We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Thai food”
Review of Lanta Restaurant

Lanta Restaurant
Ranked #18 of 217 Restaurants in Koh Tao
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Thai
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Great cheap Thai food made with heart :)
It's a great place to eat if you are traveling on a budget or just like authentic Thai food.

1  Thank Jacob M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (286)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

125 - 129 of 286 reviews

Reviewed 23 May 2014

We ate here twice during our stay, and was one of the most enjoyable meals of our month in Thailand. Most meals under 90 thb served with rice, and are generous portions. Lanta is located just before sairee beach, near the trapeeze thing. We really enjoyed the red curry and the ginger chicken!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Nick T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dieters7, Owner at Lanta Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2014

Dear Nick T
Thank you for the review you wrote regarding our restaurant. We trust that you enjoyed your time in Thailand and hope to see you again sometime soon!
Safe travels,
Dieter & Waew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2014

Eaten here twice now and will probably go back tomorrow! Really fresh food, everything is made in front of you behind the counter. We have eaten massamun, panang, fried rice and oyster chicken, all of which have been amazing.

Thank Harry R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dieters7, Owner at Lanta Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2014

Dear Harry R
Thanks very much for the review you wrote for our restaurant. We sincerely hope to see you back in Thailand and especially here on Koh Tao. We look forward to sharing more of our dishes with you. Perhaps when you return (most people who come to Koh Tao DO return at some point!), you could come for a few cooking lessons! That way, you get to take our great food home with you, so to speak!
Kind regards,
Dieter & Waew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014

Great food, was a frequent regular there while on the island. Always brilliant and the perfect amount of spice.

Thank mkadeline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dieters7, Owner at Lanta Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2014

Dear mkadeline
Thank you for you review!
We hope to see you back on Koh Tao one day to sample more of our dishes!
Kind regards,
Dieter & Waew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2014 via mobile

The restaurant is in an odd spot of going on foot. It's about a four minute walk towards the pier from the Sairee 7/11. If you reach the other 7/11, go back. Incidentally, the latter 7/11 is better for virtually everything than the former. It keeps cold water. Lanta is an excellent restaurant that serves a very good range of Thai dishes. The mango sticky rice is the best that we had in a month's stay in Thailand, including the sisters in Sukhumvit soi 39. It's a huge portion for the large but well worth tackling. The menu is well priced, they cater for spicy and non-spicy palettes. 70 baht for a regular 'Thai' portion or 100-120 baht for a larger portion. We love it here as Deita, the owner's husband was such an amazing help to us. The day my girlfriend was bitten by a dog, he looked at the vaccination, her vaccination record and allayed all her worries about the rabies. There is yet to be a case of rabies on the island, although the dogs are extremely aggressive from dusk till dawn. He also helped us with our trip on from Tao, where he recommended places in Malaysia. A great family run business and excellent food close to Sairee.

Thank fboky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dieters7, Owner at Lanta Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2014

Dear fboky
Thank you so much for the great review! We are always happy to hear from our customers. We trust that the Malaysian leg of your vacation went well and that your girlfriend's injuries healed quickly.
We hope to see you back on Koh Tao and sampling more of our dishes at the restaurant!
Kind regards,
Dieter & Waew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Lanta Restaurant also viewed

Koh Tao, Surat Thani Province
Koh Tao, Surat Thani Province
 
Koh Tao, Surat Thani Province
Koh Tao, Surat Thani Province
 
Koh Tao, Surat Thani Province
Koh Tao, Surat Thani Province
 

Been to Lanta Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing