We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok hotel - feels like it didn't have any staff”
Review of Baan Suan Ta Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Baan Suan Ta Hotel
Ranked #21 of 79 Koh Tao B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 June 2014 via mobile

My friend and I stayed at Baan Suan Ta hotel while visiting Koh Tao and the hotel was ok but very basic. The outside looked like a prison. The room was quite spacious though, very clean and comfortable. We had to pay extra for the air-conditioning as no option to book an air-conditioning room online. The fan was definitely not enough for the Koh Tao heat. Internet worked really well which is always a plus. On the other side, apart from when we checked-in, it felt like there was absolutely no staff there. Nobody we could talk to if we needed information about the Island - only people that work at the restaurant if barely that. The only time we succeeded to talk to someone at the reception is when we wanted to rent a scooter and it's probably because we were paying otherwise... They barely speak English and it's very hard to make yourself understood.
In the end, it is an alright hotel, great value for what it is and a good location.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank Choulita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (101)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

41 - 47 of 101 reviews

Reviewed 30 May 2014

We stayed here while doing a SCUBA course. The room was basic with no ambience, though everything worked. The thing that got to us was that they did not clean the room over the 5 nights we stayed here. That's a problem when you are asked not to flush your toilet paper down the loo and to put in in a rubbish bin. You just can't do that.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Being a cleanliness freak, I can say this is a very clean hotel. I will always wipe the wardrobe with wet tissue before hanging my clothes in and to my surprise, it is spotlessly clean as the wet tissue does not have any dirt stains!! The staffs are helpful and polite. Location is good as you can just walk from the pier without needing a taxi.

However, do not request for the hotel to do laundry as your clothes won't smell refreshing and clean. It has a weird smell and they stained one of my blouses. Didn't pursue the matter though. Toilet has a weird stench too. They claimed to have a poolside bar and I assumed that they have a swimming pool. It is just a bar by a pool table.

Room Tip: Do not ask for high floor, there is no lift.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank b0ttledstars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2014

We were checked into this hotel by Master Divers. We were a bit apprehensive because it is located in the centre of Mae Haad and we thought it might be noisy. It was actually very quiet so our fears were unfounded. It is only a few minutes walk to the beach.

It is a smart new hotel with spacious rooms and bathrooms and friendly staff. The rooms have fan, A/C and large powerful fridges. Our room on the top floor even had a sea view from the balcony.

We would definitely stay here again and recommend it.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2014

Good location, comfortable, spacious and clean rooms. My luggage arrived a few day after me due to an airline error and the staff were very helpful with this, contacting the airline and picking up the luggage from the dock while I was diving.

Area was occasionally a little noisy due to construction and nightlife, but nothing a pair of earplugs wouldn't solve. Wi-fi occasionally went down but was generally fine and no slower than elsewhere on the island.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rickyfoureyes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2014

Great location. It's just a 3 minutes walk to the pier but on a quiet part. Nice rooms. Friendly staff. If this hotel is full you can go across. That's the owners sister. Also good value. Wifi in the room a bit poor but in the restaurant area perfect.
Good value!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Meredith K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2014

Rooms were clean and nice. Fridge and a/c. Walking distance from restaurants but quiet area. Very kind and helpful receptionist. Bathroom was really big with lovely shower! Later we stayed in the green appartments which were cheaper and less luxerious. Good value.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pascale A A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Koh Tao hotels
0.8 mi away
Woodlawn Villas
Woodlawn Villas
#11 of 50 in Koh Tao
479 reviews
0 mi away
Nadapa Resort Koh Tao
Nadapa Resort Koh Tao
#14 of 79 in Koh Tao
140 reviews
0.1 mi away
Infinity Guesthouse
Infinity Guesthouse
#6 of 79 in Koh Tao
107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Miracle Koh Tao
The Miracle Koh Tao
#2 of 79 in Koh Tao
70 reviews
0.1 mi away
Neptune Guesthouse Hostel
Neptune Guesthouse Hostel
#37 of 153 in Koh Tao
92 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Dearly Koh Tao Hostel
The Dearly Koh Tao Hostel
#1 of 153 in Koh Tao
87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baan Suan Ta Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baan Suan Ta Hotel

Address: 10/9 Moo 2, Koh Tao 84360, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Koh Tao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 79 B&Bs / Inns in Koh Tao
Price Range: £22 - £30 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Baan Suan Ta Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, HotelsClick, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Baan Suan Ta Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing