We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Tapas”
Review of Bizarro Tapas, Bar & Restaurant - CLOSED

Bizarro Tapas, Bar & Restaurant
Price range: US$1 - US$10
Cuisines: Barbecue, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Romantic
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Description: Bizarro is a new and dynamic addition to the Koh Tao food and drinks scene. A comfortable restaurant with great food and service, an amazing atmosphere and superb music. Whether it's tapas, Thai food, barbeque or just some drinks with friends, this is a great place to while away your evenings.
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Amazing Tapas”
Reviewed 18 February 2014

Had a lovely meal here. Ordered a selection of dishes & some fish ff the BBQ. Was all fresh & cooked beautifully. Would highly recommend as change from Thai food. Its very chilled out.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 74lucyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

90 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    61
    19
    2
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good food”
Reviewed 10 February 2014

Great service and good food. Well worth a try, we went twice. The best European food we had in Thailand.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank jjjlr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southern Finland, Finland
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Nice with a break from the thaifood”
Reviewed 28 December 2013

Thaifood is yummy but after a while you want something else. We tried the grilled chicken and the ribs. Nice and juicy, and the smell from the BBQ was wonderful. The chimichurri however, was a disappointment. Service was excellent and prices decent.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank kismet80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“5 star reviews fake ?”
Reviewed 23 December 2013 via mobile

We were very underwhelmed by this restaurant.
Ok, we probably are foodies, but we went there for the positive reviews.
And were bitterly disappointed.
The welcome glass of gazpacho was amazing and brought up the expectations.
The main course was tuna and chicken bbq.
Must have been a different cook.
Tuna smelled very fishy and didnt taste that good
Chicken bizarro was greasy and dry.
Side dishes (fried small potato cubes have been fried way too long)
All in all a very disappointing evening.
Altough ambience is nice, music is great and waiter (owner?) is very nice.
Need a different cook tho.

Go there for the gazpacho only (dont eat bbq) and have an awesome evening.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank splintah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Torquay, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“A little gem amongst local Thai food dinning”
Reviewed 11 November 2013

Tapas & Latin American grill was the last thing we expected to be having on Koh Tao but we loved this place. The Argentine-Italian owner Javier was very welcoming and friendly and has obviously put the time in training his Thai waiter staff who are very attentive which is a refreshing change to the usual 'relak' approach to islander Thai restaurant staff service.

The tapas is very reasonably priced and well pulled together ( would image sourcing some of the ingredients in for Spanish dishes in a somewhat remote SE Asian island would be tricky)! Not sure what recent reviews complaining about the tapas was all about? I too love Spanish food & was in Spain in July this year and this place shapes up quiet well all things considered.

The dining garden is nicely lit but candle light and lamps and the nights we dined there there was some chill acoustic music but Spanish expats. We gobbled up the fresh catch Sushimi , Ceviche, and potatoes bravas. The Thai basil mojitos are killer ; enjoyed several of these. We returned several times during in our stay.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Andrew H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bizarro Tapas, Bar & Restaurant also viewed

Koh Tao, Surat Thani Province
Koh Tao, Surat Thani Province
 
Koh Tao, Surat Thani Province
Koh Tao, Surat Thani Province
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing