We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst thailand experiance ever. Never give them your passport!”
Review of Bow Thong Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Bow Thong Resort
Ranked #114 of 157 Speciality Lodging in Koh Tao
Reviewed 25 July 2013

Worst hotel experiance ever.
Got sick of the food in the restaurant, bugs in the room. They rip us off with the hotel price which was much more as their website tells. But because they had our passports we couldnt do anything about it, they just wont give it back otherwhise..

NEVER ever give them the passport. They said us its just to write down the details and then they kept it..

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tripadvaccount
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (111)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

54 - 60 of 111 reviews

Reviewed 21 July 2013

This hotel has a very good location and it looks very nice, but you pay way too much for how the rooms look and the facilities you get. We had some e-mailcontact with the hotel and she promised us a superior room downstairs but when we arrived there was only a standard room which was not good enough for the amount we had to pay and it was not downstairs. When we went to the reception to talk about this, she went mad from the beginning. She shouted at us that if we didn't like is she would give our money back and we could leave. It was not possible to talk about it in a normal way. She was way too rude to us as guests! We didnt want to go and when she had reacted nice and had made her appologies for the obvious mistake, then we had stayed but with this service we didnt want to stay. The lady said it was our fault and didnt want to say that she made a mistake. Now we're in Blue Wind and this hotel is not as luxorious but it is very nice and a lot cheaper (in balance with what you get)!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarleenGr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2013

Bow thong resort was absolutely beautiful. It was right on the beach at the quieter end of Sairee beach, but still only a couple of minutes walk to the night life. The bungalows were great value for money. We had an ocean view bungalow, it was so relaxing just sitting on the balcony. The rooms were clean and the beds were 2 king singles. The mattresses were a tad on the firm side. The staff were so friendly and helpful and the restaurant served good food. We will definitely go back to bow thong!

Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
Thank Britt S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2013

We stumbled across bow thong after walking out of our shabby hotel. We wanted a relaxing beach holiday and that's exactly what we got. We stayed in a beach front bungalow with fantastic views. The place was clean and comfortable- not luxury but perfect for what we needed. And yes we had a few resident bugs but what do you expect in a beach bungalow on a tropical island!! The food was lovely and inexpensive and free sun loungers in front of our room. The free wifi was also excellent, the best Internet service we had encountered on the island.

Room Tip: If budget allows request a beachfront bungalow- fantastic sunset views from the balconies
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank oliviab33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2013

We stayed at Bow Thong this April. The resort is well located at the far side of Sairee Beach and away from the music which was great. The rooms are what you expect for the price, nothing fancy but did the job. The crazy lady at the front desk was incredibly rude, and for me ruined the resort. One evening while a group of us were having a few sundowners she got into an argument with a some guests and was literally screaming at them from over the counter. Granted I was not sure what the argument was about but I have never seen anyone employed in hospitality speak to a guest in that manner! She only calmed down when one of the guests started filming her with a iPhone and threatened to post the video online! If you're looking for a quiet place to stay on Sairee Beach there is a resort right next door, slightly better standard of accommodation, completely different level of service from the front desk and all for the same price!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gdiamondis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2013

Stayed here whilst visiting some friends and wanted somewhere on the beach that was decent and not too expensive. We stayed in a 700B room which was very basic with a fan. The mattress had lots of broken springs in it but otherwise the bungalow was ok for the money. The resort is at the north end of Sairee beach which is nice and quiet but not too far from plenty of good places to eat and drink.

The service at the reception was very good but I would avoid the cafe attached to the resort unless it is to grab a quick beer as the sun is going down. The service is very slow, even for Thailand where customer service is rarely the number one priority.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MattJWalsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2013

We paid £45.00 a night for a bungalow that we booked before we arrived we knew it was expensive but was expecting a lot more than we received! We stayed in a superior bungalow that was shabby unclean with horrible furnishings. The TV did not work at all and we had resident geckos and spiders living in the room, we hated it at first but the location and area was paradise so it didnt matter to much. We loved Koh Tao though it was beautiful Sairee was so chilled out and a lovely place to explore. The sea was gorgeous for snorkeling and very peaceful at night. The resort is placed at the end of the beach so was quiet at night when we stayed. The staff were very friendly just the high prices and horrible bungalows let it down.

Room Tip: Great location horrible rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KSimeone14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Koh Tao hotels
1.6 mi away
Sensi Paradise
Sensi Paradise
#9 of 50 in Koh Tao
1,313 reviews
0.5 mi away
Aminjirah Resort
Aminjirah Resort
#10 of 50 in Koh Tao
1,323 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Tarna Align Resort
The Tarna Align Resort
#6 of 50 in Koh Tao
330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Palm Leaf Resort
Palm Leaf Resort
#9 of 81 in Koh Tao
335 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sairee Cottage Resort
Sairee Cottage Resort
#8 of 157 in Koh Tao
657 reviews
0.5 mi away
Koh Tao Hillside
Koh Tao Hillside
#115 of 157 in Koh Tao
249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bow Thong Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bow Thong Resort

Address: 15/2 Moo 1, North Sairee Beach, Koh Tao, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Koh Tao
Hotel Style:
Ranked #114 of 157 Speciality Lodging in Koh Tao
Price Range: £34 - £48 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bow Thong Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Bow Thong Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing