We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel style accomodation”
Review of Baan Suan Ta Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Baan Suan Ta Hotel
Ranked #22 of 77 Koh Tao B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Greater London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
142 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Good hotel style accomodation”
Reviewed 15 February 2014

Most of the accommodation until recently on Koh Tao has been in basic bungalows. This new hotel is quite smart by KT standards and is more akin to a city style room. Nice comfortable beds (I shared a twin room with my grown up son!) balcony, fridge, TV and big en suite hot shower/wet room with flushing toilet! We declined Air Con although that was available for a supplement. The fan could have been more efficient or supplemented with another directed at the beds. The ceiling one was not powerful enough. TV channels quite limited with only one English available and no BBC world or CNN so couldn't keep up with world affairs. Rooms cleaned efficiently on demand just by leaving your key at reception. Road and outside areas still being completed but will be fine when everything is done. Good access to all Mae Haad dive schools and only 5 minutes from the pier so don't be conned into a taxi on arrival!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kwb4455
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    31
    36
    15
    7
    7
See reviews for
3
48
12
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2014

Highly disappointed with that hotel..
Yes, it's true that it was high season, yes the festival was not because of them and yes, the internet is "because we are on an island" but... No !

Good points :
Clean
Supposedly quieter than other places
Central location.

Bad points :
Too expensive for what it is (even if it's Ko Tao)
Way too noisy ! (Doors slamming, and I had a festival running all night not far from the hotel, and that made my nights a nightmare !
The wall in the bathroom has holes in it, what allows the Mosquitos to come in the room
The internet (Wifi) is a nightmare. Very slow, rarely working, and certainly not in the rooms !

I'm not gonna come again.

Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank quent1640
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent UK
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2014

We stayed here for six nights (Dec 2013 - Jan 2014) and were not disappointed.

The good points

The room was big, with a large and very comfortable bed ( we like firm mattresses so this was ideal for us). The room had a balcony (not much of a view from this), fan, air con, fridge and a large walk in shower with refreshingly hot water. The staff were very friendly and helpful. They operate a 'by request' cleaning service, so if you want clean sheets and towels etc. you simply drop your keys in the 'cleaning' box at reception.

If you are not on a 'back packers' budget and want a decent, friendly, clean and comfortable room in Mae Haad, walking distance from the ferry, then this would be a good choice.

Slight minus point.

The rooms are not the best sound proofed rooms in the world, and although this did not cause us any real disturbance I could imagine this could have been a problem if we had had noisy neighbours.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank T_Simms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hanoi, Vietnam
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2013

Very new hotel, rooms were big and air con was good. Situated around 15-20 walk to sariee beach which isn't bad. I would definitely stay here again if I was visiting koh tao. Around a 2 minute walk from the lomprayh pier aswell.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank callumt1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 November 2013

We stayed three nights and it was raining every day so we stayed most of the time in the room and it didn't bother us at all! Big, clean and modern room with big comfortable bed, tv, ac, balcony and huge bathroom. Location is <5min walk away from mae haad and still quiet place with nice staff and good restaurant. Would recommend to everyone, definitely value for money!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tanjasai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2013 via mobile

We had stayed at this accommodation after checking out of our scuba package resort for 3 nights. They were very nice as they had knocked off 300 baht as we were staying for a while. We opted for a fan room as past experience deemed that ac wasn't mandatory however we soon realised our room's temperature rivalled that of the sun. There were holes in the bathroom that needed covering with mosquito guards as we had a lizard that was well on its way to evolve into Godzilla. Friendly and helpful staff and their dog that thought a white reclining chair was in heat?! Would recommend but up for the better room as we stayed in one of the 4 rooms at the back.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Odoodle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
46 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2013

I went to this hotel based on the recommendation of my dive school Master Divers. It cost me 900 Baht per night with the option of upgrading to an A/C room of another 500 Baht which I though was a lot more for an upgrade. I went along with just using the fan. The room was very comfortable. Beds were comfy, toilet very clean and a nice balcony to just relax at. The owner was friendly enough. They have a restaurant on site as well so you can order food here in case you are too tired to walk down to the pier area. It is about a 5 minute walk uphill. I would consider staying here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank iarvinds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Koh Tao hotels
0.0 mi away
Nadapa Resort Koh Tao
Nadapa Resort Koh Tao
#15 of 77 in Koh Tao
133 reviews
0.1 mi away
Infinity Guesthouse
Infinity Guesthouse
#10 of 77 in Koh Tao
66 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ananda Villa
Ananda Villa
#13 of 139 in Koh Tao
217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Secret Garden Village
Secret Garden Village
#16 of 77 in Koh Tao
78 reviews
1.2 mi away
Pranee Guesthouse
Pranee Guesthouse
#29 of 139 in Koh Tao
49 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bro & Sis Place
Bro & Sis Place
#18 of 77 in Koh Tao
54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baan Suan Ta Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baan Suan Ta Hotel

Property: Baan Suan Ta Hotel
Address: 10/9 Moo 2, Koh Tao 84360, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Koh Tao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 77 B&Bs / Inns in Koh Tao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Baan Suan Ta Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Baan Suan Ta Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing