We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay”
Review of Baan Suan Ta Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Baan Suan Ta Hotel
Ranked #21 of 77 Koh Tao B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 March 2014

Good location, comfortable, spacious and clean rooms. My luggage arrived a few day after me due to an airline error and the staff were very helpful with this, contacting the airline and picking up the luggage from the dock while I was diving.

Area was occasionally a little noisy due to construction and nightlife, but nothing a pair of earplugs wouldn't solve. Wi-fi occasionally went down but was generally fine and no slower than elsewhere on the island.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rickyfoureyes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (98)
There are newer reviews for Baan Suan Ta Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

44 - 50 of 98 reviews

Reviewed 3 March 2014

Great location. It's just a 3 minutes walk to the pier but on a quiet part. Nice rooms. Friendly staff. If this hotel is full you can go across. That's the owners sister. Also good value. Wifi in the room a bit poor but in the restaurant area perfect.
Good value!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Meredith K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2014

Rooms were clean and nice. Fridge and a/c. Walking distance from restaurants but quiet area. Very kind and helpful receptionist. Bathroom was really big with lovely shower! Later we stayed in the green appartments which were cheaper and less luxerious. Good value.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pascale A A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2014

Most of the accommodation until recently on Koh Tao has been in basic bungalows. This new hotel is quite smart by KT standards and is more akin to a city style room. Nice comfortable beds (I shared a twin room with my grown up son!) balcony, fridge, TV and big en suite hot shower/wet room with flushing toilet! We declined Air Con although that was available for a supplement. The fan could have been more efficient or supplemented with another directed at the beds. The ceiling one was not powerful enough. TV channels quite limited with only one English available and no BBC world or CNN so couldn't keep up with world affairs. Rooms cleaned efficiently on demand just by leaving your key at reception. Road and outside areas still being completed but will be fine when everything is done. Good access to all Mae Haad dive schools and only 5 minutes from the pier so don't be conned into a taxi on arrival!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kwb4455
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2014

Highly disappointed with that hotel..
Yes, it's true that it was high season, yes the festival was not because of them and yes, the internet is "because we are on an island" but... No !

Good points :
Clean
Supposedly quieter than other places
Central location.

Bad points :
Too expensive for what it is (even if it's Ko Tao)
Way too noisy ! (Doors slamming, and I had a festival running all night not far from the hotel, and that made my nights a nightmare !
The wall in the bathroom has holes in it, what allows the Mosquitos to come in the room
The internet (Wifi) is a nightmare. Very slow, rarely working, and certainly not in the rooms !

I'm not gonna come again.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
Thank quent1640
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2014

We stayed here for six nights (Dec 2013 - Jan 2014) and were not disappointed.

The good points

The room was big, with a large and very comfortable bed ( we like firm mattresses so this was ideal for us). The room had a balcony (not much of a view from this), fan, air con, fridge and a large walk in shower with refreshingly hot water. The staff were very friendly and helpful. They operate a 'by request' cleaning service, so if you want clean sheets and towels etc. you simply drop your keys in the 'cleaning' box at reception.

If you are not on a 'back packers' budget and want a decent, friendly, clean and comfortable room in Mae Haad, walking distance from the ferry, then this would be a good choice.

Slight minus point.

The rooms are not the best sound proofed rooms in the world, and although this did not cause us any real disturbance I could imagine this could have been a problem if we had had noisy neighbours.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank T_Simms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2013

Very new hotel, rooms were big and air con was good. Situated around 15-20 walk to sariee beach which isn't bad. I would definitely stay here again if I was visiting koh tao. Around a 2 minute walk from the lomprayh pier aswell.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank callumt1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Koh Tao hotels
0.0 mi away
Nadapa Resort Koh Tao
Nadapa Resort Koh Tao
#14 of 77 in Koh Tao
137 reviews
0.1 mi away
Infinity Guesthouse
Infinity Guesthouse
#9 of 77 in Koh Tao
91 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Miracle Koh Tao
The Miracle Koh Tao
#2 of 77 in Koh Tao
53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Neptune Guesthouse Hostel
Neptune Guesthouse Hostel
#39 of 142 in Koh Tao
87 reviews
1.4 mi away
Secret Garden Village
Secret Garden Village
#19 of 77 in Koh Tao
81 reviews
0.2 mi away
Save Bungalows
Save Bungalows
#111 of 142 in Koh Tao
130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baan Suan Ta Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baan Suan Ta Hotel

Address: 10/9 Moo 2, Koh Tao 84360, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Koh Tao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 77 B&Bs / Inns in Koh Tao
Price Range: £20 - £32 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Baan Suan Ta Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Baan Suan Ta Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing