tao, Surat Thani Province
 

Been to The Gallery Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing